We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Breakfast in Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee

Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee
Ranked #2 of 28 Coffee & Tea in Bellingham
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

The food here was so fresh and delicious! Amazing omelet choices and the potatoes are to die for. The prices are very reasonable and the service is great - the restaurant is connected to Tony's Coffee so the coffee drinks are wonderful as well. There is also a beautiful outdoor garden area to dine in. It is popular on weekends so get there early or be ready for a wait.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    29
    14
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Keller, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Breakfast 4 Stars - Coffee 3 stars”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Harris Avenue Café and Tony's Coffee are connected. Harris closes early leaving only Tony's. The coffee at Tony's is good; but nothing to write home about. But the one breakfast I had at the Harris Avenue Café was outstanding. Had a ham and cheese omelet plate on which they graciously offered to substitute fresh fruit for the bread. Seating on the outdoor patio is best.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DebFromTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast and Lovely Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We are frequent travelers to the Northern Washington area and we have been eating breakfast at a few cafes and restaurants between Bellingham and Seattle but this place is by far one of the best breakfast places in the zone. My favorite is Huevos Laredos with the chorizo sausage. It's a flavorful Mexican omelet with sour cream and guacamole on top. I have also tried different omelets and ans their 2 Eggs breakfast with link sausage and they are all good. You can order hot drinks from the Tony coffee shop while waiting to be seated. Serive has been always consistent and good. It's relatively small place for the number of tables and chairs but definitely has a charm. I would eat at this place every weekend if I could.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stopped in for iced coffee to beat the heat. Have been going to Tony's, albeit infrequently, since I was an undergrad in the mid 90's. Always pleasant service, and decent atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RandyWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
396 reviews
343 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Very disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My husband had tried this place for breakfast a few months ago and he said it was very good.

I certainly disagree based on my experience. I didn't see much on their menu that appealed to me so I ordered a small glass of orange juice and 1 egg with sausage, potatoes and English muffin. The best part of my meal was the English muffin and Orange juice. The sausage had a really funny taste to it and for the potatoes they fry up left over red skin potatoes. The potatoes were not crisp but instead were a mushy cool mess that tasted like the potatoes were left over from a week ago. UGH. The cutlery should be thrown out. It is very thin tin on the fork, the tines were not even and knife and I could not even cut the egg white with my fork. I've used plastic cutlery that was better than what they supply.

Service was okay. It certainly wasn't a warm hospitable place to have breakfast. My husband had oatmeal and a waffle. He asked if he could have one brought before the other and the waitress acted like he was really asking for the moon and the stars. How difficult is it to order one item wait until the first item is served and then place the order for the second item. Apparently it is a real chore for this particular waitress.

I'll definitely not be returning to Harris Avenue Cafe. Prices are on the high side for a diner that does not treat you well and serves poor food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee also viewed

 

Been to Harris Avenue Cafe and Tony's Coffee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing