We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Extensive Menu, Delicious Sushi Rolls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Little Tokyo

Little Tokyo
Ranked #255 of 429 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
washington state
Level Contributor
117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Extensive Menu, Delicious Sushi Rolls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I've noticed this little Japanese restaurant in Barkley Village a few times but had not eaten there until this past Thursday night. We had a difficult time deciding what to eat. We decided to pick two rolls and share them - thought it would be a good "test" to see if the food is worth coming back for. We told the waitress which rolls we had chosen and she suggested another roll which we ended up ordering in place of one of our first choices. I wish I could remember the name of the roll the waitress suggested because it was excellent. It had salmon, imitation crab, and some kind of sauce on top. The other roll was the Ruby Roll, which seems to be a favorite of other reviewers too. It, too, was excellent. We also had miso soup which was good but only had one tiny piece of tofu - the broth was nice though. We intend to go back here again to try other dishes. The only reason I did not mark this as 5 stars is the the waitress, who was wonderful as far as being patient and helpful with us "newby's", never offered more water even though my water was almost gone when she stopped at our table - twice.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank morejourneystocome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    5
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

I came here because someone just posted that it's conveyor belt sushi. It's not. It's not AT ALL.

I happened to land on $1 sushi night, which is as basic sushi as you can get. The rolls we DID order were very large and the service was amazing - a truly friendly place to eat.
Best sushi around? I don't think so. I'll stick with my usual place because my bill for this night was twice as much as usual, even with $1 sushi rolls.
I'm not saying don't eat here, I'm just saying it's not belt sushi and it's not cheap.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mardine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tremendous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Great fresh sushi, prepared expertly. The miso soup is tasty, the rice is soft, and the fish isn't so cold that you can't taste it. Very well done.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RunningFaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
228 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Great conveyer belt sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

This place doesn't look like much from the outside, but inside the food and friendly service are a pleasant surprise. The prices are reasonable and the sushi is really good. You can order off the menu but it's more fun to choose from the conveyor belt sushi. There are lots of selections to choose from. I will definitely go back here. I think it is the best sushi in Bellingham by far!

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
537 reviews
331 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Really good, fast, served fresh and hot, would go here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I wasn't expecting so good a dinner, it was served hot, it was bigger portions than I thought it would be, fresher ingredients than expected, tasty as hell, I would eat here again in a heartbeat.Prices actually not that bad considering the dinner I had was pretty awesome.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KweqSmanit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little Tokyo also viewed

 

Been to Little Tokyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing