We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bellingham's jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Whatcom

Lake Whatcom
Ranked #12 of 73 things to do in Bellingham
Attraction details
Washington
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Bellingham's jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Since we live on the lake...my opinions are bias. This lake is great for any kind of water sport. Best place to be on a summer day! Great view all year!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank mango58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    18
    4
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
vancouver, bc
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful lake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have friends on Lake Whatcom so we had an opportunity to visit them. The day we chose was amazing as it was sunny and the water was sparkling. We look forward to returning when the weather is warm.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank jmp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Plenty of open lake area for boating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Lake Whatcom is large for an inner city lake, almost 8 miles. It has 3 boat launches,which at times can get really busy but once you get out in the water, there is plenty of open space to pull kids on towables, water ski, etc. If you head down towards Sudden Valley and are in the mood for Pizza, you can call Tinos Pizza and they will deliver to the dock.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stacy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
226 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“great place for water sports”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Lake Whatcom has nice facilities for a number of activities and water sports. The drive around the lake is also very scenic and there are a number of places to stay overnight.

Helpful?
Thank Kenny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard to Boat there anymore”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Not what it used to be. They took out the Diving Platform, and too many ducks there. I think you can still swim there

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bellinghamguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lake Whatcom also viewed

 

Been to Lake Whatcom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing