We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“In the process of moving...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heritage Flight Museum - CLOSED

Heritage Flight Museum
Attraction details
Seattle
Level Contributor
103 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“In the process of moving...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

I saw this museum when it first opened some years ago and though they were half shut-down in the process of moving this Fall, it was still a treat. Usually there are many displays and a good number of aircraft to view (given the small size of the place) but this time we had only three aircraft left and half the cases. Even so it was fun and above all, the docents were super friendly, erudite, funny and knowledgeable. We had a great time chatting with them about various things without feeling trapped by courtesy, as sometimes happens at flight museums. A great visit and we will definitely go back to see them when they've completed the move to Skagit County.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank EmmaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old warbirds that still fly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a superb opportunity to see the old warbirds. These planes are still flown by local pilots. The pilots are often present and happy to tell you all about the planes in the Museum.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patandbets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Small collection, but great, personable, and knowledgable guides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Having recently visited both the Museum of Flight in Seattle and the Heritage Flight Collection in Everett, we weren't expecting much from this smaller museum in Bellingham. We were very pleasantly surprised. The front room boasted war memorabilia with personal stories and touches that made it a pleasure to explore. Then we began our actual tour. We were paired with a tour guide who probably spent at least 2 hours with us, giving us detailed information about each plane, letting us take our time to ask questions and take pictures, and even letting us climb up on the wing for some of the planes so we could see inside the cockpit.

As if that wasn't enough, we then got to go behind the scenes to the garage in a separate building to meeting two mechanics who were working on replica planes. They stopped what they were doing and spent about an hour with us, talking about what went into making the planes, showing us pictures from where one of the planes had flipped and the resulting damage, talking about the strengths and weaknesses, etc.

For all that the other museums had more to offer in the way of quantity, Heritage Flight Museum was by far my favorite in terms of quality - I've never gotten so much information and such an up close view of these types of aircrafts. $5 a person is such a steal we felt guilty and left extra money on the way out. Looking forward to going back for a fly day. :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank silvrayn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“History you can touch . . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

the flight museum is a small treasure located next to bellingham's international airport. for anyone interested in history - you will find much to study and fascinate you here. if you are fortunate enough to visit when there is a fly-in with historic planes coming in from other parts of the country, it's something you will never forget.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Eclectictrav_ler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellingham, wa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun on the fly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Our family has been here several times. It's fun when they have the old planes taking off and landing. Look on their website to see special event dates throughout the year. They ask for a donation which is a cheap family outing. There are several rooms including a large room with actual planes and items for the kids to look at and touch. Fun stop at least once or twice per year.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank robin w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Flight Museum also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing