We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best Pho on the west coast!”
Review of Pho Ly

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Pho Ly
Ranked #138 of 444 Restaurants in Bellingham
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Probably the best Pho on the west coast!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We've been to countless Pho restaurants up and down the west coast of North America from California to British Columbia, Canada over the last decade or two. Pho Ly in Bellingham ranks right up there at the top of the list, the only time they fell short was early one day about a year ago when we went just after they opened. Their broth that day just wasn't quite up to their normal standards. Besides that one occasion they've been perfect. Try their Lemon grass marinated charbroiled pork skewers, simply THE BEST. Their charbroiled shrimp skewers are also highly recommended. Pho Ly was initially recommended to us by the Vietnamese lady who owns the Asian Grocery shop that was (at the time) located just a few store fronts away, she's moved to a larger location on the other side of Guide Meridian further south but she too still goes there to eat, how's that for a vote of confidence and a BIG thumbs up?


  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Phil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    15
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I had lunch here twice and both were great. The service was quick, though they don't seem to understand English very well, just enough.. The place itself probably need some touch-ups here and there.
I had a very good beef noodle soup. SO GOOD!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EunikeG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, good value, noisy lunch place”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We've been going here consistently for 8yrs. It's our favorite place during the dark, cold, winter Bellingham weather. Family run & each order cooked fresh from scratch. Really large servings with lots of fresh condiments included. It is noisy & the lighting is a little too bright. Service is a little slow & inattentive- to be expected at a 'mom-n-pop shop'. The owner has a good memory & will remember you after only a few visits. One of the few reliable eateries we have. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chelsneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food bad place”
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The food is great and at a very good price but the service is non existent. The place is extremely dirty but the owners are nice. But the food makes you forget all of its shortfalls.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Docvirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“100% satisfacttion rate”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have eaten here 2-5 times a month for the last 5 years. never been disappointed. I actually still get excited when I see my huge bowl of pho coming. this is my go to pho place in Bellingham but everything here is awesome. you know it's the spot because on any given night, the place is 1/2 full of Asian people.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank justwestofclevlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pho Ly? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing