We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, iffy food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
131 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great rooms, iffy food”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I remember an interview with the Grateful Dead's Jerry Garcia when he was asked about his motivation for writing the song Terrapin Station. He began his answer by first saying where he was, and those words are perfect here. "I was sitting in front of a picture window over-looking the storm-lashed bay." The minute I crawled into my room's bay window, I didn't want to leave. The cushion was just the right thickness, the heat radiated from the fire just perfectly and it was an excellent place to curl up and watch football for the day. The trains were a non-issue for me.

The food was speculative at best. I know that menus change a bit, but I didn't recognize a single appetizer when I visited. I settled for chicken galantine because I recognized "chicken." I was non-plussed. Our fellow wedding guests echoed my thoughts...amazing rooms, friendly staff and "what's with the food?"

Room Tip: You gotta have a bay window into which you can curl up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lord H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    111
    39
    15
    24
See reviews for
48
211
13
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I was blown away by the beauty of this hotel! It was a complete surprise when my husband brought me here - and we've been to Cave B Winery and seen the likes of Salish Lodge. But this was even better! You walk into the room and there's a huge tube with these sliding windows that allow you to look out onto the bay...or you can make it more private and have them shut and it separates the bathroom and tub from the bedroom. We also took advantage of the steam rooms (there is a male room and a separate female room) and relaxation room which we highly recommend. We wore the plush robes that were provided and mosied our way to the spa and started out with spa water and 5-10 minutes in the steam room, then went to the relaxation room and enjoyed tea, nuts, and dried fruit while reading magazines in front of the fireplace and looking out at the waterfall (complete with a hot neck wrap). Amazing service too! And we enjoyed sips out on the deck of Fino (their wine bar) during happy hour watching the sun set. Dinner was great too, we highly recommend the Copper Hog in Bellingham. I can't wait to go back here!

Room Tip: I believe each room has a view and most rooms have a view from the enormous tub! Take advantage of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rillabylund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Just returned from a stay at this hotel last Sunday. We just about decided not to stay here because of all of the reviews about the train. Not sure if it was because we were there on a Sunday night, but there were only two trains through in the early evening, and we did not hear anything all night (and I'm a light sleeper). Very glad we decided to go ahead with staying at this hotel, as all aspects of our stay were great! We stayed in a side view room and still got a great view of the bay. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leahjz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
234 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Beautiful hotel, Beautiful rooms, Beautiful view of Bellingham Bay. Very relaxing and romantic spot. Too bad I did not see the reviews about the train noise.. every couple of hours.. you can hear and feel them rumble by... The first train going by was fun to watch ... but all night long.. ugh.. Maybe you should keep the windows closed.. but you could still feel them.. just like an earthquake coming. Our room was on the top floor, full ocean view.. maybe it is better to be on a lower floor. Either way.. we will pass on coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daffofils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have stayed here a few times due to business travel. The hotel is beautiful and has a wonderful view. We loved the rooms.
Yes, there are problems. If you have an issue, the management does not respond in a timely manner. If you do not want the breakfast, it is still charged to your room and you must asked to have it removed. This is a problem for business guests who have to turn in receipts for reimbursement. Our room was not as clean this time. There were several items under the bed, which is sorta gross!
We are considering staying somewhere else the next time we visit Bellingham due to these problems and as others have noted - the train.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogadaph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just got back from two nights at the Chrysalis Inn...what a wonderful property! The room was great, nice size and nice touches. Love the gas fire place. Love the window seat overlooking Bellingham Bay and the train tracks. We noted all the comments on the trains and really didn't notice them much and never was awakened by one. They are fun to watch go by. Walking distance to Fairhaven district with great shops and restaurants. We would definately come back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

I spent a relaxing weekend at the Chrysalis Inn and Spa. The room was spacious and comfortable. Even though our room did not directly face the bay, the window on the window seat did offer us a view of the water. The large soaking tub and fireplace were a nice touch. The window seat was actually the size of a twin bed and large enough to sleep an adult if needed. The walkway provided nice access to the water and to Boulevard Park. The patio was also a lovely place to enjoy a view of Bellingham Bay. Breakfast was good. There were pancakes one morning and french toast the other, along with cereal, bagels, english muffins and other typical breakfast fare. It was well worth the extra $6/person charge.

We knew when we saw packaged earplugs on the nightstand when we checked in that noise would likely be an issue, and it was. Not only was there train noise, but the walls were somewhat thin. We heard other hotel guests either in their rooms or in the hallway, and when one of our neighbors decided to take advantage of the jetted tub early Saturday morning, we heard that too. Still we did get a good night's sleep and didn't find the noise too terribly disruptive.

Despite the train whistles and general noise, it was still a lovely visit and I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay at the Chrysalis Inn and Spa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 26 in Bellingham
489 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
447 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
4.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Bellingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Property: The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Address: 804 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chrysalis Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from the restaurant and bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing