We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wedding ceremony, reception and accommodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Kenmore, WA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wedding ceremony, reception and accommodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I want to extend a big thank you to Hotel Bellwether's staff for their efforts to help make my son and daughter-in-law's wedding the success it was. On a very busy weekend in Bellingham the rooming coordinator, Erin, managed to find 25 rooms for everyone in the bridal party, family and friends who needed rooms. Working together, she was able to accomodate all my requests to match room types with specific guest needs which was quite an accomplishment.

The front desk staff was friendly, understanding and responsive and tried to get everyone checked in as early as possible on rehearsal and wedding days so the guests could prepare for the different festivities.

The rooms were all very nicely appointed, with very comfortable beds and linens and the bathrooms had nice soft fluffy towels. I heard multiple comments on how beautiful the views were from the waterfront rooms.

All the food - from the restaurant meals, reception dinner and catered breakfast was delicious and beautifully presented.

The event coordinators, Annika, Chris and Hollie, were very attentive and did what they could to assure that things went well, even if it meant having to move our cocktail reception at the last minute inside due to weather conditions.

The banquet captain, Jack, head bartender, Braeden, as well as the set-up and take-down staff were well organized and efficient and did their part to make the wedding ceremony, reception and dinner run smoothly and therefore a fun event.

Room Tip: The Bellwether Suite works wonderfully as a hospitality room. It has a separate bedroom and a large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GammaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    116
    32
    19
    23
See reviews for
59
212
8
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Given the glowing reviews I read about this place, I guess I was expecting a bit more. The hotel itself is very pretty, the rooms are nice and the waterfront location is quiet and scenic. The staff, however, could use a bit more customer service training. With the exception of one front-desk girl, the staff were unhelpful and not particularly friendly. If you ask for assistance/recommendations about things in the area, they are also a bit lacking and not particularly knowledgeable. Our waitress for breakfast in the restaurant was about as charming as a tumbleweed. It's a shame, you'd expect better behavior from the staff.

Keep in mind that you are a long walk from town, so most likely you'll need to drive if you want to head downtown (you could walk, but it's not a particularly nice walk along busy roads). Not necesarily a bad thing, but just something to note. The waterfront area is great, there's a nice running/walking path out front of the hotel that takes you around the marina. This hotel is very focused popular for weddings and other events, so if you're thinking about enjoying the nice patio overlooking the water on a weekend night, there's probably an event happening there. The hotel gym is very small, but it's better than nothing. It happened to be closed the entire weekend we were there.

There are a few restaurants within walking distance, but nothing to rave about--Anthony's chain-style restaurants and an Italian place that looked Holiday Inn-ish. You're better off getting in your car and going into town for a better selection.

There are limited places to stay in the area at this quality level, so I'm not sure what the alternative to this hotel is, but I'd find one if I ever go back to the area. I do commend them on the coffee they have in the lobby, bright and early at 6--can't remember the brand but it was awesome.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CritiquerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jim H, General Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We take your impression of the staff and property very seriously. It was hard to read your review when our recent guest comments have been so glowing, as you noted in your comments. The Hotel Bellwether’s entire team prides themselves in providing exceptional service with a warm-personal touch. Most guests rave about our scenic waterfront location and welcoming staff. We strive to offer excellent service to each guest that we have the privilege to serve in the hotel or restaurant. We are fortunate to offer several well-respected dining venues in our complex, including our own waterfront Ligthhouse Bar & Grill. Your reference to Guiseppe’s didn’t make sense. Mr. Guiseppe has been recognized for his rich European interior design and appealing northern Italian cuisine. Yes, the storefront could be more attractive. Our fitness gym was out of order due to a move to larger location that will open this weekend. Sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you and I hope that when your travels bring you back to Bellingham that you consider joining us again as a guest of the Hotel Bellwether.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

From the first inquiry to the last inquiry we were disappointed with the hotel and staff. We booked a package and it was always unclear as to what exactly was included and I had to phone back to clarify. When we checked in the girls at the front desk informed us that a spa gift card was not include but after we looked again at their website we found that it was included and my wife had to go fight for it. There was to be a round of golf included and even after I phoned 'Erin' back to confirm my tee time, when I arrived at the course they had never heard of me, told me they would never book a single, had women's day on the morning I was supposedly booked and wanted me to pay the golf course directly. I had to sort it out and eventually they got me out on the course an hour late. Never saw my golf welcome gift? There was a series of things like this that made us decide we would never go back. The manager just apologized and made no effort to compensate and in fact I was pretty sure in fact she was not being truthful about the golf booking. Not good. Too bad as there isn't much in Bellingham and this is a nice spot but they need to get their act together.

Room Tip: 213 is a cool room as it is kind of like two rooms really, two full baths, etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alatola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience with us. I deeply regret that your stay was nothing less than perfect. It’s our goal to make each guest’s stay with us relaxing and memorable. This includes providing the proper elements for each unique package we offer. I have personally taken the steps with our participating businesses to make sure that each party is on the same page for benefit of our guest. I have also begun extensive training with the hotel staff regarding package elements and how critical it is to have them ready to go at check-in. I personally take full responsibility that your stay with us was a let down. I would like to offer a special rate on the hotel if you decide to give us another chance. It would be our pleasure to truly impress you with what we can offer at Hotel Bellwether.

Best Regards,
Erin Cross
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Hotel Bellwether by chance. We had reservations at the Best Western Lakeway Inn because they allow pets and we had stayed there before with no problems. However, upon arrival the pet room seemed to have an odor, so we told them we needed something different. The staff was very understanding but they were full, so they sent us across town to a Quality Inn. Big mistake—the desk person there was polite, but the room was worn, carpet stained, furniture old, and the towels thin. It was late and we were tired, so we didn’t try to find something else and went out for a nice dinner in the harbor area. Afterward as we were walking our dog along the marina, we struck up a conversation with other dog owners and discovered that the Hotel Bellwether allows dogs. We walked up to the lobby to inquire about availability, and were greeted by friendly desk personnel. Luckily they had a room with a water view and we moved to this hotel from the other one. Yes, it cost much more. But it was worth it! The room was beautifully decorated, spacious, had a large bathroom, great bed, and a fabulous view of the bay and islands. It didn’t smell like a “pet room” either. It also had secure parking. Next time we’re not going to try to save a buck, we’re going back to the Bellwether. You truly do get what you pay for.

(I have never rated hotels on Trip Advisor before, but I use it all the time. So I’m going to start adding my opinion to this great website.)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ascportland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Our company held a seminar here on Aug 2012. We only have great things to say about the staff of The Bellwether. They were efficient, friendly, accommodating, and very professional. Renee was our event manager and she was very organized, detailed, and made sure everything ran smoothly and went according to plan. She was truly a great pleasure to work with, and the event was a complete success. We would totally do it all over again!!

The location of the hotel is PERFECT. A nice couple, who attended our event, told us they actually arrived by boat from Vancouver Island--about a 3-4hr boat ride!

The room accommodations were sublime!!! The views were to die for. The speaker for our event stayed in a suite and loved the experience so much, he actually changed his travel schedule just so he could extend his stay at the hotel.

No matter what sort of trip you are planning, you are SURE to have a memorable experience at The Bellwether. It is truly a first class hotel and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TUTDOTCOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland,Oregon
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Once again, we relished our 2 night stay at the Bellwether!! There is no place like it. The location is special, near Squalicum Harbor where we moor our sloop, and right on the entrance.
Sit in the bar and watch the yachts come and go and enjoy some terrific appetizers.
And the mojitos are terrific!!i
When the desk found out it was our 34th wedding anniversary, they sneakily upgraded our room the second night to a waterfront room at no extra charge!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FeltGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

This is a 1st class hotel located in Bellingham Bay Harbor. You will not be disappointed in your choice of staying here. On a scale of one to five I would give it a six. Super nice room, great selection of restaurant's, nice views of the marina, harbor and mountains. Only a few minutes from Western Washington University and old town Bellingham. This will be my 1st choice when staying in Bellingham again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PeterTSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
2.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Property: Hotel Bellwether
Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-2954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing