We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Breakfast is the Best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avenue Bread & Cafe

Avenue Bread & Cafe
Ranked #26 of 426 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Kansas City
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Breakfast is the Best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Came to Avenue Bread & Cafe for a quick bite before starting the day. Man, those egg sandwiches are delicious! I had a difficult time choosing which one, but was nonetheless satisfied with my choice! Good coffee, great set-up. Good light from outside, plenty of tables, and a clean-up-after-yourself attitude I can get behind. I wish we could have come back to try lunch; their paninis sounded amazing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Allie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    6
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Just down the street from Trader Joes, an unassuming place from the street however the food is better than most. Tried the omelet special and was not disappointed, spinach, caramelized onions, bacon, cheese and more with a large helping of crisp shredded hash browns.. The rye toast had caraway seeds and a crispness that can only be had in an artisan loaf. The only problem was my husband kept stealing my toast. He had Sausages and eggs with whole wheat toast. The sausages are large, with herbs and the toast had a sourdough taste, with a crisp exterior and tender crumbs. Glorius and we will be back. Oops, mustn't forget the packs of freezer jam were a nice touch. Meal was 22 bucks inclusive and we had to give some to the dog as the portion was large. Will be back!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
317 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Ever Sandwich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is a must stop for anyone coming near downtown Bellingham. Many good restaurants but for an afternoon or early evening sandwich this place cannot be beat. Great staff and atmosphere as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gr8t bakery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Try the Egginues for breakfast. Mmmmm. The coffee is good too and the sandwiches make an excellent lunch. My wife and visit every time we are in Bellingham.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Da5idr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
“Nice food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Good food good service, Nice soups and salads, and of course great bread, been to many of their locations and all are great

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avenue Bread & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Avenue Bread & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing