We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The Gathering Place of Drunken Louts” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellingham Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bellingham Lodge
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Hilo, Hawaii
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The Gathering Place of Drunken Louts”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2011

After checking in, we drove to the back parking lot and saw a bunch of louts standing around a pickup truck drinking beer. I thought, "This can't be good."
Yep, one of their rooms was around the corner and the other down the hall. Sounded like they were having a party in the hallways, so I phoned the front desk at 10:30 p.m. Within 10 minutes they quieted down, but at 20-minute intervals they resumed until 2:00 a.m.
The second night was peaceful, for the louts checked out that morning.
Once, we passed through the smoking section hallways and were gagged by the fetid odor. In our room, one of the electrical outlets was coming out of the wall.
If you can avoid drunken louts during your stay, I would recommend this hotel because it's cheap and convenient to the I-5. Many good eating establishments nearby. Just remember that with this hotel you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Communer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    11
    17
    14
    23
See reviews for
24
18
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

This is the worst hotel we ever stayed in. The hallways stink of cigarette smoke, the walls are dirty, and the carpet is stained and sticky at places. Several months worth of dirt was visible between the bed and the bedside table. The sheets are so thin and old that they are torn at the corners and don’t hold onto the mattress anymore; you end up sleeping directly on the mattress without the protection (!) of the sheets. That makes it very uncomfortable, disturbing and disgusting! As for the bedcover and the blanket, well I don’t know . . .
The walls are thin, the floors are creaky and, as a result, you hear noise coming from the hallway, the adjacent rooms, and the rooms above, making it for a very noisy experience and an uneasy sleep.
Last but not least, the continental breakfast and the kitchen area!!! The kitchen / dining / lounge areas are so dirty that it puts a damper on your appetite right away. And it’s as well, because, as an other reviewer said, it’s a joke with the stale mini-bagels and cereals offered. The furniture is old and dirty, and you can barely see through the windows. In the food preparation and handling area, you find the milk, orange juice, butter and cream cheese, not far from empty dishes, dirty coffee pots and cleaning products. Brooms, dirty mops and other cleaning devices lay on the kitchen floor along with garbage overflowing from the bin (both in the kitchen and the dining areas). Health Services would have a field-day if they showed up there!
I hope all Travelodges are not the same, but I won’t be the one to find out!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DMEasyTrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BellinghamTravelodge, Owner at Bellingham Lodge, responded to this review, October 7, 2010
I'm sorry our hotel did not meet your expectations. We strive to provide clean, affordable accommodations. Thank you for your feedback. It helps us to improve our hotel. It is true that we do provide smoking rooms. While we try to ensure that guests do not smoke in the hallways or leave their doors open while smoking it may occasionally happen. The conditions you describe regarding the cleanliness of the room and the condition of the bedsheets are certainly not up to our standards. We do steam clean the carpets regularly and continually spot clean tough stains. The housekeepers are instructed to dispose of linen that has worn thin. Regarding the walls being thin and the floors being creaky, the building is nearly 30 years old and it's true in some areas that the floor might squeak. It's also true that if a guest is loud enough you might be able to hear them in another room. On the other hand, our desk staff are trained and effective in responding to noise complaints swiftly, professionally, and assertively. We do clean the breakfast area while serving the food and after it has closed. Some of our windows in that area have accumulated stains between the panes that we are unable to clean. We intend to replace the windows but this will unfortunately have to wait until we have an opportunity to spend some money on renovations. We had been leaning a mop and broom up behind the kitchen counter area, but we agree that this doesn't looks so good and we've removed them. Thanks for pointing this out to us. As for Health Services, we'd be happy to offer any agent a room at our hotel any time. Come on down.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bellingham hotels

Visalia, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

A dump, plain and simple. This is the filthiest hotel I have ever stayed at. The hallways reek of cigarette smoke (even the non-smoking floor). The floor and furniture are dirty and stained. The sheets are old and thin (nearly transparent!). The construction of the hotel was very low-quality, with thin creaky floors and thin walls and doors that let the sound through.
It is clear that the owners have not put any money into the upkeep of this property for many, many years. It was so dirty and unpleasant that we were unable to enjoy our stay. A thoroughly uncomfortable, unhappy experience. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoSeeCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

Im writing from a room at this Travelodge and honestly its not as bad as the other reviews say it is. Im passing through from Alaska to Oregon and needed a place to stay. The room I was given is very clean and in good condition over all. The decor could use updating and the noise from the hall and upstairs guest is noticeable but not unbearable. I wont be staying for the continental breakfast so i cant comment on that but if you need a good budget motel for a night or two you cant go wrong here, lots of place to eat nearby too.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jem417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2010

This place is disgusting! The rooms are simply dirty.

Also the continental breakfast is a joke. Stale muffins and cereal were a real treat in the morning! In addition the kitchen where the breakfast is served is very messy. To put it simply, the continental breakfast would be shut down if the health department made an appearance.

Also make sure you get the top floor, because you will hear every footstep from the person above.

Thanks Travelodge! You’re the worst!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgard7474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

I booked this hotel on line but knew before hand that not to get my hopes up for TRAVELODGE locations, but coming from staying at the Travelodge Seattle University which was superb, I was not too worried. Great location off highway and slightly secluded and near by all types of ethnic restaurants, gas stations, and a variety of shops. As we drove in, the place looked very run down and paint was coming off the walls. Some of the AC systems hanging from the window looked like they went through a dust storm. The clerk was a Korean lady (not being prejudice because I am Asian my self) had horrible people skills, very demanding, maybe she was PMSing. We requested to look at a room as we do w/ many economy hotel chains. As we went in it smelled like mildew mix w/ a hint of crap! Keeping in mind I had ask if the hotel had been recently remodeled and she said YES....may be in '07 when the reviews of this place was reasonable. The carpet was coming off the floor. Paint patches on the wall and the only thing of "DECOR" in the room was the 15" generic flat screen. This room looked like it was rented by the hour, if you know what I mean. Not wanting to get sick we got out of there in a hurry and headed down to the DaysInn hotel, which was a little bit more expesives but great as I am writing the review in their very nice hotel room right now.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank asnpanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2010

I booked this hotel online. I have stayed in Travelodge's many times and have always found them to be perfectly fine for an overnight stay. I assumed (wrongfully) that there is some kind of quality control when it comes to chains such as this.

This motel was in one word GROSS! If it wasn't for the fact that we got in at 1am we would have turned around and walked out. As it was, we never took our shoes off as the carpet was so filthy and the place smelled like dog poop, probably because, as we noticed the next morning as we were running out of the place, there was dog poop in the hallway leading to our room.

There are plenty of places to stay in Bellingham, so my strong suggestion is to stear clear of the Travelodge!!!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LCirimele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Bellingham
Days Inn Bellingham
#19 of 28 in Bellingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.6 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
3.9 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Bellingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
1.9 mi away
Fairhaven Village Inn
Fairhaven Village Inn
#6 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Bellingham
Motel 6 Bellingham
#24 of 28 in Bellingham
3.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellingham Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellingham Lodge

Property: Bellingham Lodge
Address: 101 N Samish Way, Bellingham, WA 98225-6028 (Formerly Travelodge Bellingham)
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bellingham Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bellingham Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing