We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Trip Down Dragon River” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dragon River

Dragon River
Ranked #116 of 429 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Trip Down Dragon River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Based on comments from trip advisor we ventured into Dragon River for a Bellingham Chinese dinner; well worth the trip. we arrived early, were seated by the owner, Sue, who warmed up to us quickly. We ordered 3 dishes and 1 appetizer. Cost to graze was $48. All arrived hot, fresh, well presented and taste was better then promised. The place is a bit threadbare, and we warmed up to the atmosphere realizing its frequented by friendly regulars. As mentioned by another reviewer, the Mu Er is exceptional. Chinese food is my favorite, this place just became my go to in Bellingham.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mawaterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    15
    1
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Just what Bellingham needed, great Chinese food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a gem this place is. I found this place hidden among other shops and what a great find. The food was delicious and the service was superb. We tried two different dishes, both very yummy! This town has really been lacking in good Chinese food. What we ate tasted fresh, not greasy by any means, and the portions were plenty that I was able to bring home leftovers, lucky us!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Annette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Chinese food in Bellingham”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is our go to Chinese restaurant in Bellingham. The food is fresh and delicious, the spicy chicken and stir-fried green beans are amazing! I highly recommend eating here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank libbidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Most authentic?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I gave this place a "Very Good" rating because I think it is the most authentic Chinese restaurant in this town and it is a little Chinese couple that runs it so I give them props. However, I guess I just dont really care for much Chinese food. Its always greasy and slimy. The hot and sour noodles were simply gross. However the wontons and the greenbean appetizer were really good so I guess you just need to order the right things.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
120 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Absolutely Wonderful Food.... Service?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Food is as good as it gets in Bellingham. Chinese has been at best lacking in B'ham until now. Dishes I've seen few other places. A couple of unusual dishes to try out so we will be back. But.... we will try and go at slower time, on a slower day when we have nowhere else to be in a hurry. The front end management is comical to be nice about it. When we were there, it was one waitress doing everything. And she was doing it very well, she was at nearly a run the entire time we were there. There was a brief cameo by a Asian woman, who soon vanished. And the decor is drab too. But I really don't care the food makes it worth while. Fix a few things and they may be one of the top few restaurants in NW WA.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon River also viewed

 

Been to Dragon River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing