We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean clean!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Great location and very clean rooms. The desk chairs are old and I wasn't recognized as PCR member.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheGreenGreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 331 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

Just finished a long term stay here. The hotel is a little dated but that being said, it is in good condition. The room was a good size, the bed was comfortable, pillows too, but the chair was horribly stiff. Internet was great in the room, spotty on the patio. Too bad because the outdoor space was beautiful so I would have liked to have done more work out there. The breakfast had a good rotation but the area is awkward and a little cramped on the weekends. The staff was very nice. Front desk was always helpful and friendly. We had several faxes to send and they kindly took care of that. Housekeeping was great. They were very accommodating with our schedule. We had our dog with us and liked to ge her out of the room while it was cleaned. Food choices were limited but a short drive downtown gives you lots of options. Would recommend La Fiamma, Boundary Bay Brewery and Chuckanut Brewery. I will say the parking lot is incredibly tight. It was difficult to navigate in a truck and the spaces are very narrow. There are lots of spaces though.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cpccarly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We have stayed here many times over the past few years. We have made suggestions to Holiday Inns, that this property needs more than two handicapped parking spots. NO CHANGE! I realise that the building is inherently noisy due to it's construction. Last weekend we cancelled our reservation at the Hampton to stay here again,paying more money because where we wanted to eat friday was close. We have stayed in exactly the same room many times. This time,the countertop in the bathroom had been nearly ripped off the wall,the support for it had broken the sheetrock under. This place has really been going down in overall maintenance and up in price. They are kind of proud of it by price! Our daughter got her master's and is out of Bellingham so hopefully we won't see this place again until it is under new management. Housekeeping neglected to do our room on a two night stay! I am getting sick and tired of hotels not doing our room! We paid BIG! and got crap service....

Room Tip: At this point I would suggest you stay somewhere else,this place used to be pretty good but a hair p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 5ptelk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bellingham, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear 5ptelk

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. I would love the opportunity to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Stayed in junior suite. Clean and comfortable. Good breakfast included in the price.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sarah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here on a Hotwire deal to take a campus tour of WWU. We were booked in a smoking room, unfortunately, but the staff were helpful in moving us to a non-smoking room.

The room was clean and spacious, with excellent amenities. In our standard room there was a 42" TV, fridge, and microwave, as well as coffee-making supplies.

I am normally not a fan of so-called "hot" (read: expanded continental) breakfasts. However, the spread they put on was better than average. Pancakes, biscuits and eggs, bacon, sausage, and a huge variety of fruits, juice, yogurts, etc. made it a pleasant surprise.

If you are looking for good dining nearby, the sports bar at the bottom of the driveway is a clean, family-friendly place with excellent pizza and a good selection of beer. If you are looking to wander into old-town Bellingham, then I highly recommend Boundary Bay Brewery.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful throughout.

We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshuaandMelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Not usually a fan of Holiday Inns, we ended a road trip and stayed here because we were too tired to battle the border. unlike a most of the hotels in the area that are on main highways or thoroughfares, the hotel is just off Meridian which made it so peaceful and quiet. Woke up to birds not traffic!! It is very close to shopping if that's what you need and Costco is down the road. Only concern was a somewhat moldy smelling and looking air conditioner that we didn't turn on once I saw the mold and mildew....a little gross but I'll return if I ever need some peace and quiet in Bellingham

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preferthebeach68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 11, 2012

Dear preferthebeach68,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am pleased you liked our accessible and peaceful location. I'm sorry your stay was negatively affected by the condition of the air conditioning unit. I understand the inconvenience this caused you. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. This helps in becoming a better hotel.

We all hope that we will have the opportunity to host you again on a future visit.

Sincerely,

Bon V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Convenient, comfortable and with an great complementary hot breakfast what more do you need on a shopping trip south of the border - the hot tub and pool to ease those aching muscles which is there waiting for your return from Ballis Fair Mall.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngbadger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bellingham
1 mi away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Bellingham
1.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Bellingham-Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
593 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Bellingham
Comfort Inn Bellingham
#10 of 26 in Bellingham
429 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Address: 4160 Meridian St, Bellingham, WA 98226-5515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range: $94 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want convenience, affordability, and a name you can always depend on for quality service, come to our Holiday Inn Express Bellingham hotel. We are conveniently located and easy to find for all your shopping, entertainment and business needs. Located within walking distance of Bellis Fair Mall, we are a great location at which to stay when coming to Mount Baker Ski Area or San Juan Islands. We are also centrally located to three casinos: Silver Reef Casino, Nooksack Casino and Skagit Valley Casino Resort. We offer a heated, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar (now including hot items), free access to a full service health club adjacent to the hotel, complimentary taxi service to and from the local transportation depots, and local calls made at no charge to you. We also offer free high-speed Internet both wired and wireless in all rooms. New business center available in lobby area.Visit Bellingham, WA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing