We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To pricey for what you get”
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 1, 2014

The hotel and area is in a beautiful area. The hotel is very nice pending where your room is. We paid $250.00 plus tax and we're put on the 3rd floor by the elevator, facing the parking lot. For that kind of money you'd hope for better then that. The idea of staying at this resort is to enjoy the views! The parking lot view can be found at half the price in Bellingham. We stay in Bellingham a lot and this turned out to be very disappointing considering we were so exited to stay at the bellwether.

Room Tip: Do not let them put you on the parking lot
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Atti2d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

To Gary H,

Thank you for expressing your concerns with your most recent stay. Our property offers two different views; Bellingham Bay or Tom Glenn Plaza. I took a look at your reservation and you had booked our last room available only a few days prior to arrival, which was in fact a Studio Plaza. Two things I’d like to point out: 1) The view is in the name, you reserved a Plaza room, and 2) Last room available dictates the price - as our occupancy increases, so does the rate. We always encourage our patrons to book a room facing water –especially our leisure travelers – which is typically only $30 more. We have the Plaza rooms available for those travelers who are looking for a more economical choice, but wish to enjoy all of our luxurious amenities. In your case, you were the last room booked, so you did not have the option of booking on the water. For your next stay, I definitely encourage you to book early. This will help you secure the room type you desire, with the view that you want, at a price that might be closer to what you were expecting to pay. Our website is also a great way to view our latest promotional rates. You can also contact me directly and I will make sure you are put in the best available room at the best available rate.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (462)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Bellwether
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 462 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I spent the night in the Owner's Suite at this lovely hotel last night. The room was casually comfortable, with a gas fireplace, huge soaking tub (which we didn't use) and a small balcony looking out at the marina. The bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever slept on, and the hotel itself was quiet at night, making for a great night's sleep.

Our experience with customer service upon checking in was pleasant. The underground parking is a nice ammenity. We will be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: The Owner's Suite (#201) has a nice little balcony overlooking the marina. Nice place to sip th...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

To Sherry T,

Thank you for taking the time to write us this outstanding review! I am glad you enjoyed your stay in our one-of-a-kind Signature Suite, the Owner's Suite. Hopefully on your next visit, you can try another Signature Suite, such as the Lighthouse Suite or the Bellwether Suite. Thank you so much for this glowing recommendation. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff at 360.392.3100 or toll free at 1.877.411.1200, in order to book your next stay; or check out our website for our most recent packages and promotions.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the holidays. They had beautiful themed Christmas trees everywhere you looked. Our room was very large and clean with a fireplace.
The rooms are dated, however, we enjoyed our large room overlooking the water.
The service in the lounge area was very slow....only one person and all the tables were full.
There are 3 or 4 restaurants located on the same property, so that would be very convenient.
We did not try them but they looked busy. All in all, nice hotel. Just very slow service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

To DJMP,

Thank you for taking a moment to write us this review. Your comments regarding the service in the Lighthouse Bar and Grill have been forwarded to the appropriate department heads. You'll be glad to know that we are currently just getting started on renovating all of our guest rooms, so I hope you will come visit us again in the future. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff to book your next reservation, at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200. You can also browse our website for our latest packages and promotions.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were charged $400 for one night - and didn't get to stay at the hotel. Our reservation was cancelled online, and we thought we had cancelled successfully. The confirmation said, "You are within our policy timeframe" so we assumed the cancel had occurred. Their policy is that the room must be cancelled 3+ days in advance, & altho we cancelled within 24 hours, we had made the original reservation 3 days ahead. They are thus able to charge the confirmed cancellation customer, and accept another customer asking for the room - because they know customer 1 won't be showing up. The staff insists they are a small business and must charge us anyway. The cancellation occurred in November, and we weren't billed until after Christmas, when we certainly weren't expecting it. We can't recommend this hotel at all. Beware!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dottie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

To Dottie N,

I do apologize if our cancellation policy wasn't clear upon your booking, but reservations made within 3 days of arrival are guaranteed and cannot be cancelled due to our 72 hour cancellation policy. If you would like to discuss this matter more in order to find a solution to your concerns, the General Manager of the hotel can be reached at 360.392.3033 or toll free at 1.877.411.1200, ask for Jim Haupt. Our goal is to welcome you back so that you and your husband can have the unique and luxurious experience that we strive to provide to all of our guests, please contact myself directly at the number below to book.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I are moving to the Bellingham area and decided to stay at the Bellwether while searching for a house We were not dissappointed! The hotel was excellent and the staff very friendly during our stay. We were fortunate enough to get a well appointed room overlooking the bay. We enjoyed the view, jetted tub, fire place and king sized bed. We didn't eat at the restuarant during our stay, but have heard wonderful things about the food and view. Be sure to stay at the Bellwether on your next stay in Bellingham!

Room Tip: Ask about upgrading your room to one with a king size bed, jetted tub and fire place.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamTK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

To TeamTK12,

Thank you taking the time out of your day to write us this amazing review! We strive to provide unique experiences to all of our guests and I am glad you had a great stay. Thank you for the glowing recommendation and I hope we can welcome you back for a special occasion in future. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff to make your next booking at 360.392.3100 or toll free at 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have traveled extensively and enjoy fine hotels. The Hotel Bellwether is one of the very best. The rooms are exceptional, the staff is most accommodating, the restaurant is very good with appropriate pricing. The views are most enjoyable. If you miss your family dog, they even have one named Biscuit you can take for a walk. We have a favorite room we ask for each time we visit. If you have a family member attending Western Washington University you even get a special rate.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor with a larger patio.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

To Ken933,

Thank you for writing us this fantastic review! Biscuit (the dog) is one of the newest additions to our team and she is THE BEST greeter in town. She is the sweetest dog I have ever encountered and loves the attention from all of our guests. For those that don't know, the Western Washington University rate is not available anywhere online, and can only be secured if you call us directly. Please contact myself or the front desk staff at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200 to book so we can make sure to put you in your favorite room at the WWU rate.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

With the marina and an old industrial area on the other, hotel Bellwether is an excellent option for a night or two. Ask for a ground floor room with a view of the marina (view costs a few more dollars). Room 15, 17, 19 and 21 have huge patios. Nice fireplaces, fancy bathrooms with jetted tubs and great king size beds. Restaurant and lounge looked nice. One caution. The exercise room consists of one treadmill and one bike and some weights. It's in a separate building, surrounded by small businesses & shops. Not an attractive option at all. But the area offers lots of paths for walking, running or cycling.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Foodtwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

To Foodtwosome,

Thank you for your kind words and candid comments. I hope we can welcome you back for a future visit. For those that need more equipment for their work outs, we do offer day passes to Bellingham Athletic Club for just $15. They have a plethora of different machines, a hot tub, and a pool. Our first floor patios are great, very spacious and great for those that bring their dogs. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff for your next booking. We can be reached at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.0 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 27 in Bellingham
390 reviews
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#5 of 27 in Bellingham
508 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Heritage Inn
Best Western Heritage Inn
#7 of 27 in Bellingham
958 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
523 reviews
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-2954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range: $194 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing