We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious- many choices- super friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mambo Italiano Cafe

Mambo Italiano Cafe
Ranked #19 of 440 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Restaurant is located in the Fairhaven district/area. Phone is (360) 734-7677
Antibes, France
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious- many choices- super friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Incredible- we cant fault a thing...super friendly and so many great choices- yummy food, good wine, nice bread, pasta, fish, SUPER!! Perfect score! Visited from France and not dissappointed!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodinfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    71
    16
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Okay food, inexpensive and lots of atmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

The staff are young and enthusiastic as is the clientele. Food isn't high end Italian....so don't expect that. My pasta was over cooked and swimming in a sauce that looked and tasted like soup...but it also had more clams than I could count...they were generous with the clams! The wine list is very limited so don't look for a Barolo or Brunello! But what is there is well priced.
(Riserva Ducale for $37 full bottle). My wife had a Margherita pizza that was well presented and tasty but it came with raw tomato's??? Good for a late night snack I think....easy on the budget.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Olliedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouv er
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Worst meal in a long long time”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Fairhaven is a sweet Washington State coastal town and the Mambo Italiano is in an old historic building on 12th Avenue. However the food is dreadful.
My Caesar salad could have been better made with a store-bought dressing, my husband's baked chicken was totally tasteless, we took half of it home for our dog, and the pasta served with it was an overly seasoned oregano thick tomato in a jar style sauce that destroyed any other flavours in the meal.
I do not understand why the restaurant was so busy. There must be many folk out there who enjoy eating lousy poor overly big portions of disgusting and disgraceful meals.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Goldengenius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
276 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
“Tiny Italian Getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

It has been a while since we were in the Fairhaven District in south Bellingham, and our return to this small eatery was as good as ever.

Just standing outside and smelling the delightful aroma of the food cooking inside was intoxicating.

Our pasta with fresh king salmon done piccata style was delicious. The salads were cold, crisp and fresh.

The small area of Fairhaven offers many dining choices; but, we have found this restaurant to be consistently very good!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TraveljohnsonJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“I've already recommended this to my friends”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

At 9 pm there was still a steady string of diners coming into Mambo Italiano. After eating there, we understood why it's such a popular place, and we're so glad that the desk clerk at our motel sent us. Like several other reviewers we especially enjoyed the marvelous bruschetta. Along with very good pollo picata, good veal marsala and a delicious dense chocolate torte, it made for a memorable meal. If we had known how large the portions are, we would have split an entrée, but then we would have missed the leftovers at home the next night. Good food, good service and very reasonable prices

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dragonflyer08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mambo Italiano Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mambo Italiano Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing