We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend at the Chrysalis Inn & Spa”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Ranked #15 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend at the Chrysalis Inn & Spa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

I spent a relaxing weekend at the Chrysalis Inn and Spa. The room was spacious and comfortable. Even though our room did not directly face the bay, the window on the window seat did offer us a view of the water. The large soaking tub and fireplace were a nice touch. The window seat was actually the size of a twin bed and large enough to sleep an adult if needed. The walkway provided nice access to the water and to Boulevard Park. The patio was also a lovely place to enjoy a view of Bellingham Bay. Breakfast was good. There were pancakes one morning and french toast the other, along with cereal, bagels, english muffins and other typical breakfast fare. It was well worth the extra $6/person charge.

We knew when we saw packaged earplugs on the nightstand when we checked in that noise would likely be an issue, and it was. Not only was there train noise, but the walls were somewhat thin. We heard other hotel guests either in their rooms or in the hallway, and when one of our neighbors decided to take advantage of the jetted tub early Saturday morning, we heard that too. Still we did get a good night's sleep and didn't find the noise too terribly disruptive.

Despite the train whistles and general noise, it was still a lovely visit and I wouldn't hesitate to book another stay at the Chrysalis Inn and Spa.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    110
    38
    15
    23
See reviews for
46
209
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

We are just back from seven nights at the lovely Chrysalis Inn & Spa. The hotel is ideally located mid-way between downtown Bellingham and the historic Fairhaven district. The lobby is a welcoming place with a "living room" and sun deck directly behind it. Just outside the property is the walking trail that goes in both directions. It is an easy stroll to the delicious Wood's coffee house (great views) and all the restaurants in Fairhaven.

The Chrysallis has an onsite restaurant, Fino's, which serves breakfast and dinner. As others have noted, it is five dollars per person per day for the breakfast buffet. The hotel will remove the charge if you don't take part. We found the breakfast great on the weekend, less so during the week when the choices were more limited. Still for five dollars, the coffee was good and the views lovely. We also had dinner there twice which was very nice although I was surprised that no Washington State wines were on the extensive list.

Our room was a direct bay view with a king sized bed, soaking tub, and a comfy window seat. There is also a gas fireplace, however, the noisy timer made it less appealing to use. Our room was well attended to with no intrusion from the competent staff.

While in Bellingham, we enjoyed the area immensely. The drive to the top of Mt. Baker, Whatcom Falls Park, and the Big Rock Garden made us jealous of the people that live there. We also witnessed the Ski to Sea race which gave us great access to a local event that draws athletes from all over.

Restaurants we enjoyed were the Oyster Bar, Cliff House, Guiseppe's, and most of all Mambo Italiano with its great vibe, good food, and friendly staff. We also had a drink at the Bellweather Hotel on the marina which was friendly and a had a great view.

Now for the twist...Many other reviews mention the train noise and we knew about it going in. It is not an exaggeration that the trains are frequent and loud throughout the night. If you are a light sleeper or have trouble falling back asleep, this may not be the place to stay. We tried to ignore the noise and some nights were worse than others. Still, restful sleep is hard to get in this otherwise beautiful location.

Room Tip: Non-view rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jkadventures11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

The Chrysalis Inn and Spa is an unforgetable experience - in a very good way. The rooms are lovely, large soaking tubs, stone floors, very comfortable beds and most of all, the place smells incredible (if you like spas). The views of the bay are spectacular. I've had 6 spa treatments (mostly massages) and they are some of the best I've ever had. Love the showering area with the steam room. If you are staying there, you can just wear your robe to your room. Stay here - you won't regret it.

Room Tip: Side rooms facing North are better at night - less sound from the train that runs South to North. Y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

This is a nice hotel with a beautiful view of the bay. But literally 20 yards from the front door are the train tracks. And these are not little tourist trains.......this is the 200 car, heavy duty industrial variety, which barrels through town, blowing its whistle at 2:30 a.m.

I was also disappointed that the wireless didn't work in my room. They told me it worked better if you sat in the lobby, which didn't thrill me.

Fairhaven is a beautiful town with nice shops and good food.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

First, if you have decided you are going to stay at this hotel DO NOT let them put you in room 106. Room 106 is directly above the Parking Garage, and the door will be going up and down all day and all night, about every 15 to 20 minutes until after 2am, and it will sound as if it is in your room. It is loud enough to interrupt your conversations or your sleep. I don't mind the trains, and I'm not generally sensitive about the regular noise of a hotel - but this was crazy. When we talked with friends later they knew exactly what room we were talking about and had other friends complain about the same experience.

I've visited Bellingham many many times over the years and in the past the Chrysalis was my favorite getaway. The location and view are fantastic, and the hotel is well designed and used to feel like the perfect Pacific NW Spa Boutique hotel. I loved staying there and recommended it to friends and family many times.
Sadly, I went back for the first time in years recently and found that everything has gone downhill except for the price.
I think there must be a new manager without a clue about customer service or luxury hotels. The lobby looks like it's been taken over by a tacky hospital giftshop, where it used to be stocked with lovely and fitting spa items.
When we called down to the front desk because we realized we had forgotten toothpaste they told us to come down and get it ourselves - and then they didn't have it. At the front desk and the spa desk there were always young dudes hanging around with the girls working. The staff seemed completely disinterested in the guests and generally unhelpful.
After listening to the garage door noise all night long, no one even asked us how our stay was when we were checking out.

I did email the manager of the hotel to let them know about the issues we experienced, and didn't get any reply.

Room Tip: 106 is above the garage and very noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank AxlJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
74 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel is quiet, peaceful and relaxing. I had read other people's reviews about railroad noise and was a little concerned but it was minimal and frankly, the view of the water and the close access to Fairhaven as well as Bellingham made it well worth it. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean and lovely and I enjoyed my time there as a getaway.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieOSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

My sister and I spent two nights, they were very kind to us even though we were travelling with a young child, who was not on best behaviour. Rooms were impeccably clean. No bad smells or "air freshener" types of smells.The bath was amazing (huge and relaxing) The surroundings were tranquil and we all had a great sleep. The rooms were nicely decorated. The trains aren't that bad, and there are ear plugs after all. Breakfast was much nicer than expected included eggs, sausage,breads a good fruit salad etc. Great location very walkable. Overall a very relaxing trip, looking forward to staying again. I think the price is good, after all, you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#9 of 26 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#5 of 26 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
4.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
4.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#6 of 26 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Property: The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Address: 804 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Chrysalis Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
Chrysalis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing