We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I choked at the price but loved the place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairhaven Village Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairhaven Village Inn
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
94 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“I choked at the price but loved the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for a family memorial event. Made reservations late and only the pricey rooms were left, but we wanted to be with family also staying there. I would do it all again the same way! Suite 302 was fantastic and just the right spot for such a trip! It is gorgeous and extremely comfortable. Great firm king bed and linens with TV in the bedroom, deep soaker tub in a seperate room, plus separate tub and shower in the traditional bathroom, a fireplace with recliner chairs, coffee in room (no fridge though), a luxurious seating for a gathering of 10 or more, A long dining table/ conference table. Terrific view of the historic town and a small view of the bay, perfect parking and very quiet...except for Saturday nights when a rock band plays in the park and after that, it turns into a movie theatre after dark. Well the rock band was really loud in the room until about 10:30pm. Just plan to go out Saturday night and you'll be fine.The movie was not too disruptive. Another night I was awakened by a train whistle but it runs right through the port area behind the inn and is probably louder still on the other side. Otherwise the room was very quiet.The library and breakfast rooms were nice and we used them as gathering spots. Breakfast was simple, but fresh made waffles and boiled eggs made it adequate. Parked the car in the Inns secluded parking area and never moved it until we checked out. Everything is within walking distance (grocery, churches, spas, dining, cafe, book store, gelato, night spots and fitness trails) and the trails in the area are beautiful for exercise or sightseeing! It was luxurious and serene. The other rooms I saw were nice, but small after being in 302. This would be a good room for a family stay, I would come back with family and stay there again. It was worth it. Clean and fresh as can be. Great romantic spot. Staff was nice, but not intrusive. They weren't the "chummy" sort found at many quaint inns of this type.

Room Tip: 302 was great. View of the historic area was terrific.There is a construction next door to the inn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iriani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    287
    106
    22
    6
    4
See reviews for
92
200
28
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

My husband often stay here when doing a day's trip to Bellingham from Vancouver.
Easy, free parking.
Well priced.
Friendly and helpful staff. Good email info. regarding deals.
Alas, not pet friendly
Has a sort of bed and breakfast feel.
A delightful walk into town for some wonderful shops and great dining.
(Visit Eclipse second hand book store. One of the world's best?!).
At Christmas time there are horse-drawn carriage rides.
Wednesday in the Central Park opposite the hotel, a great farmers' market with wonderful produce. Live music. Lots of good energy.
Comfortable, clean rooms. A view to the sea (beyond the industrial area, but that's ok...). We always go for a fireplace which adds a nice touch.
Good bathrooms with plenty of counter space.
Disappointing free self service breakfast. Wish they'd brighten that up. I've given up eating there, but there are good choices a short walk away.
Nice touch is the library and the fact that you can come back from eating out (there's no proper restaurant at this hotel) then help yourself to tea or coffee and relax in a pleasing public space.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Found this place rather by accident as was traveling through Bellingham for one night and stopped in Fairhaven for dinner and saw the inn and decided to give it a try. Great location by the water and within an area filled with quaint shops and eateries. Be aware, however, there is some construction going on right next to the inn (as of May 2014). Staff was super helpful and friendly and my room was very nice. The view from my balcony was ok as it faced the water, but looked out on a lot of commercial scenes so not exceptional and wasn't enticing to sit outside there. All in all, a nice stay, and kudos to the staff there, who went above and beyond in their service to guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeni H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The Inn is on the Interurban Trail in beautiful Fairhaven Village at the South end of Bellingham. This Trail can lead you to the Taylor Dock with picturesque views of Bellingham Bay including Boulevard Park, and if you are adventuresome all the way to downtown Bellingham. Across the street from the Inn is the Village Green with surrounding restaurants and unique shops. It's a very nice, short walk to the Alaskan Ferry Terminal and Amtrack Station as well. No real need to get in your car when you stay here :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are very comfortable. You may either select a Bayside room or Parkside (view of the Villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cgg1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The Inn was very cute and gave me a BnB feel. There is a lot of attention to detail paid to the furnishings and decorations. I didn't pay for the room so I won't comment on the value.

Positives: great location if you're taking either Amtrak or the AMHS Ferry. Very comfortable bed. Excellent walking to fairhaven. The whole place hada very warm feel. The breakfast was as expected. There was a friendly woman making waffles which were very good, and I didn't feel like anything was lacking.

Negatives: faucet leaked, not close( ~2.5mi) to downtown Bellingham if you don't have a car (took Amtrak to the ferry)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Capltd29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is exactly like staying at Grandma's house. In a good way. Quiet, nice rooms w/balcony. Staff is flawless. Right in the middle of vibrant commerce/shops/restaurants, etc. A beautiful waterside urban trail is right outside front door.

Currently construction next door which slightly complicates hotel parking. New bldg will obscure views from common patio area, but not the rooms. A bit noisy right now, but it's really ok especially considering other Bellingham hotels.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We have stayed at a few hotels in the area including the Crysalis over the last few years, but the Village Inn is by far the best. The attention to detail (down to the choices of toilet roll in the rooms), the character, the location all make it really memorable.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul_K_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#11 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#14 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 351 reviews
4.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
2.3 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
4.7 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bellingham
SpringHill Suites Bellingham
#3 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Property: Fairhaven Village Inn
Address: 1200 10th Street, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhaven Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing