We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice but not my kind of place.....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Village Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairhaven Village Inn
Ranked #6 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Az
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice but not my kind of place.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

Fairhaven Village Inn is a beautiful hotel, but not my kind of place. It is way too quiet and a little too quaint for me. The rooms are ok, but the bed is not very comfortable as it is way too soft. The location is superb as it is right in town and you can walk anywhere if that is what you are looking for. If you are looking for old European quaint than this place is for you.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMR12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    112
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
99
211
31
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

I stayed here with my parents, who lived in Bellingham in the 1970s and were returning for a trip down memory lane (apparently in the 70s, Fairhaven was not the boutique tourist area it is now). They loved the Fairhaven Village Inn, with its nicely stocked library, evening tea and cookies, and scrupulous cleanliness. We thought we would need two rooms, but management immediately informed us that the couch in the room turned into a bed for me, which was surprisingly comfortable. Maid service was impeccable, and when we asked for restaurant recommendations, the desk clerk gave us a pile of laminated menus from nearby restaurants to choose from (Skylark's Cafe and the Harris Cafe are both great). The view from our room was of the town, as opposed to the harbor, but the harbor views look over loading docks and ferry terminals, so I almost think the town side view was preferable. The only drawbacks were an old tv, and no minibar or coffee maker, but on a family trip neither of those really mattered, and the easy, free wi fi made up for the lack of other gadgets. Fairhaven itself is a cute little town and we enjoyed the excellent bakeries and bookstores that are literally across the street from the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annakatrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
140 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

What a find. A lovely village inn at the southern end of Bellingham. What puts this hotel ahead of others is the friendly staff, and they’re helpful too. They readily provided a small fridge when I wanted to keep things cool during my stay; they replaced the TV when a channel wasn’t working. They’ve given attention to details: easy access to electrical outlets and wired internet port on the desk (wireless available also); devices to hold room doors open while you bring things in; notices in little wooden frames; nice furniture and pictures on the walls. They have a strong no-smoking policy, which I appreciate, and good water-conservation measures (low-flow toilets, etc.). They could do more to promote recycling by guests. The breakfast offerings are better than average, including freshly made waffles, fresh berries, decaf coffee as well as regular, etc.
Fairhaven has plenty of interesting shops and eateries, a weekly farmers market in the summer, outdoor entertainment, special events – a great place to visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCNtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

My wife and I recently stayed at this beautiful Inn for our 15th wedding anniversary; it was an outstanding environment to celebrate Our Special Day. The Fairhaven Inn is quite enjoyable extremely clean, spacious room, decorated with fantastic antiques. We enjoyed the walks to town everyone was so friendly. The staff is excellent! very accommodating especially, Kerstin and Tamara. We were treated with a gift for our celebration when we arrived in our room. Complements of the staff and owners. Wow!
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Inn, we highly recommend you consider spending your special days at Fairhaven Village Inn. We also had an amazing dinner at Giuseppe's Italian Restaurant, Thank you ALL for helping make this truly a memorable time for us.
Warmly
James & Lori Piscioneri

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PISHPAC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We only stayed one night, wish we could have stayed longer. The rooms are beautifully decorated. The hotel is located right in town, making it easy to walk to all the great resturants and stores nearby. Our room had a great view of the nearby harbor. It was very quiet and I slept great in the Kingsize bed. They offer a great Continental breakfast and the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tokieminx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Great place, can't wait to go back. The rooms were lovely, and the staff were very friendly and accommodating. It was very clean and comfortable. Betsy

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TofinoSwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crookston, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed 3 nights at the Fairhaven Village Inn and it couldn't have been more perfect. Connie and Gene the owners were so gracious. We happened to arrive on the day of the market (Wednesday) right across the street from the Inn. They had lots of Bellingham made products and fresh veggies and homemade crafts.
The Inn is located in a perfect spot. There is a boardwalk around part of Puget Sound and a coffee shop at the end of the walk. There are many quaint shops and delicious restaurants right near by like a yummy crepe and soup place and right next door to the inn is a cool pub, small enough to meet with your favorite person and talk! Also ask Gene, the owner about his special park that is a must to visit and walk around.
The Village Inn offers many special things for their guests. The breakfast of waffles, hard boiled eggs, crusty bread for toast, fresh berries right from Washington, healthy cereals, and tea, Washington coffee and juices!! Our room was special. We had a suite and the bed, with feather down everything felt like my husband and I were sleeping on cloud 9. We had a fireplace and chess set in the livingroom, with a jacuzzi and great shower in the bath area. Even the magazines on the end table were unique.
All the people working there were so helpful and we were treated to just made chocolate chip cookies each day of our stay There wasn't one thing I would change about our stay at the Village Inn. The whole neighborhood of Fairhaven is fun to roam around. It's small enough to walk and each shop has something unique to offer. Really, I would go to Bellingham just for the stay at the Village Inn, relaxing, eating good food and walking the boardwalk.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillmario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
4.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
4.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Property: Fairhaven Village Inn
Address: 1200 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-7092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhaven Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing