We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of our vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Keenan's at the Pier

Keenan's at the Pier
Ranked #12 of 425 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best meal of our vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

We had a romantic dinner watching sunset over Bellingham bay. Delicious drinks and fresh fish. Everything was prepared and seasoned perfectly! One of the best places I have eaten in a while and I live in Portland so the bar is set pretty high.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank samanatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    56
    25
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, FL
Level Contributor
172 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Happy Hour with Tasty Food and Excellent Drinks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This restaurant has been transformed from a stodgy affair to a very fun place.

The views are spectacular, excellent service, delectable food.

The lamb sliders are fabulous as are the truffle french fries. Other wonderful pupus
include the BBQ pork carnitas and the hummus.

Kammie the bartender makes Happy Hour at Keenan's the best in Bellingham.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank baycityart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Really improved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

About a year ago now they redid the decor and menu and brought in new staff. It's transformed this place from average to excellent, and really it's now one of the best places to eat in Bellingham.

So many restuarants have a great view and very average food. The view is fantastic, and for once the food quality actually matches the natural beauty of Bellingham Bay and the San Juan islands. And they have several nice touches like loaner sunglasses for a sunny day and shawls to put over your shoulders once the sun goes down (this is Bellingham, after all, so the temperature drops 10-15 degrees as soon as the sun sets).

My wife and I went here for a 'date night', and really enjoyed ourselves. Appetizers and dinner were great. Things dropped off a little with desert: slow in coming and not spectacular. But we still came away very happy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DocWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, US
Level Contributor
446 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and great views from outside patio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We started with the artisan bread basket which came with delicious breads and three delicious butters (my favorite was the sun-dried tomato). I had the fresh-caught blackened Lummi salmon which was absolutely delicious. The honey barbecue chicken takes a little extra time to prepare but my son judged it to be more than worth the wait. We shared a trio of delicious desserts and had cappuccinos, providing a perfect finish as the sun set over Bellingham Bay. Our server was fairly new but was learning quickly and was very polite and helpful. I highly recommend dinner at Keenan's.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
“Good food sloppy service and nasty outside”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My husband and I were there last week. We had lunch outside, very confusing what we can and can not have. The floor was full of debris and the tables unclean.. Service was sloppy with different staff members delivering our food. The whole restaurant looked sloppy. I expected more form the reviews I have read about the Chrysalis

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Keenan's at the Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing