We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Maybe my favorite hotel ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Ranked #15 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Maybe my favorite hotel ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

My husband and I have traveled to many resort hotels for business and personal trips all over the US (including Hawaii), and the deluxe corner suite at this hotel was one of our all time favorite rooms. It was beautifully decorated and luxurious. As others have described, the view of the bay is wonderful and can be seen from the side via the living/dining room, from the bedroom (with window seat/daybed), and from the two-person jacuzzi. The shower is built for 2 with a shower head on opposite sides, and the bathroom and shower are beautiful granite/granite-look tiles. The train noise is hardly noticeable if you travel with a small, easily portable sound machine as we do, since you never know if there will be people or events that may be noisy no matter where you stay. Not only was the breakfast wonderful, but we ate dinner at the in-house restaurant, Fino, and it was a wonderful gourmet delight with a gorgeous view. All the staff, including servers, that we came in contact with were delightful. We moved to another location in Bellingham after staying here, and we truly wished we had not made plans to stay at a different hotel. As far as I could tell, there is no equal to this hotel in the area. Take a sound machine with you and have a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: Corner suites have a beautiful bay view from every window, including the side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaylyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    106
    38
    15
    21
See reviews for
44
200
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed here on our 20th wedding anniversary. The room was huge! Big king bed. Bathroom was enormous with glass-enclosed shower and soaking tub for 2. Plus gas fireplace on a timer. The room came with breakfast buffet which was delightful. I particularly liked the fig preserves. 2 negatives: 1) the bath products were chargeable items (I would be tempted to purchase if I could try a sample) and 2) although the rooms have a spectacular water view, the train tracks are right below the windows and the trains rumble through regularly-day AND night. Those little yellow things on the pillow weren't mints...they were earplugs!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeandjaykland_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

My wife and I try to stay here at least once a year. Large rooms, great tubs in the rooms, fireplaces, and with great views of the bay. The add-on breakfast is a good option as well. Although there are a few great places for breakfast in Fairhaven. There is a bit of train noise with the tracks running between the hotel and the bay, but that does not take away from the setting. There is easy access right out the door to a great walking trail along the bay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank grubaluks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

A gorgeous spot in the village of Fairhaven with uninterrupted views of the bay and that glorious sky. We stayed for a few days during late summer / early fall, and enjoyed the luxury. So much so we bought a new bed and comforter when we got home! Wisteria drapes beautifully over the outdoor terrace and you can sit and share a jug of sangria and dream. Food was fabulous - no complaints. It took the strain out of a busy schedule visiting the north-west.

Room Tip: Bay view is a must, but a warning that trains rumble by occasionally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Floweressence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed at the Chrysalis for a wedding recently and not only was it beautiful, picturesque and perfect for a wedding, it was a great place for my boyfriend and me to relax and take a break from the every day hustle and bustle. Their $5 inclusive breakfast is a great option and although I didn't try the spa, it received great reviews from our hair and makeup artist as well as most other hotel guests. I would go back, for sure!

Room Tip: As for the
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel007_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
121 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We found the Chrysalis while on a wonderful walk along the jetty/walking path in the Fairhaven section of Bellingham. What a great place to walk! And as we looked up onto the hill side we saw the lovely terraces of the Chrysalis. After being welcomed by the desk staff, and being shown an available room, we immediately booked a night. Then we strolled out onto the terrace of the Fino Wine Bar/Restaurant for one of the loveliest lunches ever. The day was gorgeous, the terrace was beautifully landscaped, and the food absolutely fascinating. The wait staff was so informed and interested in the foods and wines. We ordered a medley of small plates with accompanying wines and thoroughly enjoyed our lunch on the shaded deck over looking Bellingham Bay.
The hotel rooms are modern, spotless, Scandinavian design, and complete with fireplace, flat screen, and window seat for water viewing and a cozy place to read. The bathroom was a work of art, complete with a soaking tub for two which opened onto (or could be closed off) the sleeping room. The complimentary breakfast buffet in Fino was remarkable – eggs, cereals, sausage/bacon, homemade breads, fruits, yogurts, and the usual beverages were served in the sunlit room by an attentive staff, newspapers provided, as were binoculars to further enjoy the Bay view.
I have read the other reviews which mention the train noise. Actually we found it romantic and not intrusive, and we were on the Bay side right nearest the tracks. It was a small thing compared to the incomparable views we enjoyed. While we did not have time for a spa treatment, the service menu appeared very expansive, and the prices looked comparable to those of other first class resort spas.
We returned to Fino for another meal, dinner this time, and again enjoyed our experience very much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denverrjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

My husband and I spent three nights at the Chrysalis and absolutely loved it. The room was one of the best we have ever seen - large suite with beautiful views of the bay and mountains. Flat panels in both the living room and bedroom but the sights out the windows are better than anything being broadcast. There is a window seat in the living room large enough to serve as a twin bed. I had a little trouble with the train noise the first night but when we closed the windows, it wasn't bad. Waking up in the morning to watch the huge ferry crossing the bay was fabulous. We tested everything - the spa, the restaurant, the outdoor seating and have no complaints about anything.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
Hotel Bellwether
Hotel Bellwether
#10 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
4.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
4.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Chrysalis Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chrysalis Inn & Spa

Property: The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
Address: 804 10th St, Bellingham, WA 98225-6245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Business Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Chrysalis Inn & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chrysalis is a beautifully designed, award winning hotel and spa in a stunning waterfront setting. Luxurious guestrooms and suites offer comfortable hospitality with luxurious amenities, designed to enable guests to work or unwind with every comfort and convenience. Cuddle up in a bay view room or suite with cozy window seats, fireplaces and double soaking or whirlpool tubs. Watch the sunset from our restaurant and wine bar, or stroll the boardwalk over the water. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Chrysalis Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chrysalis Hotel Bellingham
The Chrysalis Inn And Spa
Chrysalis Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing