We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has So Much Potential” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Spark Museum of Electrical Invention

Spark Museum of Electrical Invention
Ranked #8 of 70 things to do in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Spark Museum of Electrical Invention offers an exciting and educational experience for audiences of all ages. Compelling, interactive exhibits spanning four centuries of scientific achievement and cultural heritage are featured in a world-class collection of unique objects including the giant "MegaZapper" Tesla Coil which produces nine-foot lightning bolts! The Spark Museum displays the inventions and innovations that changed the course of human history.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Has So Much Potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is really a great place, with lots to see and some things to do. However, as a museum you have no idea what things are or what they're for. There are labels that name the items but generally that's it. The organization is a bit suspect; is it by time, form of technology of where it fit space-wise. Having whined about the content, it is still worth visiting if you're in Bellingham.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Norman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    30
    11
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun for kids and adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Went for the first time in May and was surprised. There are activities for kids upstairs and throughout the museum lots of hands on displays. The first display a little long and a little boring until the lightening starts. Then the kids perked up.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Susang48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OMG...This place ROX!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I loved this museum...in 20+ years of going to B'ham I had never gone...Man was I missing out. They have so much stuff tracking the history of electronics...Marconi radios, early tubes and even those crazy Victorola phonographs that actually play..a Sarnoff speaker, and don't miss the show where they zap stuff....fun for all ages!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sidthebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“See the MegaZapper show!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I are local and we finally decided to go check out this museum. There is a little room with some hands-on experiment type stuff in it, that was pretty fun. Otherwise, some of the other things get a slightly boring. We did flag down an employee to show us how the old phonographs worked. I highly recommend seeing the MegaZapper show, it's very entertaining and educational. My husband paid extra to go inside the cage o be zapped. Very exciting!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank libbidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
503 reviews
102 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“Good family activity”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

One does not have to be super interested in science to enjoy and learn from this interesting little museum. All three generations of my family enjoyed our visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Trup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spark Museum of Electrical Invention also viewed

 

Been to Spark Museum of Electrical Invention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing