We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Cool spot with great breakfasts. Always busy.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee

Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee
Ranked #2 of 28 Coffee & Tea in Bellingham
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Cool spot with great breakfasts. Always busy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We've eaten here three or four times and always meant to review it. It is our favourite spot for breakfast in Fairhaven, maybe in the whole Bellingham area. The Huevos Laredos are two eggs served over blue corn tortillas, melted cheese & black beans with chipotle ranchero sauce, sour cream & guacamole. It makes a great breakfast. They do potatoes really well here. Their Potatoes O'Brien are well cooked home fries with onion and peppers and are almost a meal in themselves. They usually have an interesting omelet special - we've had smoked cheese, smoked salmon, something interesting with chorizo. All great. You might have to wait a few minutes on the bench for a table but service is fast and once you are at your table you can be fed and out in under 30 minutes. The coffee is good and they make a mean cup of tea.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MyAnnieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    27
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Mexi Mochas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stopped in this afternoon for something cold and cofee-ish. The lovely barista not only whipped up a couple of these slightly spicy iced coffees, she also was able to direct us to a beautiful walk we had never taken before AND to convince my hubby we needed to go to Pepper Sisters (see my other review for that) for dinner! Next time, I will ask her to throw a little more cayenne in the coffee but this was a great find. We've had coffee here a few times after having breakfast next door at the Harris Avenue cafe, but this was our first Mexi Mocha. it wont be our last.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MyAnnieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The food here was so fresh and delicious! Amazing omelet choices and the potatoes are to die for. The prices are very reasonable and the service is great - the restaurant is connected to Tony's Coffee so the coffee drinks are wonderful as well. There is also a beautiful outdoor garden area to dine in. It is popular on weekends so get there early or be ready for a wait.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast 4 Stars - Coffee 3 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Harris Avenue Café and Tony's Coffee are connected. Harris closes early leaving only Tony's. The coffee at Tony's is good; but nothing to write home about. But the one breakfast I had at the Harris Avenue Café was outstanding. Had a ham and cheese omelet plate on which they graciously offered to substitute fresh fruit for the bread. Seating on the outdoor patio is best.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebFromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast and Lovely Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We are frequent travelers to the Northern Washington area and we have been eating breakfast at a few cafes and restaurants between Bellingham and Seattle but this place is by far one of the best breakfast places in the zone. My favorite is Huevos Laredos with the chorizo sausage. It's a flavorful Mexican omelet with sour cream and guacamole on top. I have also tried different omelets and ans their 2 Eggs breakfast with link sausage and they are all good. You can order hot drinks from the Tony coffee shop while waiting to be seated. Serive has been always consistent and good. It's relatively small place for the number of tables and chairs but definitely has a charm. I would eat at this place every weekend if I could.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee also viewed

 
 

Been to Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing