We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous Chrysalis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
cascadia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Fabulous Chrysalis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

My husband and I had the pleasure of three nights at this beautiful place right on Bellingham Bay. The suite was very thoughtfully decorated, extremely comfortable, with a grand twin-sized windowseat overlooking the water, lovely bed with nice linens, and a decadent, giant bathtub with the world's best water pressure. The train does steam--and rarely scream--by on occasion, and the tracks are really only feet away, but really, for me, it's like sleeping on the Amtrak to hear that sound(though I can appreciate how some would be jangled by it). Other than the rare train, the place is absolutely quiet, and this from a major noise freak!

Chrysalis is the destination for the perfect train and walking vacation, with the Amtrak station being about 5 minutes away by friendly taxi. The town of Fairhaven, with its wonderful book stores, restaurants, and a special toy store(Toy Garden) is .2 miles by nice walking trail, and Bellingham is an easy, flat two miles the other way on another fabulous walking trail.

We discovered the oldest Peace Vigil in the US, which meets on the corner of Cornwall and Magnolia, in front of the Federal Building every Friday from 4 to 5, and that was an added joy for our visit.

The spa is beautiful, the therapists skilled and kind.

I would recommend this inn for all train lovers and walkers of the Cascadian persuasion!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arachne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    105
    37
    14
    21
See reviews for
43
192
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
77 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Chrysalsis Inn and Spa was the perfect location for a cozy weekend getaway. It is set right on the water and provided beautiful sunset views from the window seat in our room. Our room was equiped with cozy throws and pillows, perfect for reading a book, enjoying a cup of coffee, and taking in the view. The deep oversized bathtub set beside the retractable wall, allowed for sunset views from the tub. To top it off, the plush bathrobes and inroom fireplace made this the ideal room for a romantic, quiet weekend.
A boardwalk runs from the hotel down across the water and into a great little park. At the end of the boardwalk is Woods Coffee shop. What a great afternoon stroll along the water enjoyng a latte. Dinner options are abundant and within walking distance. There are trails that lead from the hotel into Fairhaven, a cute little town with specialty shops, bars, restaurants, and bookstores. There's even a great little place, Magdalena's Creperie, that tasted like true French crepes where we enjoyed breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelers804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sartell, MN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

I love this place and have stayed a couple of times before but this stay was awful for sleeping. I counted at least 6 trains that went past that woke me each night. The train is very close. All night long trains were going past.
Other than that this is really a lovely place, the food is very good and the contemporary style is comfy and warm. It is really styled to be relaxing and it is when trains are not moving through.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreqMNTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

POOR! Was given a gift certificate to use in the spa. Enjoyed my massage and the steam room, but the "relaxation area" was anything but. It was so crowded that I had to stand in the back corner between services, not even a seat! Not very relaxing : (

Then, when I went to check out, they would not honor the gift certificate. They claim that a card should have been attached to it, even though there was no indication that a card was ever attached, or any reference on the cert. to not being valid without a card. The gift giver says there was never a card, and now both she and I are out $100. I am still wrangling with them over this, and am amazed by the condescending attitude and poor service all around I have received in this matter. Pretty shabby for a service-based business. NOT RECOMMENDED!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tiggilee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

We stayed here the evening of our wedding. The room was lovely and we had a beautiful view. Very comfortable and relaxing. Good surrounding area to wander around during the day and then walk the pier at night.

We are planning to return here for our one year anniversary!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaredVanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonds, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

This is one of Washington's best-kept secrets! Seriously, the Chrysalis is understated luxury right on Puget Sound. The room, the staff and the spa are top-notch. We went on a special package offered on the website which was an incredible value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaGal2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

Went for a wedding. Everything was clean, nice, yummy, just a nice get away. Great place for walkers. Long walk to Bellingham, short walk to Fairhaven. Good staff, nice rooms. Some folks at the wedding could definitely hear the train right next door more than others.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DJFresh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 374 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
4.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Property: The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Address: 804 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chrysalis Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing