We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great stay, nice ocean view. ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay, nice ocean view. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed by the cleanliness and attention to detail in this hotel. Beautiful huge bath in our deluxe king room #216. Other reviewers mentioned the train sounds but we all found them quant when noticeable at all. I'd stay there again for sure. Great front end staff also.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Familyofquatro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    108
    38
    15
    21
See reviews for
44
203
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We loved our get-away here. Wonderful window seat overlooking the water big enough for 2 people, deep soaker jacuzzi tub, wet bar and fireplace. We had a king suite with separate bedroom. The restaurant in the hotel (Keenan’s) is really good and they have a nice spa as well although we didn’t use it. A short walk to the centre of Fairhaven where there are lots of cute shops, cafes and a great bookstore.

All this being said, the hotel is on the rail line - in fact our room overlooked it. If you want a water view, you’ll also be viewing/hearing the train. During the day, this was fine but as we found ear plugs provided in our room, we new it may be a problem at night. I had an issue with my ear plugs so couldn’t use them and I did hear the train at 3am and 5am. My husband wore his ear plugs and didn’t hear a thing.

We would return and recommend this place to friends but warn everyone in advance of the train noise. Wear the ear plugs and you should be fine.

A little pricey for Bellingham but we enjoyed it enough not to care.

Room Tip: Even if you choose a side or street view room, you will still likely hear the trains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loopies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

when we arrived and booked in it seems like we were given two different room numbers from two different clerks. Then it went down from there, no sleep at all the train noise was awful we were going to stay two nights, but couldn't take the noise so we booked out. The girl at the counter seemed like she could have cared less, her answer was some people really like the train noise. Ya maybe if you are stoned and sleep like your dead. will never return or recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed one night in a 'side-view' room on a weeknight, and so far nicest place in Bellingham. Even the greyhound was welcome....a definite plus. Staff were welcoming, grounds and decor clean and bright; a fireplace in the room as well. We did not do drinks, meals, or spa....but that will be for a return visit. Adjacent to the Inn is walkway - park that you can take into Fairhaven 'proper' or go down to the bay waterfront. Ample parking. A very nice all-around stay!

Room Tip: Check on a side view room if you don't require direct bay view, or may be concerned about proxii...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWCFX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Room very pleasant and my wife loved the large tub. Wonderful window spot that could have used a reading light. Restaurant offers fine food, well-paced, dinner and breakfast. Wait staff great, tried wine, not what I wanted and simply replace with no charge. Relaxing stay with great location.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Luigi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

Seriously. The trains are not that frequent, or loud. I actually thought it added some charm. We celebrated our first "WWU Parents Weekend" with an overnight stay and it was perfect. We enjoyed Happy Hour watching the outstanding sunset with delicious snacks (enough that we made a meal out of it! Must have the truffle fries!) and refreshments. Love the local special brews! Our room was beautiful, and my youngest was enthralled by the not only the bay window seating/bed, but the tub, fireplace and the supersoft sheets! The amenities were just right for us and although the parking garage was full upon our arrival back at night, the street parking was just as easy and close. We look forward to our next visit! And hopefully a visit to the spa next time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christaadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, Usa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

My wife booked this for our daughter + 2 babies and us on our way to a celebration of life for my sisters husband on Lumni Island. We absolutely loved it. The restaurant was very accommodating of the 2 & 3 year olds, and got us in and out quickly which was exactly what you want, and the food was over the top. The one bedroom suite was also over the top, with separate dining table, small fridge, and stunning views. My wife and I always say to each other after a stay or meal..."Would you go back?"....and it was a resounding YES to both the accommodations and restaurant!

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steven L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
4.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#4 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Property: The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Address: 804 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chrysalis Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing