We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
137
134
49
24
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
137
134
49
24
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshi expresscinnamon rollsyogurtfront desk staff were very friendlypancake machinefirst floorcomplimentary breakfastbiscuits and gravynext morningbellis fair mallrooms are cleanfridge and microwaveparking lotbooked this hotelbed was comfortablenice staystayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 354 reviews
Reviewed October 27, 2017

From the welcoming smiles, to the luxurious rooms, I shudder to think that one would say that this is a 'shabby' hotel. The breakfast was very limitted and could have used some sprucing up every now and then, but I have to say the comfort and cleanliness of the rooms were stunning.

Most rooms have coffee machines, fridges and TV's, hairdryer, with the shower over bath thing only a little inconvenient. The soaps, shampoos etc are from Bed Bath & Beyond and not some cheap catering company.

The distance of the hotel is walking distance from the BOLTBUS bus stop, which takes you to Seattle or Vancouver (Book on the app!!), Walmart, Walgreens, the Park bowl, an amazing mexican restaurant (La Glorias), hairdressers, The Mall, A laundromat (the hotel does have laundry service but found it too pricey), and some cheap shopping for the thrifty.

The hotel also has exclusive access to the gym next door!! The pool spa is heated and fantastic for relaxation, and Mount Baker (which is like an unreal wallpaper) snowcapped is only an hour's drive.

Add your IHG account( and download the IHG app ) to your stay, and get the @stayconnected app on your phone to control channels, check your billing
in the IHG app as well.

All in all if you popping on the west coast, this hotel is your best bet!!! Cheaper than ther rest for what you get too.

Room Tip: Stay on the first floor, and add your IHG account to your stay
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank umvahed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2017

Dear umvahed,

Thank you for all the kind words for our hotel from the location to the staff. The breakfast will have a little make over here in the near future. We hope you will like the improvement. The new IHGConnect network is wonderful, it makes it easy for our members to stay connected, its a great feature with IHG brand hotels. Thanks for the glowing recommendation, hope to see you again.

Robert Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2017 via mobile

I am a Hilton Honors gold member. However, when I come to Bellingham, I always stay at the Holiday Inn Express. It is clean, quiet, and the grounds are beautiful. The staff is pleasant. The breakfast is decent. It is a very good night stay for the money.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled on business
Thank DebbieO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2017

Dear Debbie 02,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, as well as giving us such a great rating. We are glad you choose us when visiting Bellingham. Hopefully you can reach the same status with our members program soon enough. Look forward in seeing you again.

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

We stayed at this hotel over the weekend before College started again (unbeknownst to us at the time) and had a relatively pleasant experience. The hotel was definitely busy over the weekend with families dropping off kids. We had a fairly seamless check in and check out, and were also offered a choice of floors to stay on. The staff were very kind and courteous when we interacted with them. The room was fairly basic, but had amenities like a fridge and microwave which was a big plus. I have minor complaints about cleanliness (e.g. Piece of watermelon on floor underneath desk, fridge was open and drying w/ soaked towel, I assume soda spill?) A quick once over by Housekeeping after cleaning would have prevented these minor issues.

The breakfast each morning was simple but very much appreciated, coffee was hot and things were being restocked regularly. Overall, I think with a little more attention to detail in cleanliness and continuing positive guest service this is a hotel I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MichaelL11788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2017

Dear Michael,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and providing some feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed the service and quality of our hotel. We do apologize for the cleanliness of your room, that is something we pride our self in. We will address this issue with our staff, thank you so much for letting us know. We appreciate the recommendation and we hope to see you again soon.

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017

This hotel is really clean and nice. We were extremely tired when arriving at it. So we got up too late the next morning to eat the free breakfast. They still allowed us to eat what was left. It was still super good.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VIPofHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2017

Dear VIPofhotels,

Thank you for the 5 star review. Glad to hear our breakfast bar host was able to provide you with some breakfast after it ended. We will let them know our guest appreciate that extra service. Please visit us again when traveling to Bellingham.

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2017

It looks like the hotel is newer or newly renovated. It was a great stop for us between Seattle and Whistler. Very clean and comfortable.

I would also recommend you go over and see the Whatcom Falls while you are there.

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarleneL471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2017

Dear Darlene,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. We are happy to hear our hotel met your expectations. Yes Whatcom Falls is definitely a park to visit when visiting Bellingham.

Robert

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews