We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping at Larrabee” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Larrabee State Park

Larrabee State Park
Ranked #10 of 70 things to do in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Camping at Larrabee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The trains go by frequently and they either wake you or keep you awake. There is no IDEAL campsite to avoid the noise, but try to get a site to the east side of the campground.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    51
    26
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“One of my favorite hikes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

The LarabeeState Park is simply stunning. My husband and I wwere humbled by the beauty of the trails. Be sure to go up to Fragerance Lake and takethe short hike to the lookout point-you won't be disappointed. Also, to visit Washington state parks you need a Discovery Pass ($10 per visit or $30 per year). I've heard they check for the passes, so best to take care of this before visiting.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TeamTK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everson, Wa. USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One of the best campgrounds I have ever been to!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

All services available for RV's, and Tent camping to.
But the best is the scenery and the beach, rock climbing, a stage and pavilion that the Washington state rangers have many presentations on.
The only down side I would have to this park is the BNSF main line goes right through the park, but I never heard them blowing the horns.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank glocke380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Depends on your orientation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Since I grew up in the area I have many fond memories of this park. The problem is that this is not the type of park I would go out of my way to visit if I was from outside the area (try Deception Pass State Park instead). If you like exploring tide pools, exploring the many trails and semi-trails, or just like to wander amidst Madronas, etc. this is a great place. There is a large picnic area so it lends itself to large group gatherings (if you reserve the area ahead of time). As others have noted, there is a main north-south railroad line (BNSF) running through the middle of the park with trains (sometimes very long) at all hours.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wrigor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
240 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Not that great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This was really not much of a park. Train tracks through the park, views mostly obstructed. Limited access. We were disappointed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank jnobz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Larrabee State Park also viewed

 

Been to Larrabee State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing