We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st timers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Viewmont Manor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Viewmont Manor
Ranked #1 of 15 Bellingham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“1st timers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I had never stayed at a B&B, but Viewmont Manor sure convinced us to go back to one next time we travel. Our room, with private bath, was just perfect. The scones and coffee before breakfast were amazing. Even though my husband managed to spill his coffee everywhere, Betty didn't miss a beat. Breakfast was fabulous and more than filling both mornings. I love my mom and all, but she has never quite made me a breakfast that seemed so lavish. We will definitely be back and recommend it to all our friends

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RHWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Now that you are seasoned Bed and Breakfast travelers, I expect to hear about all the new places you find. And tell your Mom not to worry, sometimes I goof. In fact, my son has been known to say that I only became a good cook by making a lot of mistakes! I look forward to your next trip to Bellingham!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
89
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
juneau
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We found Viewpoint Manor on the Internet while looking for a three-day-base from which to explore Bellingham. The only problem was, for those days, we did not want to leave the incredibly comfortable accommodations, with spectacular view nor end our delightful and interesting conversations with our gracious hostess Betty! Our stay could not have been more perfect and we are looking forward to returning soon. Just a warning: Betty's killer scones are wonderful and they are only the practice for breakfast!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
I do not know why it took me so long to read your kind review! I think back on our conversations and I remember thinking how gracious it was of you two to include me in such meaningful discussions. You are two special, interesting, engaging people. Do come back, Please.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Townsend, WA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Our son and daughter-in-law gave us a gift certificate for Viewmont Manor for the weekend of our anniversary. We love to stay in B&Bs, but this one far exceeded our expectations for so many reasons. Our room was beautiful, comfortable and quiet. The bed and its bedding were luxurious, an important piece of the comfort, but our room also offered a wonderful chair and ottoman near the window for my early morning reading before my husband awakened- and the coffee and fresh scones were right outside the door! That wasn't breakfast, however, for Betty is a marvelous cook and created two lovely and delicious breakfasts at our chosen time each morning. My favorite part, in addition to sharing great conversation and ideas with Betty, was the reading nook where we enjoyed our wine and conversation each evening after our day's activities and before heading out for dinner. This special place offers whatever you desire - privacy, comfortable TV watching, reading (great book selection), games and breakfast, all in your own upstairs space. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topsie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
My dear, your review makes ME want to stay there! Oh, what a delight to meet such good instant friends. I hope we will continue this friendship "into infinity and beyond!"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My adult daughter and I planned a quick, short-notice getaway and found the Viewmont manor on line, noting it's great reviews.

We were placed in the South Garden Terrace Room. Lovely room with a luxuriously high bed and comfy chair and ottoman to relax on. Having access to the library nook and the "common area" with tv (which we didn't watch) and Wifi available, as well as a few games available meant there were lots of things available for us to do (other than enjoying each other's company and the views). We also enjoyed a delicious meal at Le Chat Noir on Betty's recommendation and found Betty's homemade scones truly addictive.

Betty was very kind, welcoming and accomodating - providing the extra pillows we requested in advance. I would definitely recommend a stay at the Viewmont.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieGri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Oh my! What a quick response you wrote! Thank you so much. I hope you get more and more time away with your daughter. It is great to know that you enjoyed your visit. Come back any time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My wife and I wanted a Valentine getaway and this was it. The hostess was prepared with where to take my wife for a Valentine day dinner. Very romantic evening! In fact the two days were very romantic and relaxing. The breakfasts were a perfect touch.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Valentine's Day has a charm all its own, and we were very happy that you chose to spend it at Viewmont Manor. The very best part of running a bed and breakfast is meeting people like you. Thank you for your visit! We'll keep the candles in the window lit in case you want to come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Betty is the most wonderful hostess and has a warm, beautiful home! My boyfriend, Tim and I stayed at the Viewmont Manor the night before a big trail run in Bellingham. The room was perfect and the bed was so comfortable - just what we needed the night before a big race. And, Betty went above and beyond to research a perfect breakfast for us to enjoy pre-run, and out did herself with the breakfast spread. Tim and I felt GREAT on our run, and we attribute feeling so refreshed and nourished to Betty. THANK YOU!
- Amber & Tim

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
I am so relieved to read that you survived your run and felt fine. You two are amazing specimens of humanity! You were so gracious to accept what I prepared for you, not being all that familiar with a "pre-run" menu. Let's do it again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Although I love to read reviews, I always wondered what prompted people to write them...now I know! We had such a wonderful experience, it would be a shame not to share it. We found Viewmont Manor by reading reviews, so it only seems right to "pay it forward."

One would assume that people who stay at B & B's like people. And if you like people, you will love Betty! She has definitely found her calling as a B &B Innkeeper. She will give you as much privacy and quiet time as you want, but we enjoyed visiting with her so much that every time she came up to drop off one of her "treats" we comandeered her. As a longtime Bellingham resident, she also had great suggestions for things to do around the area.

Likely, most people who stay at B & B's also love breakfast. Actually, I don't usually, but you would never know that from the way I savored every morsel of the tasty breakfasts Betty prepared. My husband, who is always a breakfast lover, concurs. I do love scones, and I had read the other reviews about Betty's before visiting so my expectations were high--but not high enough--these aren't the donut-shaped-like-a-scone scones you get at chain coffee shops. These were moist and flaky chock-full-of-goodness pure deliciousness...even the one I smuggled out in my backpack and ate the following day!

Betty and her home truly embody hospitality. The atmosphere is relaxing and spotlessly clean. The beds are comfortable, the view beckons, and the food is plentiful and delicious. What more could you want in a B & B.

And as a Washington-native-Southern-California-resident, it felt great to spend a few days in the big small-town of Bellingham, breath the crisp and clean ocean air, surrounded by trees and by people who smile and say hello as they pass.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DnKinUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betty C, Owner at Viewmont Manor, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
I'm having the paperwork drawn up as soon as possible to finalize such an adoption! You two are a welcome addition to any family. You are each wonderful persons on your own, but together you are splendid! We will keep looking down the driveway hoping to see you return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
1.8 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#14 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
4.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viewmont Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viewmont Manor

Property: Viewmont Manor
Address: 1031 38th St, Bellingham, WA 98229-3129
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Viewmont Manor was built in 2000 as our family home. Our children have grown and each have their own home now, so we are inviting you to come and enjoy the house with us. We have a distant view of Bellingham Bay to the west. Our bedrooms face the east, which makes them very peaceful and quiet. Each bedroom looks out over our garden from its own private balcony. Each room has an electric fire place in the winter and a remote control standing fan in the summer. Scones and coffee/tea are available every morning right outside your bedroom door. A full breakfast is later served in our dining room downstairs. We have a cozy library stocked with books for your enjoyment. The view from the library is one of the best. If you are interested in our rooms but they appear to be booked, please give us a call and we will try our best to accommodate your needs. Please note on the map below that there is no entry to 38th St from the south. We live at the dead end of the street from the north. What looks like Knox St on the map is actually a creek. So, you'll have to drive up Ridgemont and turn right onto 38th St. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing