We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A step back in time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spark Museum of Electrical Invention

Spark Museum of Electrical Invention
Ranked #7 of 74 things to do in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Spark Museum of Electrical Invention offers an exciting and educational experience for audiences of all ages. Compelling, interactive exhibits spanning four centuries of scientific achievement and cultural heritage are featured in a world-class collection of unique objects including the giant "MegaZapper" Tesla Coil which produces nine-foot lightning bolts! The Spark Museum displays the inventions and innovations that changed the course of human history.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

A friend and I visited here on a weekend trip and it was great! Jim walked us through the whole museum showing us fascinating machines and giving us information about history that are best told rather than read. There was lots to see and hands on sections that were a lot of fun. Great value and a must see for Bellingham. Also, they air old time radio on 102.3 KMRE radio right from the museum.
We will come back and watch the spark show only played on Saturdays and Sunday.
Ps we are not old.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shabbits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    34
    12
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Mad scientist mecca!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Alright, I have to admit, you dont actually have to be a mad scientist to enjoy this place. This fully interactive hands-on museum will delight everyone of all ages. We spent a good four hours and could have spent more. My advice is to take advantage of everything the musuem has to offer, make a day of it and don't rush. Make sure you sign up for the workshop, and megazapper show' you wont be dissapointed. Places like this are very rare, so savour your experience, ask the staff questions and they will amaze you with their knowledge and delight you with cool demonstrations. If you go, dont be shy! I would suggest going a few hours before the show, so that you have a chance to explore before it gets busy.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“You don't have to be a genius to enjoy this great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My family and I went to visit this little museum in Bellingham and had a great time. Make sure you take time to see the electrical show with the Tesla coil. Very cool and the volunteers there are great!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Shawna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, WA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It's fun and there are many interesting and beautiful pieces of electricity's history. We wish we could have gotten into the Faraday cage, but that only happens on weekends--so we'll have to come back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Celeste1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Bigger than it looks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I'm in the electrical industry, so I'm biased, but I thought this was a great attraction. The collections of old radios and TVs brought back memories of my childhood - I guess I'm getting old. Much of the museum is static displays, so it may not appeal to kids, but the volunteer docents were great at showing off the exhibits. Like any museum, there were "please don't touch" signs, but I was impressed at the number of "touching OK" displays.
I was quite taken by the gramophones and how they filled the room with sound.
Overall, a pleasant way to spend a rainy afternoon

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank EdP_from_VictoriaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spark Museum of Electrical Invention also viewed

 

Been to Spark Museum of Electrical Invention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing