We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Still Wonderful”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The Chrysalis is a wonderful place. Generally I have not reviewed a place more than once, but since it has been a few years I thought I would post another review. Its still great. The service is excellent. Deanna at the front desk was a pleasure. Friendly and helpful. The new restaurant Keenan's is a big improvement over Fino. Being form BC it is very close for an easy getaway. I still have not heard the train from the room. One does go by as I saw it while sitting on the patio at the restaurant. Fairhaven is a nice little town and a good spot to walk around.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    111
    39
    15
    24
See reviews for
48
211
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gilroy, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

On a return trip from Canada, I decided to stay in Bellingham, WA. In my AAA Guidebook, I found the Chrysalis Inn and Spa and opted to give it a try. I was not disappointed. The facility is beautiful and the views of the bay are outstanding. My suite was well-appointed with a dining/sitting room, a large bedroom with a convenient window seat and a luxurious bathroom. The staff was friendly and quite helpful. When I asked for information about the detour around the Skagit River Bridge, they provided all the needed tips. Furthermore, I was informed about an additional delay that I would encounter as I traveled south on I-5 the next morning. The only small issue with my stay was the train which passes very close to the inn. Although it woke me up once during the night, I might have avoided this if I had used the earplugs that were provided on the bedside table. However, this was not such a big problem, so I'm sure I'll be back for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The room was just okay, nothing special, typical of mid-priced rooms. Bathroom okay but, careful!, baskets of products and snacks placed around the room, complete with (over)price cards. Terribly mercenary. Overpriced products.

Also, the self-righteous card in the bathroom "water waste - tons of detergent waste" then "1) a towel on the rack means 'I will use again' 2) a towel on the floor means 'please exchange'. PLEASE DECIDE for yourself". But, it would have been really nice if there had been more than one towel rack in the bathroom, which was smaller than the bath towel, 1" from the wall, and centered over the tub behind the door. Nevertheless, I painstakingly hung the bath towel, arranged the hand towels, only to return to the room later in the day to find ALL the towels replaced. So, who exactly is the message meant for? Do they manage the staff?

Happened the second day too. By the third day, everything went on the floor.

Called and called to arrange a wakeup call, but no one every answered. Oh well.

Hated the gas fireplace, makes me unwell.

Will most definitely look for another place to stay in the area next time.

Room Tip: People, the hotel is on the edge of the bay. The only thing closer to the bay is the train. It is an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holidaystuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
130 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really a lovely property. We got the last corner King Suite available...and it was just lovely. Large...great view and a lovely window seat. One of the best bathrooms I've had ANYWHERE. Only drawback is the train that goes by quite a bit! They do provide you with ear plugs....but it feels like an earthquake is occurring and it's pretty much around the clock. You get used to it...but you can't ignore that it's there. That's the only drawback. Bellingham is just a beautiful, cool, funky place....Total surprise. The restaurant at the hotel is quite good too...and it is perfectly situated...just can't ignore the train....

Room Tip: Get a King Corner Suite...it's perfect...and use the ear plugs!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markdmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Great views, peaceful surroundings, beautiful spa, slightly uncomfortable beds and the sound of trains every 15 minutes (or so it seems) that will keep you awake most of the night. I've stayed at this hotel three different times but this last visit the train noise was too much and too often, I will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Bellingham is a very cool, funky little town spitting distance from the Canadian border – you’ll love this town and this boutique hotel.

The Chrysalis is a small, quaint, newer, upscale boutique hotel right on the bay in Bellingham – I love it.

The rooms are modern, spacious, functional and have a great view of the bay. The staff was very nice, and the price was decent for the product received ($185 for a ¾ bay view).

Not only is the hotel right on the water, but there is a cool boardwalk attached to the hotel that leads to a fantastic bay-front park. The only negative was the proximity to the train tracks (the hotel is basically right on top of the tracks), but it really didn’t bother us at all… in fact, if you are a railfan you might actually dig the proximity.

Room Tip: I don't think that there is a bad room... I think all rooms have a least a 3/4 bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick97401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent the night in one of the king suites. The room was so comfortable it was hard to leave. The living room had a huge window seat with the most incredible ocean view of Bellingham Bay and the wharf. The bathroom with it's huge jetted soaker tub was big enough for two. Drinks and appies on the patio were nicely priced with excellent service. The restaurant had an excellent menu with local in season items. Prices were surprisingly affordable given the venue. We didn't use the spa although it looked very nice and well run. The trains at night did make noise but we were able to fall back asleep with no problem and ear plugs were supplied at the bed side. All in all, it was a very enjoyable stay and we would definitely love to come back again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get an ocean view room at least on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BCConnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
434 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 26 in Bellingham
489 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
440 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
4.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Bellingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Property: The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Address: 804 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chrysalis Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from the restaurant and bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing