We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Chrysalis - weekend escape to bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chrysalis - weekend escape to bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

If you don't like trains then this place may not be for you! But I love trains and I love the ocean. Chrysalis is definitely a gem for a quick escape from the hustle and bustle of life. Staff are first class and the spa was divine. Christina delivered by far the best massage I've had in a very long time. The room was gorgeous with a fabulous view of the water. The window seat is a nice place to curl up and just chill. Gas fireplace was cozy and made it for a romantic birthday weekend. The Happy Hour is great with a tasty menu. Looking forward to returning soon....Thanks Groupon for the opportunity to try something new.

Room Tip: Call ahead for a King Room...loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    106
    38
    15
    21
See reviews for
44
200
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here the night of our wedding ceremony and it was really perfect. The bathroom wall can be opened into the bedroom so that the view of the water as well as the fireplace can be enjoyed from the huge 2 person soaking tub. No noise from other guests, and we weren't bothered by the train. The window seat is really big and comfortable and the two of us were able to hang out and take in the view. We didn't have a chance to use the spa, but will make a reservation for next time. We were impressed enough that we reserved a room for our friends for their wedding night.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been going to the Crysalis for several years - marking it as a favourite place to stay in the Pacific Northwest. This time my experience, both in the spa and the room was mediocre.

I called ahead as I had booked a KingRoom and wanted to ensure there would be a bed for my friend who was travelling with me. i was assured that in addition to the King Bed, there was also an "extremey comfortable" Queen sized pull out couch. Upon arrival, there was only a wicker couch. When I asked the fron desk, they said that there was room that would accomodate, but they were "saving it for and emergency." they suggested that my friend sleep in the window seat.

I asked them to bring the bedding, which they did, and dumped it onto the furniture for us to make this "non-bed" into a bed.

The room was okay - though only one sink in the bathroom. I was rudely awoken by a couple of smokers occupying a patio table below my slightly ajar window - at about 7:15 am. My whole room filled with cigarette smoke. Not exactly relaxing.

I booked into the SPa for a slat scrub glow treatment - which has gone up in price and down in value since i visited last February 2012. The room was cold ( had to ask for the heat lamps to be turned on) The service provider was okay, but it wasn't nearly the treatment I had recieved previously. She said she was "leaving me a sample" at the desk to try for my aching shoulder. The "sample' was not so - it was a jar of some kind of goo that i was prompted to purchase. IF i had in fact been offered a sample, i amy have followed through with a purchase. Also, the spa was so packed i was discouraged form going to therelaxation room after my treatment - in fact told there was no room for me there.

Breakfast was not the healthy buffet it used to be ( and was included in the price of an overnight stay. it was greasy and pricey.

I am in no hurry to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rozlynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Chrysalis Inn and Spa for three nights this May just prior to the Inns peak season. Our assigned room (two room suite overlooking the RR tracks) and its amenities were very good, staff was pleasant and helpful and the spa services as we expected for the price (very comparable to other Pacific Northwest Spa's).
Having stayed at the hotel a few years ago we did see that the room furnishings and public area facilities are getting a bit tired and could use a refreshening. Great to have Farehaven within a 15 minute slow-walk from the property offering a variety of restaurants, bars and coffee shops. At $300 + per night the property could dispense with the in-room gratuity envelopes for the House Keepers. Seems a bit of "nickel / dimming" there.

Room Tip: The property although overlooking Puget Sound is known for being "right on" the north sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruzguy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We came up for a little filming. Stayed in their corner suite, it was everything they said it would be. Great views, perfect weather, so so comfortable. The restaurant was SO GOOD that we opted to eat there for every meal over three days. The staff were so friendly and nice and pleasant and it was just so lvoely to just hang out there. The food was awesome and the wine list full and affordable for every budget. The chef came out at every meal to make sure everything was just right and it was, the salmon startes was enough for three, the fish and chips awesome and the truffle fries to die for. NOTHING was a problem for these guys.

On our last day we were looking for a location for an interview and at the last minute I asked the manager if we could film on their patio. No problem, a million miles away from the Malibu Inn who chase you off "their" bit of beach ([--]). . Nothing was too much trouble. Bellingham itself is lovely, we would probably have never come here unless we were filming, but am so glad we did. will definitely be heading back to do NOTHING.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NikMid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westlake, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Loved staying at the Chrysalis Inn. The room was perfect--loved the window seat where you can comfortably read or look out at the water, enjoyed the huge bathtub, and sitting by the fireplace. Everyone was very welcoming. Very easy walking distance to Fairhaven with lots of great restaurants and shops. About a 2 mile walk to downtown Bellingham.

Room Tip: Skylark restaurant is within an easy walk and very good. D'Anna's is in downtown Bellingham...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsb112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This was our 5th stay at the Chrysalis Inn. I cannot say enough about how great this hotel is compared to anything in the area and I would place this property up against any hotel that I have stayed in my life. We drove from Seattle to Bellingham via LaConner (eat at Seeds in LaConner). take the drive along the water and up Chuckanut Drive. You enter Bellingham in the Fairview district, a wonderful historic Fairview District (read reviews of the area). The hotel sits on the water near the bay with a beautiful view at sunset. The photos on the the hotel website and TripAdvisor are very accurate. Every surface and material is first class.

The staff, restaurant and common areas are just as good. 5 stars!!!

Room Tip: Center rooms on the 3rd floor are ADA, but huge and just as nice. Side partial rooms offer great vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadronaSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
4.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Property: The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Address: 804 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chrysalis Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing