We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Outstanding Hike at Mt Baker” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chain Lakes Loop

Chain Lakes Loop
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
354 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 472 helpful votes
“Outstanding Hike at Mt Baker”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We loved this hike. The entire 6.5 mile loop has great views every step of the way. Very little of the hike was in the trees. Iceberg and Hayes Lakes were very picturesque and different. Mountains galore in every direction. We started at Artist Point and finished at Heather Meadows. We were fortunate to get a ride back up to our car when finished the hike. We also hiked the Artist Point trail which was easy but was loaded with more scenery.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
161 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Beautiful day hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a very good day hike near the Mt. Baker Ski area. It is open from late July through October and has only moderate elevation gain. Lovely mountain views throughout the trip.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank uncle_albert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skagit valley, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“So pretty, good trail, lots of visitors, part of the loop is by the road”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

It's one of the prettiest hikes by Mount Baker and loops are always attractive. We usually try and find a way to get the car moved to the other parking lot after the hike, or switch keys with somebody on the trail. Amazing views of Mt Shuksan and Mt Baker that you will share with other hikers. Don't go looking to be alone here. It would be a rare day.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ouzelchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“My favourite hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The trail can be done as a loop (using the Wild Goose trail to connect from start to finish), generally starting from either Artists point or Austin Pass. I travelled counterclockwise by parking at Artists point and using Wild Goose trail to start at Austin Pass. This is the more difficult of the directions. There is a significant uphill climb to Hermans Saddle then you drop down to the chain lakes. The entire trail is heaven. I've done it twice and loved every minute of it. Amazing views with every corner. You won't be disappointed. Please note that this trail requires a moderate fitness level to complete. It's quick rocky, so I recommend hiking boots to save your feet. Bring water. Outhouse bathrooms are at either end of the trail.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Off_to_see_the_w0rld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A day's hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

I believe the entire loop is about 6 or7 miles. Parts of the trail are very steep and exposed. parts can be hard to find depending on the season. Take plenty of water if doing in Summer. A marvelous trek over a lot of different kinds of terrain. Exhillerating & exhausting except for the well experienced.

Helpful?
1 Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chain Lakes Loop also viewed

 
Washington, United States
 

Been to Chain Lakes Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing