We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Bellingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Bellingham
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Custer WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for one night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

But no more than that.

Basic accommodation. That's not necessarily a bad thing - thankfully this is still an old and crappy Motel 6 with carpeting on the floor and a real table and real chairs that are actually comfortable to sit in and a dresser and a luggage rack, and not one of their shiny new and improved locations with terrible (and hardly any) furniture.

Positives: it was clean.

Negatives: No fridge, No microwave. Wifi $3.25 a day.

And to all the reviewers who suggest rooms on the side of the motel away from the freeway: it's a nice idea, and it will help some, but it won't help enough.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oldretiredguy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    9
    20
    7
    8
See reviews for
14
11
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Cartersville, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Well, it was a Motel 6 and not the Hilton so why complain? In agreement with my fellow Reviewers it's not to brag about. The rates are reasonable particularly for the area. I will say both day and night shift staff were very attentive but the facility has little to offer. If possible DO NOT stay in a room on the Interstate side of the hotel. The 24 hour traffic noise was like placing a cot in the center of the Holland Tunnel! The room was clean, the pillows provide so-so and amenities were scarce. There are a few eateries and plenty of fast food joints within walking distance. The location is quite easily accessible from I-5 and that's about it. It does have a small pool but it was closed for the season during my visit. Looking for economy and a place to sleep for the night? Well, here ya go! Be safe out there and drive with courtesy, Rand

Room Tip: Book a room on the west side and avoid the Interstate noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Its nothing special but a place to spend the night.
Same everything, clean and on the economy side.
Its quite loud next to I-5 from all the traffic, as walls are very thin, so asked to be put on the non I-5 side.
Pool is clean, possibly the best thing about the place.
Morning coffee in tiny little cups, guess they don't want you to over do the caffeine, plain coffee.
Didn't expect anything more, so was not surprised.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonySeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed here for one night in August 2011 (sorry for the delay, we have been travelling ever since) and it was fine - clean, simple, good-sized room, nice pool, laundry facilities, cheap wifi. There are a few places to eat at the mall over the road. There was a bit of noise from the highway right next door. We had to get a taxi from the train station, and back to the port, but it was not very far and did not cost much. Staff at reception were friendly and efficient, and there was free coffee available in the morning!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TalbotTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a well run, clean motel offering no frills rooms. The staff were efficient and pleasant. Pets are allowed for free. Minor complaints were cigarette holes in the old blankets in a non-smoking room and the extra charge for wi-fi.

Room Tip: Choose rooms away from the I-5
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Still one of the most inexpensive of the chains, this Motel 6 was considerably less than the other nearby motels, especially given that it was a holiday week end. Our first room, labeled "non-smoking," (our choice) smelled of cigarettes, but we were able to change to another room, since we had checked in early. (As is becoming more common, check-in time is 4 PM, necessitating a bit of delay for us.) The motel staff was cheerful, accommodating and knowledgeable. The rooms are dated, but have been refurbished, and are very clean. Pets are allowed -- beware those with allergies. Also, many smokers light up right outside their doorways. The motel is immediately adjacent to busy I-5, so there is considerable traffic noise outside, but there was adequate soundproofing in our room, even without the room air conditioner. What was most pleasantly surprising was the outdoor swimming pool, which was heated to about 88-90 degrees. We were told that the pool is only available seasonally, however. You are within easy walking distance to a Mexican restaurant (fair), Wendy's and McDonalds. Breakfast is available only at the latter. One small annoyance was the charge for WiFi ($3.50/day); it is free at McDonalds and at the nearby Haggan supermarket. We have stayed here before and would do so again, given its reasonable cost and location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank retiredtraveler142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
221 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Group of stayed here on the first day of our six day motorcycle tour of the Pacific Northwest. Unfortunately, no one was impressed with the simply furnished property and most felt that it did not provide good value as compared to other properties we stayed at during our tour. The better eateries in Bellingham are not close to this property, also the directions given by the front desk staff to the better eateries were poor. However, it's location is conveniently located off of I-5. However, based upon the choices in Bellingham, we would possibly consider staying here again but would definitely shop a bit more first.

Room Tip: Shop for other options before making reservations here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaPheonix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#18 of 28 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
3.4 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
4.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
3.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Bellingham

Property: Motel 6 Bellingham
Address: 3701 Byron Street, I-5 at Exit 252, Bellingham, WA 98225
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Bellingham 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Bellingham WA is located 133 miles from Whistler-Blackcomb BC, site of the February 2010 Winter Olympics and Para-Olympics. Restaurants are nearby. Enjoy our seasonal heated outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all modern guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Motel-6, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Motel 6 Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Motel Six Bellingham
Bellingham Motel Six
Bellingham Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing