We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodations, quick service, comfortable beds, & Breakfast too!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairhaven Village Inn
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We went to Bellingham to visit our son who is a senior at Western Washington University.

The Fairhaven Inn is a small hotel. We got the Suite, which is on the third floor. The view was of the park, but if you want to see the bay you have the opportunities from other rooms with small balconies. No, we did not hear the trains (they are near) go by.

We chose the suite because we travel with our daughter who is developmentally disabled. There was no sound between the rooms, and the usual "hotel" noises were totally absent. We got a roll-away bed for our daughter which was comfortable (as was the couch) and there was a great deal of space which suits our needs perfectly.

The staff is amazing and because of that, we are going to stay 2 more times, including graduation weekend.

The included breakfast was fresh Belgian waffles, cereal, English muffins, hard boiled eggs, juice, milk, toast, etc. Enough to get you going.

Bellingham is a food and brew paradise (many local brands) and the prices are extremely reasonable. We ate at La Fiamma, brick oven pizza, etc, Coconut Kenney's, best pulled pork bbq sandwich we ever had anywhere, The Copper Hog, a great pub frequented late in the evening by both families and students (this is NOT one of those fake Irish places). Most of the reataurants, in Bellingham, are family owned businesses; as is the Fairhaven Village Inn. Oh, and in case the point wasn't made: you can eat your way across Bellingham for a month and never find all the delicious little gems.

There are lots of parks and walking areas next to the bay and the University is 5 minutes by car and it's well under an hour from the border. The town is friendly and has amazingly beautiful scenery. You are also less than an hour from Mt. Baker and skiing.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kwood211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (510)
There are newer reviews for Fairhaven Village Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

453 - 459 of 510 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2011

I stayed in this comfortable, well situated inn for a 3 day stay in February. The staff was friendly and made me feel right at home. They had a variety of delicious breakfast foods including freshly made waffles, locally made organic breads, yogurt, eggs, cereal, etc. The staff was very helpful in recommending great coffee shops, restaurants and local shops nearby.
The inn is located right in Fairhaven, making walking to local businesses, eateries and nature walks along the water very accessible.

I particularly enjoyed lounging in the lobby on comfortable chairs next to the fire, enjoying the complimentary tea, coffee, cookies and fruit service throughout the day. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel made meetings and working in the room easy.
The rooms were wonderful: soft, cozy sheets, great pillows, and an excellent bathroom. The only change I would recommend is a better shower head, but the pressure was good and there was more than enough hot water.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex_jamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. What a great location - close to the water and all the shops in downtown Fairhaven. Within steps of the boardwalk out on the water. Great staff. Clean and nice a quiet. We plan to return in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

We have stayed at the Inn three times now and each time have been very satisfied. The staff are very pleasant. The library with fireplace is welcoming - a pleasant venue to meet other guests. The breakfast is more than generous. The rooms could be furnished with a little more imagination - my only negative. There is a branch of Daphne's wine bar next door for snacks and a good selection of wines. . The location is ideal with many small shops and restaurants within a block or two. It is only about an hour's drive to Vancouver, convenient If you want to go there for the day but not pay Canadian rates for a hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baggagecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

I love the warmth of this attractive, small hotel in a perfect location. The rooms are spacious and attractive, clean and well cared for. The library is a gem. People were thoughtful and kind. I would stay here often and recommend it to my friends, if only they replaced the low beds and soft, saggy, lumpy mattresses. It's unusual for a relatively new hotel to have uncomfortable beds. It feels like someone tried to save money and cut the wrong corner. What's a hotel without good beds? The rating is not entirely inaccurate -- if you forget about the beds (and sleep!) this hotel is excellent. If you include the beds, it's poor. I will be back the minute I hear they've bought top-quality mattresses! I can't recommend it to my friends because they all have bad backs.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visitingprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperFVI, Owner at Fairhaven Village Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2011

The Fairhaven Village Inn is dedicated to guests like you who want to return to us!

This month we installed quality custom mattresses and high quality linen in all 22 rooms.
It was also an opportunity to increase the number of rooms with king beds..all for more and better rest for our guests.

See our transition day pictures on Facebook. To help those in need of clean serviceable bedding, we partnered with local organizations to distribute the out-going mattresses.

We hope, as you mentioned in your review, that you will indeed recommend us to your friends and return to us to enjoy a great night sleep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2010

The Village Inn has a great location and my room had a lovely view of Bellingham Bay. Although the hotel does not have a dining room, it offers a great continental breakfast and there are a host of good restaurants close by. My bed was comfortable and my Internet was fast and secure. My only real quibbles were with the quality of the TV and with the showerhead.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YukonStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2010

My wife and I had a wonderful six-night stay at the Fairhaven Village Inn in early November 2010. The inn is located in the historic part of Fairhaven, close to several restaurants and other stores, including a bookshop, a bike store and a running store. The location also affords immediate access to the extensive trail system of the Bellingham area, and is close to the Alaska Ferry terminal. The staff are polite, friendly and very helpful. Our room had a view of Bellingham Bay and was quiet and comfortable. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ultrarunr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 27 in Bellingham
462 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#16 of 27 in Bellingham
390 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
525 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#7 of 27 in Bellingham
958 reviews
4.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Address: 1200 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-7092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range: $197 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhaven Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing