We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

This was my first trip to Bellingham and my stomach recommended me to stay at the Hotel Bellwether. And he was right! The location, the wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, the charm of the rooms and the public areas made me feel home from the very first moment. My encounters with the staff were rewarding and the meals superb. The Bellwether Hotel, greatly run by Michael Herzog and his team, was my castle for a few days and surely will see me again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gugliermo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelbellwether, Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
Thank You for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to accommodating you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    114
    30
    19
    23
See reviews for
59
205
7
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sulzburg
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2010

very nice hotel. located directly at the bellingham bay. georgeous sundowners. excellent , professionel and very friendly staff which try to make all your wishes to come true!!! perfectly located to start outdoor trips and trips to vancouver!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wald2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

My husband and I live in Vancouver BC and were flying out of the Bellingham airport very early one morning. So we decided we would get across the border the night before and stay near the Bellingham airport. I remembered a friend of mine had done the same and had highly recommended The Hotel Bellwether so we thought we would give it a try.

So I went online and booked The Hotel Bellwether Stay and Dine Package via their internet site. The online reservation process went well but the site did not ask me what time we wanted dinner so I had to call the hotel and make a dinner reservation when I finished making the online hotel reservation.

The directions to the hotel from the website were very precise and we easily found the beautiful resort which was located right on the shores of Bellingham Bay. There was no parking signage so we just parked in the first spot we found. The entrance into the hotel was via one automatic sliding door but at the top of the stairs there was a second door which was manual and very difficult to open with luggage. The front desk staff was very friendly and personable but we had to ask about parking and no one asked us if we wanted help with our luggage.

The room was very nice and had a beautiful view of the water. The room was well contained but we brought a bottle of wine with us to drink and as there was no wine opener in the room my husband had to go down to the front desk to get one.

We then went to the lounge for the Happy Hour and had a wonderful time. We had a table directly by the window and watched an amazing storm roll in off the water. The service was excellent even though it was quite busy and the drinks and appies were half price. The fried oysters and the mochitinis were so good we ordered seconds. The only negative were the coconut prawns were on skewers and although tasty were a little overdone and were virtually impossible to get off the skewers so you ended up with wood splinters in your mouth.

Then we went into the dining room for our dinner reservation. It was a beautiful setting, with a gorgeous view of the water however it was quite large and at 7 pm there was only one other couple in the entire restaurant so it was kind of uncomfortable.

The dinner that came with the Stay and Dine package included an appie choice by the chef, a choice from four dinner entrées and a dessert. Unfortunately, the appie choice was the coconut prawns that we previously had in the lounge and were not that impressed with the first time. We also ordered a bowl of the coconut curry seafood soup that my friend had highly recommended. She was right...it was chocked full of seafood and was quite tasty. We both then ordered the peppercorn rib eye steaks and were extremely disappointed. The steaks were quite big but very thin, overdone and not at all tender. We both only ate part of our steaks. The dessert was very good...it was a chocolate fallen cake which was very warm and yummy. The service was excellent but overall the food in the restaurant was mediocre.

We then went back to our room to return for the night. The guide on the TV showed countless channels but in many cases when my husband selected a channel he got the message "this channel is not available". My husband then phoned down to the front desk to ask about movies and he was told that they did not have any on-demand movies...only HBO.

In addition, one of the phones in our room did not work and you could not see the time on the clock radio from the other side of the bed.

Bottom line...it is a beautiful resort, in an amazing setting, with excellent service but could be a gold mine if management paid attention to the small details!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawn0108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

Had to take advantage of the dollar on a little shopping trip down to Washington and booked the Hotel Bellwether after hearing about it from a friend. Both Bellingham and the Hotel were much more than we'd expected.

Our room looked out over the gorgeous Bellingham Bay and was very comfortable. We had a great dinner at the Harborside Bistro overlooking all the boats in the marina. Made us wish one of them was ours!

Got a chance to walk around downtown Bellingham and Fairhaven a bit. So charming! We'll definitely return to explore further... and maybe make friends with one of those boat owners!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westcoastgirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

Fantastic stay
staff was nice and the food for room service was well presented
awsome I have gone back every year for the past 5 years

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrHibbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2010

I would rather sleep in a dumpster then stay here again. I order breakfast (omlete) in the restaraunt and when they bring my meal I ask "do I get toast with this?" they're response was "yes but you have to make it yourself over at the continental breakfast bar". Two of my clients had to cancel through no fault of there own but "I" was charged full rate for rate for their rooms. They said they could have resold them; the hotel was at less then 20% capacity. DO NOT STAY THERE. Check the local garbage dump for better accomodations.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2010

Upon arriving at the Hotel Bellwether I did not know what to expect after reading all the bad reviews. The check in was very quick which was nice, but it was only quick due to the fact the the young girl behind the desk didn't go over anything with me. She basically said sign this and give me the room keys. I mean I had to ask her where the parking and room she assigned is located. Once in the room we found a beautiful view of Bellingham bay, and the harbor. The rooms are pretty nice but not as nice as you would think for 200+ a night, not even a flat screen, bummer.. Overall the stay was enjoyable we liked the room and the view just topped it off for us. Other then check-in we did run in to a few other problems; the room keys didn't work on the second day of our stay (the girl that checked us in didn't realize we were staying for two nights. So the card was not set up to work the second day), the beds were a little worn, we found ourself rolling into the center of the bed in the middle of the night, and lastly the service during the breakfast was awful! NOT only where they not helpful they rushed people out of the place once it was 950 even though they close it down at 10. I am young and work in the food industry and customer service so I understand that they need to close down but these people are just RUDE! So a work of advice when at the Hotel Bellwether go down to breakfast as early as you can!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilla728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 437 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#14 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 353 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Bellingham
SpringHill Suites Bellingham
#3 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Property: Hotel Bellwether
Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-2954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing