We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Smoking police are on duty” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairhaven Village Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairhaven Village Inn
Ranked #6 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Payson, Arizona
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Smoking police are on duty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

We were not aware that smoking is now a totally illegal activity-hmm. Perhaps it is in this town or only in this hotel. There was no indication of any particular restrictions on the hotel's website. The desk clerk ruined our idyllic stay to visit with our son who is serving in the US Coast Guard and whose cutter is in dry dock here. The sad thing is that my husband is completely discreet and there was nothing that he did to disturb other guests or employees. Unfortunately I (we) cannot recommend this otherwise pleasant lodging.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donna85541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperFVI, Owner at Fairhaven Village Inn, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
"Thank you for the opportunity to confirm current no smoking policies.
Washington State enacted #RC 70.16 in 2005. This law prohibits smoking
in all indoor public places and within 25 feet of a business entry.
It requires business owners such as the Fairhaven Village Inn to enforce this rule.

These policies are stated on our website, the reservation confirmation, the guest registration agreement,posted in each guest room, as well as prominently on porches and several other locations throughout the Inn.

The Fairhaven Village Inn consistently provides a smoke free environment throughout the entire property for the comfort and safety of all of our guests. Valued guests regularly tell us they appreciate and expect a fresh, clean and attractive environment at the Inn.

Guests who wish to smoke can ask our guest services staff for recommendations
to nearby spots where is it convenient and legal to do so.

I hope this clarifies any confusion about the smoke free environment at the Inn."

Connie Shannon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    115
    23
    6
    4
See reviews for
103
225
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2011

My mother, who has a disability, stayed here with me, and we absolutely LOVED it. There is a large covered entryway, so if you need to unload an electric wheelchair, there is plenty of shelter from the rain. The room was very open, expansive, and clean, and the bathroom was large and easy for my mother to navigate. When we asked them at the last minute, upon arrival, if they might have a small refrigerator available, they wheeled in a cart with both a frig and microwave. When we asked them at the last minute, on the day before departure, if there was any way for us to stay an extra night, they moved their reservation map around so we could keep the room we were already using. The staff is just wonderful, and they have a very generous continental breakfast each morning -- fresh and beautiful quality. The customer service, the quality of the linens, the cleanliness -- it was just outstanding. We have had the good fortune to travel throughout Europe for many years, and this place was as good as it gets. It was the perfect location and a truly lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank katebythegate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2011

We went to Bellingham to visit our son who is a senior at Western Washington University.

The Fairhaven Inn is a small hotel. We got the Suite, which is on the third floor. The view was of the park, but if you want to see the bay you have the opportunities from other rooms with small balconies. No, we did not hear the trains (they are near) go by.

We chose the suite because we travel with our daughter who is developmentally disabled. There was no sound between the rooms, and the usual "hotel" noises were totally absent. We got a roll-away bed for our daughter which was comfortable (as was the couch) and there was a great deal of space which suits our needs perfectly.

The staff is amazing and because of that, we are going to stay 2 more times, including graduation weekend.

The included breakfast was fresh Belgian waffles, cereal, English muffins, hard boiled eggs, juice, milk, toast, etc. Enough to get you going.

Bellingham is a food and brew paradise (many local brands) and the prices are extremely reasonable. We ate at La Fiamma, brick oven pizza, etc, Coconut Kenney's, best pulled pork bbq sandwich we ever had anywhere, The Copper Hog, a great pub frequented late in the evening by both families and students (this is NOT one of those fake Irish places). Most of the reataurants, in Bellingham, are family owned businesses; as is the Fairhaven Village Inn. Oh, and in case the point wasn't made: you can eat your way across Bellingham for a month and never find all the delicious little gems.

There are lots of parks and walking areas next to the bay and the University is 5 minutes by car and it's well under an hour from the border. The town is friendly and has amazingly beautiful scenery. You are also less than an hour from Mt. Baker and skiing.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kwood211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2011

I stayed in this comfortable, well situated inn for a 3 day stay in February. The staff was friendly and made me feel right at home. They had a variety of delicious breakfast foods including freshly made waffles, locally made organic breads, yogurt, eggs, cereal, etc. The staff was very helpful in recommending great coffee shops, restaurants and local shops nearby.
The inn is located right in Fairhaven, making walking to local businesses, eateries and nature walks along the water very accessible.

I particularly enjoyed lounging in the lobby on comfortable chairs next to the fire, enjoying the complimentary tea, coffee, cookies and fruit service throughout the day. Free wi-fi throughout the hotel made meetings and working in the room easy.
The rooms were wonderful: soft, cozy sheets, great pillows, and an excellent bathroom. The only change I would recommend is a better shower head, but the pressure was good and there was more than enough hot water.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex_jamieson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay. What a great location - close to the water and all the shops in downtown Fairhaven. Within steps of the boardwalk out on the water. Great staff. Clean and nice a quiet. We plan to return in the summer.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJF_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2011

We have stayed at the Inn three times now and each time have been very satisfied. The staff are very pleasant. The library with fireplace is welcoming - a pleasant venue to meet other guests. The breakfast is more than generous. The rooms could be furnished with a little more imagination - my only negative. There is a branch of Daphne's wine bar next door for snacks and a good selection of wines. . The location is ideal with many small shops and restaurants within a block or two. It is only about an hour's drive to Vancouver, convenient If you want to go there for the day but not pay Canadian rates for a hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baggagecarrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2010

I love the warmth of this attractive, small hotel in a perfect location. The rooms are spacious and attractive, clean and well cared for. The library is a gem. People were thoughtful and kind. I would stay here often and recommend it to my friends, if only they replaced the low beds and soft, saggy, lumpy mattresses. It's unusual for a relatively new hotel to have uncomfortable beds. It feels like someone tried to save money and cut the wrong corner. What's a hotel without good beds? The rating is not entirely inaccurate -- if you forget about the beds (and sleep!) this hotel is excellent. If you include the beds, it's poor. I will be back the minute I hear they've bought top-quality mattresses! I can't recommend it to my friends because they all have bad backs.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank visitingprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InnkeeperFVI, Owner at Fairhaven Village Inn, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
The Fairhaven Village Inn is dedicated to guests like you who want to return to us!

This month we installed quality custom mattresses and high quality linen in all 22 rooms.
It was also an opportunity to increase the number of rooms with king beds..all for more and better rest for our guests.

See our transition day pictures on Facebook. To help those in need of clean serviceable bedding, we partnered with local organizations to distribute the out-going mattresses.

We hope, as you mentioned in your review, that you will indeed recommend us to your friends and return to us to enjoy a great night sleep!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
4.7 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
4.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
4.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#5 of 26 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairhaven Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairhaven Village Inn

Property: Fairhaven Village Inn
Address: 1200 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-7092
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Fairhaven Village Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fairhaven Village Inn, the hotel in heart of the Historic Fairhaven District of Bellingham, is footsteps from fabulous dining, trails on the Bay, live entertainment, an outdoor market and unique shops. The hotel has 22 spacious guest rooms with fireplace and bay side options. The Inn’s porch, library and Village Green Park makes this an excellent spot for a getaway or families. Enjoy free parking, high-speed Internet access, continental breakfasts and sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Fairhaven Village Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairhaven Village Hotel Bellingham
Fairhaven Village Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing