We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Bellwether
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bellingham Airport(Bellingham)(Great Value!)
$122
$70
Groupon.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $78/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$84
$76
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham(Bellingham)(Great Value!)
$117
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$67
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Heritage Inn(Bellingham)(Great Value!)
$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Bellingham(Bellingham)(Great Value!)
$85
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham(Bellingham)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Baymont by Wyndham Bellingham(Bellingham)(Great Value!)
$87
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairhaven Village Inn(Bellingham)
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveler rating
272
137
36
24
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
272
137
36
24
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbellingham baylighthouse suitelighthouse barjetted tubwater viewexecutive plazagas fireplacewater fronthotel restaurantsan juan islandsking size bedseparate showersmall balconyunderground parkingromantic weekendpuget soundbeautiful room
Filter
Updating list...
281 - 286 of 493 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during the holidays. They had beautiful themed Christmas trees everywhere you looked. Our room was very large and clean with a fireplace.
The rooms are dated, however, we enjoyed our large room overlooking the water.
The service in the lounge area was very slow....only one person and all the tables were full.
There are 3 or 4 restaurants located on the same property, so that would be very convenient.
We did not try them but they looked busy. All in all, nice hotel. Just very slow service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2014

To DJMP,

Thank you for taking a moment to write us this review. Your comments regarding the service in the Lighthouse Bar and Grill have been forwarded to the appropriate department heads. You'll be glad to know that we are currently just getting started on renovating all of our guest rooms, so I hope you will come visit us again in the future. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff to book your next reservation, at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200. You can also browse our website for our latest packages and promotions.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were charged $400 for one night - and didn't get to stay at the hotel. Our reservation was cancelled online, and we thought we had cancelled successfully. The confirmation said, "You are within our policy timeframe" so we assumed the cancel had occurred. Their policy is that the room must be cancelled 3+ days in advance, & altho we cancelled within 24 hours, we had made the original reservation 3 days ahead. They are thus able to charge the confirmed cancellation customer, and accept another customer asking for the room - because they know customer 1 won't be showing up. The staff insists they are a small business and must charge us anyway. The cancellation occurred in November, and we weren't billed until after Christmas, when we certainly weren't expecting it. We can't recommend this hotel at all. Beware!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Dottie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded February 4, 2014

To Dottie N,

I do apologize if our cancellation policy wasn't clear upon your booking, but reservations made within 3 days of arrival are guaranteed and cannot be cancelled due to our 72 hour cancellation policy. If you would like to discuss this matter more in order to find a solution to your concerns, the General Manager of the hotel can be reached at 360.392.3033 or toll free at 1.877.411.1200, ask for Jim Haupt. Our goal is to welcome you back so that you and your husband can have the unique and luxurious experience that we strive to provide to all of our guests, please contact myself directly at the number below to book.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

My husband and I are moving to the Bellingham area and decided to stay at the Bellwether while searching for a house We were not dissappointed! The hotel was excellent and the staff very friendly during our stay. We were fortunate enough to get a well appointed room overlooking the bay. We enjoyed the view, jetted tub, fire place and king sized bed. We didn't eat at the restuarant during our stay, but have heard wonderful things about the food and view. Be sure to stay at the Bellwether on your next stay in Bellingham!

Room Tip: Ask about upgrading your room to one with a king size bed, jetted tub and fire place.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeamTK12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

To TeamTK12,

Thank you taking the time out of your day to write us this amazing review! We strive to provide unique experiences to all of our guests and I am glad you had a great stay. Thank you for the glowing recommendation and I hope we can welcome you back for a special occasion in future. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff to make your next booking at 360.392.3100 or toll free at 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We have traveled extensively and enjoy fine hotels. The Hotel Bellwether is one of the very best. The rooms are exceptional, the staff is most accommodating, the restaurant is very good with appropriate pricing. The views are most enjoyable. If you miss your family dog, they even have one named Biscuit you can take for a walk. We have a favorite room we ask for each time we visit. If you have a family member attending Western Washington University you even get a special rate.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor with a larger patio.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ken933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

To Ken933,

Thank you for writing us this fantastic review! Biscuit (the dog) is one of the newest additions to our team and she is THE BEST greeter in town. She is the sweetest dog I have ever encountered and loves the attention from all of our guests. For those that don't know, the Western Washington University rate is not available anywhere online, and can only be secured if you call us directly. Please contact myself or the front desk staff at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200 to book so we can make sure to put you in your favorite room at the WWU rate.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

With the marina and an old industrial area on the other, hotel Bellwether is an excellent option for a night or two. Ask for a ground floor room with a view of the marina (view costs a few more dollars). Room 15, 17, 19 and 21 have huge patios. Nice fireplaces, fancy bathrooms with jetted tubs and great king size beds. Restaurant and lounge looked nice. One caution. The exercise room consists of one treadmill and one bike and some weights. It's in a separate building, surrounded by small businesses & shops. Not an attractive option at all. But the area offers lots of paths for walking, running or cycling.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Foodtwosome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

To Foodtwosome,

Thank you for your kind words and candid comments. I hope we can welcome you back for a future visit. For those that need more equipment for their work outs, we do offer day passes to Bellingham Athletic Club for just $15. They have a plethora of different machines, a hot tub, and a pool. Our first floor patios are great, very spacious and great for those that bring their dogs. Please contact myself or our friendly front desk staff for your next booking. We can be reached at 360.392.3100 or 1.877.411.1200.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews