We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Bottom of the Hampton Line” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
221 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Bottom of the Hampton Line”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I've been a believer in the Hampton Inn line for a lot of years. (To make yourself a true believer, stay at the wonderful Hampton Inn on Beale Street in Memphis some time.) But this place is near the bottom of the list. The setting is a little dreary, and the property itself is very worn and in need of a major overhaul. It's acceptable, but it certainly won't be my first choice the next time in Bellingham.

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackcatscal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    179
    71
    19
    8
See reviews for
147
159
47
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

We booked into the hotel for New Years Eve arriving to the aroma of home baked chocolate chip cookies served in the lobby area. Our check-in was handled with courtesy and efficiency from the staff. Our room was spacious and clean. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. A shuttle took us back and forth to the Silver Reef Casino running from 6:00 p.m. to ???. Great as we did not have to drink and then drive.... The fan coming on and off in the room during the night was very noisy. The breakfast in the morning had a great variety of food including both hot and cold choices. We will certainly stay there again when we overnight in the area.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friend, Nebraska
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This hotel is an older Hampton property, but it is laid out nicely with a wonderful breakfast offering! The room was larger than most Hampton Inns, was clean and comfortable. We experienced no problems during our stay. We would definitely stay here again when we return to this area!

Room Tip: Great free breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frogpondqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, California
Level Contributor
84 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

Clean, efficient & good value as is the case for most Hampton Inns. Breakfast was available before 4:00am...very nice touch considering some flights lleave BLI at 5:00am

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stempleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

I've stayed here several times. Located about a mile from the airport, so its quite convenient for late night arrivals and/or early flights out. Even if one is doing business or visiting in Bellingham during the day, its relatively easy to get into town - either on the freeway (I-5) or side streets.

I like this property because it tends to be quiet during the week - no partying tourists, young families, or wild stuff. Rooms have always been clean, beds decent, everything works, and staff is nice.

On the downside, there is only one restaurant nearby, Mykonos Greek Restaurant, which has good food and an inexpensive bar. Besides breakfast, there is no food available at the hotel except for a vending machine. Breakfast buffet is not particularly good or interesting; the powered eggs are atrocious and there is fairly limited seating in the dining area (mostly at tables of 4, even though many of the guests are alone).

For some reason, parking is often a challenge at this location, and I've often had to park quite a distance from the front door, then walk through the rain to get into the building.

Service is not terribly professional, but small town nice, and I do think they're trying.

Rooms are usually available for $100 - 130, predictable rooms, and overall decent value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garyho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Stopped there the night before we flew out of the airport. Reception was friendly and fast, the room was quiet and clean, and the breakfast was very convenient. We bought the park and fly package online and it went off without a hitch, them picking us up even when we landed a week later. The manager is young but really friendly and helpful, and seems to have a vision for this older property. I definitely recommend the Hampton Inn Bellingham for anyone going to Belis Fair or the airport

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jkbc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

This is a middle-quality Hampton Inn, where I stayed 2 nites using Hilton Honors points. The driveway at the front door was clogged with men in work clothes smoking and forming an unmovable line. They stared at me as I tried to pull up to check in. Many had sweatshirt hoods up, with their backs turned. I wondered if it was a gang of some kind. I drove around the block trying to decide if it looked safe enough to enter. I was frightened.
The clerk told me (once I managed to edge past this arrival hazard) that the hiring event at the hotel was the likely source of this bottleneck. This turned out to be true. It was not a gang or anything sketchy.
I am glad people are getting work, but on what planet do you stand around blocking the driveway and entrance of hotel as guests pull up? And why wasn't the hotel able to tactfully manage this situation, with smokers, new guests and job applicants all able to use the outdoor area? How hard is that? Was the blocked door invisible from the front desk? Really?

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
1.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 303 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
0.6 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Bellingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
0.7 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport

Property: Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport
Address: 3985 Bennett Dr, Bellingham, WA 98225-1027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#4 Romantic Hotel in Bellingham
#6 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel off Interstate 5 is a 1-mile drive from Bellingham International Airport and a 6.5-mile drive from Whatcom Falls Park. All rooms include free WiFi and custom-designed beds, plus both full and lap desks (for working on the bed), flat-screen TVs with HD channels and coffeemakers. Some come with microwaves, mini refridgerator, pull-out sofas and whirlpool tubs. Amenities include a free on-site hot breakfast (daily) and weekday breakfast bags to go, as well as a fitness center and outdoor pool. There's also free parking, a free airport shuttle, a business center and meeting space for 200 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Bellingham Airport Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Hampton Inn
Bellingham Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing