We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bellwether to your Saves list
Hotel Bellwether
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 27 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Gorgeous view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a four night stay. Well appointed room and worth the upgrade for water view. Sitting out on the patio and enjoying the sunset (and band on Thursday night) was a treat. Great area for walking along the harbor. Bar was average -- saved by the view. Staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CK_Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
To CK_Kate,

Thank you for writing us this fantastic review! I love the picture that you took! Our views are unbeatable, and definitely worth the small extra cost. With summer coming to a close, I am pleased that you enjoyed our Thursday event, "Blues, Brews, and BBQ" since we will only be having a couple more of them before it gets too cold and rainy. We will be having other events too so if you are planning on visiting us again, please contact me directly. I will book you in a great room at a special price.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Stanwood, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Ohhhh, what a pure joy it is to spend time at this enchanted hotel where customer service is absolutely their first and foremost job!!! Each Thursday from 4:30 - 8:30 (get there early if you want the best seats) these amazing people have "brews and blues" where they bring in amazingly fantastic talent and they set up comfy sofas, tables and stuffed chairs along with the other outside furniture and set up this stage and food/beverage tables on their balcony, over looking Bellingham Bay and the marina........and every Thursday afternoon, there are sailboat races, which act as back drop to the great line of entertainers, areas for dancing and covered/uncovered areas to take in this amazing combination spearheaded by Jim and his outstanding staff at the Hotel Bellwether. The hotel, itself, is a jewel reminiscent of the charms from European hotels of the past. Outstanding service, elegance, amazingly appointed luxury rooms designed to spoil each guest and lull the guests into deluxe relaxation with oversized jetted tubs, huge showers, to-die-for king deluxe mattresses, comfy reading area with a romantic fireplace.....and top all this off with a VIEW THAT CANNOT BE TOPPED--OVERLOOKING BELLINGHAM BAY, THE MARINA, FANTASTIC SUNSETS.......IT DOES NOT GET ANY BETTER THAN THIS!!!!! We have had the honor of staying at the Hotel Bellwether numerous times for special romantic events....AND WE WILL NEVER STAY AT ANOTHER HOTEL FOR A SPECIAL EVENT AGAIN!!! Jim and each one of his staff make it their personal goal to make each and every person staying at the hotel...or visiting their multi-star Lighthouse Restaurant and Bar or the cozy lounge.....feel like a king or queen!!!!!!! They will do everything they can to make your stay absolutely perfect and memorable!!!! And these events on Thursdays run through Sept 26th.....so PLEASSEEEEEE, DO YOURSELF A WONDERFUL FAVOR AND GET SPOILED ON THE BALCONY, LISTENING TO GREAT MUSIC, WINING AND DINING AND DANCING WITH THE BACKDROP OF BEAUTIFUL BELLINGHAM BAY---A TRULY WINNING COMBINATION!!!!!!! You will NOT be disappointed!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room on the water side...and the higher up you go, the better overview of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Mr & Mrs O, thank you for your kind words. It always a pleasure to serve you, and on behalf of the the entire Hotel Bellwether staff we look forward to your return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

It's a wonderful hotel and staff...Read the review of missing Ipad and Iphone and didn't quite understand how it could not be located...both have the gps trackers in them...you can easily locate either item...have only the highest compliments for the staff..

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank xenacsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
To xenacsmith,

Thank you for taking a moment to share your thoughts on our property and staff. We try our best to provide excellent customer service and it seems you received that when you stayed. We would love to welcome you back! Please call me directly and I will make sure you are getting the best available rate for the best available room.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I have eaten there twice now and both times the Eggs Benedict was fantastic and frankly in-expensive. Those with me had the ham omelette and the Dungeness omelette, and everyone throughly enjoyed their breakfast. Great atmosphere over looking the harbor and watching boats in the morning. The service is friendly and prompt. I stay with my sister but will always have at least one breakfast at the Bellwether when visiting Bellingham, WA.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
To Brad F,

Thank you for reviewing our in house restaurant, the Lighthouse Bar & Grill. Those two items you mentioned are definitely crowd favorites. I'm glad we can welcome you back to eat time and time again. We are looking forward to your next visit!

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our family's second stay at the Bellwether, and, once again, it was a thoroughly enjoyable experience. There was a mix up with our reservation and we ended up being booked in a room that could not accommodate our whole family. The kind, helpful and resourceful front desk staff bent over backwards and found the ideal solution for us, even though it was a busy time for the hotel and they were quite booked up. We couldn't have been more impressed and satisfied with how well we were attended to. The hotel is beautiful! The rooms are spacious, very clean, and have comfortable beds. The restaurants in and around the hotel are wonderful. The location is breathtaking. We highly recommend this great venue and tip our hats, with gratitude, to the gracious and helpful staff. We will most definitely be back!

Room Tip: The entire hotel is very quiet, even the ones next to the elevators (you cannot hear the elevators a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Angiola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
To Angiola D,

Thank you for reviewing your most recent stay at the Hotel Bellwether. I am so glad to learn that my staff was able to make your stay that much more enjoyable! It is reviews like this that make me proud of my team. We constantly strive to go above and beyond for our guests. We would love to welcome you and your family back again. Please give me a call directly and I will make sure you and your family get a great room at a special rate.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This hotel is not especially pricy but it sure delivers on quality, service, and food. Easy access to waterfront path that takes you for miles. I saw a shark in the water. Good access to excellent restaurants also. Food at hotel is also excellent - so is the "vibe". Very relaxed and festive. Good service all around. Very, very comfortable bed. Plan to come back next month for another stay!

Room Tip: Request a room facing the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs. Zebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
To Mrs. Zebra,

Thank you for taking a moment out of your day to write us the fantastic review! I am glad to learn you were pleased with our service and our restaurant. You saw a shark in the water!? There was an article in the Bellingham Herald about this. Sadly, the shark did not survive, he was far from home. Check out this link for more info: http://www.bellinghamherald.com/2013/08/20/3157617/shark-stranded-in-bellinghams.html. If you are planning on coming back to visit us soon, call me directly and I will see if I can get you into a great room at a special price.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I have had the privilege to stay at the Bellwether at least a half dozen times in the last year or so. I've stayed in every room type on both "sides' of the hotel (water view and plaza view). The accommodations are superior. The restaurant and lounge are good values and convenient - and offer live music regularly. In addition to the hotel dining there are at least 3 quality restaurants within an easy walk of the hotel. Sometimes little things create flies in the ointment (like so much frost in the in-room freezer it is unusable); but overall this is probably the best place to stay in Bellingham proper. I highly commend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1Bellwether, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
To ild,

Thank you for writing us this review! It sounds like you visit us often, and we are glad to have you back again and again. We strive to provide consistent quality and I am pleased that we have return visitors such as yourself. Next time you visit, please phone me directly and I will see if we can provide you with a great room at a special discounted price.

Sincerely,
Nicolette Dixon
360.392.3178
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 27 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 388 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#14 of 27 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 319 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 27 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Heritage Inn
2.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#