We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Romantic getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The hectic events of the holidays deserve some downtime seclusion around mid January. Not too far from Seattle, the Chrysalis Inn and Spa is the perfect destination. It located on Bellingham Bay just an hour and forty five minutes drive from Bellevue, WA.

You can even drive up Chuckanut Drive on a nice sunny day for some scenic prelude to the views of your room at the Inn.

there's lots to do around town and the dinner choices range from low down microbrew pubs to casual elegant dining at Keenan's at the Inn or like us , we ventured out 20 minutes to dine at The Fork on Agate Bay. Perfect!

Watching the sunset from your room is priceless! The jetted tubs add great relaxation and this time can be really helpful to make plans for the busy year ahead!

I recommend The Chrysalis inn and Spa for a new year awakening!!
The Spa services top it all!

Room Tip: select a room that faces the Bay or if you want jetted tubs, pick the top floor rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nepalgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    106
    38
    15
    21
See reviews for
43
199
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mukilteo
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at here the weekend before Christmas. It was a relaxing visit before the hectic family holidays. We enjoyed the spa, indulged with 90 minute massages, dined at one of our favorite Bellingham spots, D'Anna's, and did some last minute shopping. The inn is in a great location within walking distance to Fairhaven and the Woods coffee shop. It is located next to the train tracks, but we did not notice the sound even though our room was on the water. Staff service was marvelous!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WhidbeyIsleGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is located in a great location, right on the water and on a public pier.
All the rooms have a great water view and are stylish with jacuzzi tubs and fireplaces.

Restaurant is tasty and has a good selection of wines. Great happy hour.
Easy parking underground, you can leave your car and walk to old part of Bellingham - Fairhaven.
Spa, has a great ambiance, is small but charming. You can use sauna if you are staying in the hotel as much as you wish. If you forget flip flops, hotel will pro wide you wit a set. Use your bath robes. Spa services and very high-end.
You can go there just to relax for a night or a weekend or spend a pleasant time while working!

Great prices for a King room on the week days.

Room Tip: disregard swimming pool, since it doesn't have on
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vienes001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA
Level Contributor
79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Rented the corner suite for a treat for my wife. Beautiful suite, great view, comfortable bed. Free DVD's to be checked out, although DVD player only in the front room. Huge soaker tub with view. Train noise not that loud, on the third floor anyway.

Room Tip: Corner suite, third floor, huge soaker tub, great views, less train noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 82nd_Airborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I really love this place, even with its drawbacks. The rooms are utterly fantastic...great beds, window seats overlooking Bellingham Bay, in-room fireplace, large jetted tubs with a view into and out of the room -- or sliding doors if privacy is preferred. Its also very dog friendly! Our pup loved hanging out on the window seat - and there's a small park and walking pier adjacent. Don't go there if you are a light sleeper or trains hold no romance for you - because they do roll by occasionally through the day and night.

Its a small, probably locally run place though, and it does have some issues with quality control.

For example, the heat in our room stopped working and since it would have taken too long to repair, we had to make do with a space heater and the fireplace. Also, the dining room was lovely and the food great - but the kitchen was unbelievably slow.

The spa is very nice, and I love a place where I can wear my bathroom from my room to my spa treatment, It also has a great steam room. Multiple treatments are available-definitely at spa prices. They have a 'relaxation' area which would be nice but it was so busy during the holidays that I couldn't even find a seat, so didn't stay.

Over all, I recommend it for a mid-season splurge when you need a bit of pampering or down time in the area or close to home. Just don't expect "big hotel" amenities.

Room Tip: A deluxe room with full view of the bay is worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BParkerSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

The room was okay, I guess, but that is the only thing positive I can say. Trains, trains trains... You literally have a train going by 30ft from where you sleep every 30mins all night. On top of the train we got two calls, one at 11pm and another at 12 pm, neither one had anyone on the other end, who knows how many more we would have gotten if i hadnt just unplugged the room phones from the wall. They provide cheap foam ear plugs for the train noise, which is like trying to piss on a forest fire to put it out. We got the room with a big spa tub, it was probably the cheapest spa tub they could have put in the room, the jets were weak to the point you could hardly feel them and there wasn't any seats in the tub, making it very uncomfortable to sit in, oh the tub was also leaking water all over the bathroom floor.

The staff person that checked us out, seemed to care less whether you had a good stay or not, he didn't even ask how our stay was as he swiped my card for $300+. I will never, ever recommend this place to a friend or even an enemy, and definitely never stay or give them another dollar of my money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

The trains roar buy your room constantly. NO sleeping here. Nice restaurant and great views but NOISY.if they could only move the railroad tracks away from your window if you want a room facing the water. Also the management is awkward in disclosing this info. And not honest about it. I tried to no avail..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rcfn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
4.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Property: The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Address: 804 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chrysalis Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing