We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best towels ever w/ a view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bellwether

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bellwether
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best towels ever w/ a view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I stayed here while attending our nephew's wedding. We reserved the Owner's suite which was a corner room looking at the water from both sides. A balcony was on the marina side. Large single room with comfortable couches, chairs & king bed. Bathroom w/ shower & seperate jetted tub. Double vanities all fresh & clean. the receptionist did say the towels were new & they were super soft & fluffy. Convienent covered parking. Really a nice upscale hotel. Only downside could be availability - other wedding guest commented that they checked too late & hotel was full. Would love to stay again. Thanks for ur hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank billcrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
The Owner’s Suite is my favorite room at the Hotel. We’re so happy you enjoyed it on such a beautiful weekend. Thank you for commenting on our newly upgraded towels as well! We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Erin Cross
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    116
    32
    19
    23
See reviews for
59
212
8
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We recently celebrated our 2 yr old's B'day at the Compass Room. The staff was very courteous and food was good. It was a fun experience with a great view...everyone loved it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neha I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin C, Front Office Manager at Hotel Bellwether, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
Thank you for your response. The hotel and banquet staff was delighted to host your very special birthday party. Special events like this are very rewarding for the team at Hotel Bellwether.

Erin Cross
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I have stayed at almost of the hotels in the Bellingham area and Hotel Bellwether is the best by far. The staff is excellent and they make me feel at home. The hotel is luxurious with great views of the harbor. I like it so much that I wouldn’t stay at another hotel when travelling to that area of the state. BTW: I am a frequent traveler with over 120 hotel nights in 2011/2012 and this is the only review I took the time to write. If you are coming to the Bellingham area, it’s worth it to stay here. One more thing, they have real German Hefeweizen on tap at the bar – now that’s attention to detail.

Room Tip: Get a room on the harbor side. If you have a pet, you can bring it too, so ask in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Both times I have stayed there I was treated like royalty. Great service and rooms. They even have a putting green outside. The restaurant is good and so is the bar. There are many small touches that make the stay more pleasant, like under ground locked parking area.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the harbor side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rcanaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quesnel, British Columbia, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I have stayed at the Bellwether several times over the past year. During each visit, I have been impressed by the excellent, friendly staff, nicely appointed rooms, comfortable beds and linens, beautiful bathrooms and a view from the balcony that took my breath away, especially at sunset. On long business trips, it's delightful to be called by name by the front desk staff, enjoy the fireplace in my room, strong dark roast in the lobby in the mornings, and good restaurants just steps away. Thanks, Bellwether. I hope to see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marti988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Bellwether for my brother's wedding reception. The hotel is beautiful with views of the harbor. The rooms were amazing and all the staff at the hotel are just absolutely wonderful!!!! The front desk personnel, the cleaning personnel, the restaurant personnel and the event coordinators and staff were just exceptional. They are courteous and willing to help you in any way possible to make your stay a pleasant one.
The staff for the reception from the coordinator to the wait staff were just so helpful and gracious. I just can't say enough and will definitely go there again.

Room Tip: The suite is nice if you need a room with a sofa bed and you want a mini kitchen (no stove). Otherw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShireenH368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

I stay at the Bellwether a few times a year for work. I have always enjoyed my time here as its hard to not enjoy a jetted tub with bubble bath and a view of the fireplace and tv from the water as well as gloriously comfortable beds.
On this stay however I recieved some terrible medical news and realized I'd need a cab to the hospital ASAP. Upon arriving at the desk the entire staff seemed to genuinely care and rally around me before I could even get words out. Upon requesting a taxi, they declined and the hotel manager (maybe CEO) threw his personal keys to Chris (the restaurant manager that I think was in his break) and I was personally driven to the hospital. Chris even stayed with me until he knew I was checked in and well cared for since he knew I was scared and not on my home turf. He left me with his card, the hotel info and his personal cell number so I could call to be picked up when it was over. Turns out in this city with "small town feel" everybody really does look out for one another, and I felt like I had my Bellwether Family in my corner all day especially my new found big brother Chris. He and the staff really went above an beyond the expectations to make sure I was ok and comfortable. This is not service you find just anywhere, I'll be reccommending this hotel before any other when someone is thinking about visiting the NW.
I cannot thank you enough for getting me through my toughest day.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephasizim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.3 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
The Chrysalis Inn & Spa
#15 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 362 reviews
1.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
2.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bellwether? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bellwether

Property: Hotel Bellwether
Address: 1 Bellwether Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-2954
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Family Hotel in Bellingham
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bellwether 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bellwether is Western Washington’s premier upscale waterfront hotel, providing luxurious accommodations, attentive service, and personalized amenities that pamper the leisure traveler, support the corporate traveler, and facilitate hassle-free meetings and outstanding weddings and events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Bellwether reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellwether Hotel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing