We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Friendly and great food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Asian 1

Asian 1
Ranked #35 of 432 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Casual Dining.
Yukon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Friendly and great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We were lucky enough to get lost and found this gem. Delicious Pad Thai and the prices were much less then we were used to.
Very busy staff were friendly once we got their attention. Ryan's favorite beer recommendation was great too. Even when it was full off customers and busy staff it was still quiet enough to hear a conversation. We went back for lunch the next day and had another good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank crackermonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    38
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good place to go after Costco”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

If you're looking for a great menu with reasonable prices I recommend Asian 1. My wife and I have been there a few times and find it convenient with lots of parking. They have a good drink menu and great Thai food.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrightSided
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
remote,OR
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“excellent food and take away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

I ordered take away from the hostess right as I walk to the restaurant. I went because the pho restaurant next door how ready closed for the evening. The food was excellent I ordered two dishes. One was a Vietnamese grilled chicken salad. The other was a grilled beef dish on brown rice with vegetables. Both were packed well so that I can take them home easily. As needed I was given an extra bowl. This fall is often missing from these kinds of meals where the assumption is you taking it home and you have a bowl that you can mix the ingredients it since the roles that the ingredients they give you come in are too small to permit any mixing. This of course would work if you're taking meals home and you own some bowls. but it doesn't work when you're in a hotel. The restaurant was completely accommodating of this fact. The foods tasted excellent. I go back happily the next time I'm in Bellingham. The cost is low.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank mooseremote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Continues to impress”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

This was our 4th visit to Asian 1, an we continue to be impressed by the fast and attentive service, the healthfulness of the food, and the overall value. This time we made an effort to order different items. we enjoyed our usual tom kah soup which still tastes home-made, not at all mass-produced. I got the steamed veggies in peanut sauce at heat level 1 (on a range from 0 - 4). Sauce was a bit too sweet for my liking; spice level 2 would have probably been a more balanced flavour. My husband also ordered sides of veggie spring rolls and fries. The spring rolls were tasty, crispy on the outside, and not too greasy.We got chicken fingers and fries for our 3 y.o. Our tab came to about $40 which is great value.

We used to regularly go to one of the Mexican joints in Bellingham, but now we go here.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Pad Se-iew, Sushi, and Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I have to say this is the best service in town. Definitely a breath of fresh air in a town where arrogant hipters with handlebar mustaches pass as servers. In combination with the awesome food and the reasonable prices, Asian 1 is my top recommendation for food and drinks in Bellingham!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asian 1 also viewed

 

Been to Asian 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing