We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Tired and disconnected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tired and disconnected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Even though they are remodeling in September I hope they remember to remodel their staff. Some of the worst service at a holiday inn express that I have experienced. They all seemed to have something better to do.
And services usually that go along with being a priority member were not part of this hotel
As well on check in, the "boy" behind the counter announced to the entire busy lobby " just yourself, traveling by yourself".
Really? Big no no for business woman traveling alone. His reason was for something mundane as to know how many water bottles to give me.
When i asked about restaurants in the area, that proved to be a lesson in futility.
Rooms are old and dank. Reminiscent of the old holiday inn hotels
I will look for other options when in Bellingham again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank threedandj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear threedandj,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We apologize we were unable to reach our goals of having excellent customer service. We do appreciate you bringing this to our attention, and we have added this topic into our next Front Desk meeting. If you would like to discuss this further, please email me at gbauer@hiebellingham.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    115
    45
    22
    8
See reviews for
106
83
15
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family and I stayed at this hotel and found it to be clean and the staff were friendly and helpful. The free breakfast was also good. On the downside the Wifi was poor (went on and off) and the rooms need a make over. That being said the hotel is going to be redone beginning in September 2013. So I suggest when you visit, you as for a remodeled room. As it stands now it seems pricey for what you get. I will go back once the remodel is complete.

Room Tip: After September 2013 ask for a remodeled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank S_Robbie014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear S_Robinson,

Thank you for leaving us a review. We apologize you had such a trying time with our WiFi, we have contacted our provider, so that we may find a better solution. Thank you for letting us know you had troubles while you were here, we do appreciate the information. We are also glad you noticed we are about to renovate! It will be very exciting to see the results, we hope you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel many many times and it never disappoints. The Holiday Inn Express offers exceptionally clean rooms, a hot breakfast in the morning, use of an adjoining businesses gym( you must be 16 to use) and a pool that offers swimming for families until 10pm and adults only from 10-12 pm.
If you are looking or a hotel close to Bellis Fair Mall this is the perfect choice. The staff is always very helpful in fact they gave my kids packages of hot chocolate in the evening when it was not supposed to be available until morning.
I will continue to use this hotel on my trips to Bellingham!! Perfect for a quick overnight trip!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Cheryl D,

Thank you for leaving us a review and for your loyality! We appreciate the return business. We are glad you we were able to enjoy our extra ammenities, as well an evening hot chocolate! We look forward to your next quick trip to Bellingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here for several nights; and really enjoyed it. The staff was always friendly and helpful; and the public areas and room were clean. Our standard king room was as it should be; everything worked, no surprises. The breakfast was very nice; biscuits and gravy, bacon, sausage, pancake mix, eggs, fruit, yogurt and their cinnamon rolls every day...nicely done. The location is also convenient; close to the shopping mall and Interstate.
There were, however, a couple annoyances. The doors do not have closers; so if you're not careful (and most guests are not) the door slams shut and rattles nearby rooms. Another small annoyance is that the elevator is painfully slow. But the pluses of the hotel, especially the staff, outweighed these small issues.
Overall, we recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again when we visit Bellingham.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the vending machines; they're noisy and next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HI_TRVLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for leaving us such a thorough review. We are glad you found so many great things about our hotel and that you felt our staff outweighed any wrong you found. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A little noisy ... but that was more our neighbors being inconsiderate. Biggest complaint - lots of smokers ... made it difficult to enjoy breakfast outside under gorgeous weather. I thought it was illegal to smoke to eating areas, but evidently not at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
We apologize you had noisy neighbors. Our back patio is not technically a designated eating area, so smokers can be there, just not within the 25 feet of the door. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I had previously reviewed this hotel as Great Stay as Usual, so I will not repeat. Our family of 5 visit every year in June for the Baker Blast soccer tournament. The staff and the breakfast were fabulous as always. Two things that we discovered this trip...There is no laundry facility on site, so we would have to use the laundry mart a couple of blocks from the hotel. So if you are planning on doing laundry, make sure you have a few big bags with you to transport them. We also found out that there is no fitness centre on site, but the bonus is that you can use the City Gym just outside the hotel for free (needs to be at least 16 years old). It is a full facility gym so that is excellent...I would recommend the hotel staff mention this at check in:)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbug641
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for coming back to leave another review, and for knowing how important reviews are to us. I will pass along to the Front Desk about mentioning the free use of the fabulous City Gym that is next door. Thank you for your return business as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Way back, I believe in February, I reviewed this hotel and mentioned that when I got home it appeared that I had some type of bites in a few places on my body. That being said I had phoned the hotel to ask them to check the room. They assured me that they took the possibility of bed bugs very seriously. However, I asked them to get back to me to tell me what the outcome was (as I was concerned I may have brought bed bugs home in my luggage or clothing) and they did not contact me for almost a week. (I phoned on Sunday and no one called me back until the end of the week, on a Friday). While I think it is good that we review these hotels, I wanted to be able to go back into my review to let the public know that the manager at this hotel apologized for being so slow to respond and she also more than made up for their shortfallings. I couldn't get back into the original review to share this information so thought I would do it now. So thank you to the manager at this hotel for taking care of the problem and following through! It was greatly appreciated and I WILL stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ichabod8312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIEBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to come back and leave us another review. We appreciate you taking the time to voice your full experience. We are pleased you felt your issues were addressed to your satisfaction. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
TownePlace Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
3.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Bellingham
Comfort Inn Bellingham
#9 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bellingham
Address: 4160 Meridian St, Bellingham, WA 98226-5515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want convenience, affordability, and a name you can always depend on for quality service, come to our Holiday Inn Express Bellingham hotel. We are conveniently located and easy to find for all your shopping, entertainment and business needs. Located within walking distance of Bellis Fair Mall, we are a great location at which to stay when coming to Mount Baker Ski Area or San Juan Islands. We are also centrally located to three casinos: Silver Reef Casino, Nooksack Casino and Skagit Valley Casino Resort. We offer a heated, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar (now including hot items), free access to a full service health club adjacent to the hotel, complimentary taxi service to and from the local transportation depots, and local calls made at no charge to you. We also offer free high-speed Internet both wired and wireless in all rooms. New business center available in lobby area.Visit Bellingham, WA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing