We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay In a Friendly Place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham
Ranked #14 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice Stay In a Friendly Place”
Reviewed December 2, 2011

I have stayed at this Holiday Inn several times. This is my place to stay of choice when traveling from the Bellingham Airport. Very good stay and fly option that gets you to the airport and you get to leave your car for a very reasonable price. You get a breakfast thrown in as well. This is a nice place to stay when all you need is a sleep and a ride to the airport. The Bellis Fair shopping center is very close as well. I'll be back again soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willbetrvlng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    120
    47
    23
    10
See reviews for
119
88
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

We were flying from Bellingham airport early in the morning and we chose the Holiday Inn Express for the deal on parking and the shuttle to the airport. We were very happy with our overnight experience (early November, 2011). Our room was large, with a kitchenette (which we didn't use) and a sofa (which we did) and all for a reasonable rate which included up tp 14 days of parking. In the morning, when we went downstairs for the shuttle before 6am, there was a good selection of breakfast items already available, which was unexpected. On our return, we phoned the hotel from the airport and the shuttle/cab came within 15 minutes. All in all, a satisfactory experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

As for the hotel itself.. It's decent. The pool is nice, the rooms are clean, its in a central location, but the downfall is that we had a non smoking room and the hallways and room still smelled like strong lingering smoke.

We paid for the park and fly option, and we will NEVER use this option here again. We stayed at the Holiday Inn the night before our trip as our flight from Bellingham was at 7am. Getting to the airport on time was a breeze. We were told by the Holiday Inn that when we arrive back home after our trip, in the airport, there is a phone where we can call to arrange an immediate pick up. Well the night we came home it was FREEZING, WINDY & RAINY!!! It was 8:30 at night and we got our luggage and found the phone to call for pickup. We advised the hotel that there are 4 of us with 4 big bags of luggage and will require a van. (NOTE THEY SEND YELLOW CABS NOT REGULAR SHUTTLES). Well they forgot to send the first taxi, the second one was a taxi car not a van, and just as we were getting really angry as it is now 11:00pm and we are tired, we had to call a cab on our own to take us back to the hotel. We went into the Holiday Inn to express our frustration on their part, and wall we got is an "OH WELL, BETTER LUCK NEXT TIME". Ummmm excuse me? No apology what so ever? I paid for their services and I had to make my own arrangements? Not happy!!! Not only that but we then had to drive another hour back into Canada after all this hassle. We could have been home by 11pm, but we actually got home closer to 1am when we had to work early the next morning. We will NEVER use this option through Holiday Inn again just simply because if they cant even apologize after we spent all that money, they don't deserve our business again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aimee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

I stay here with my family several times a year for many reasons...their customer service and room cleanliness are always 5*, they provide a full breakfast every day-for free, there's an indoor, heated swimming pool with hot tub, they provide free parking as well as a great park, stay and fly pkg, the hotel location is central to the Bellingham airport as well as many tourist areas (such as Fairhaven or LaConner), restaurants and stores, including Bellis Fair Mall...and of course the much lauded (in my family at least) free bag of microwave popcorn each night...basically the only negative thing I can find to say is that seating in the breakfast area can be very hard to find on mornings when the weather prohibits dining al-fresco on the outdoor patio. The Holiday Inn Express is my favourite hotel to stay in the Bellingham WA area.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DragonBait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We spent one night in a double queen room as part of the park, stay and fly package. We didn't spend a lot of time here and didn't use the pool but everything was very clean. The kids were very excited that there was a bag of microwave popcorn in the room and started on it immediately. Small thing, but we thought it was a nice touch. In room coffee, tea, etc. I found the beds a little firm, but that's just personal preference. The morning paper delivered right to the door was a nice touch also. The complimentary breakfast was more than adequate with a good selection of foods. I didn't expect to use it as we were leaving early, but we did manage to grab a quick breakfast before we left for the airport. The package includes up to 2 weeks of parking and they pay for your yellow cab to the airport. I wasn't aware it was a cab and expected a shuttle. This is the first time we were travelling without our own carseat and had rented one from the car rental place at the other end. Therefore, I had to pay $10 extra to have a carseat in the taxi van. So, heads up on that one. When we arrived back at Bellingham Airport we just picked up the courtesy phone and were linked to the hotel. They arranged our taxi back to the hotel, which dropped us right at our car so we could load the luggage straight in. Overall, I was happy with the room and the package, as it saved us the worry of a border line-up in the morning as we were coming from Vancouver.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kilaBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

When you pull up to the hotel and walk in the front door you may be blinded by the fact that the lobby has been updated. That is were it ends. The pool is small and had a lot of dirt floating in the bottom and is right beside the breakfast area with glass doors. The elevator is old, slow and stinky. The room doors are very heavy and with no measure to close slowly, we were constantly woken up throughout the night by people going in/out of their rooms and having it slam so loud and shake our whole room. The staff was adequate, not making any effort to be friendly. The common courtesy I have come to expect from Holiday Inn staff was basically non-existant (maybe that only exists in Canada). The parking was miserable as the spaces are very narrow and there is not a lot of room to back out, I couldn't imagine having a truck and parking here. The only benefit I saw of this hotel was the close proximity to shopping, which is what we were down for. For my money, I will stay in Burlington next time.
I have stayed in a LOT of Holiday Inn's and this is the worst. I will not be staying here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

I'm surprised at the high prices for hotels in general in Bellingham. We stayed here for the Bellingham marathon. We'd stay again if we could get a PointsBreak. Otherwise, for about the same price, the BW Lakeway Inn is gorgeous and central to everything.

PROS:
* Extremely clean. If it hadn't been so clean, I would've given it a 2 rather than a 3. It's really a 2.5.
* Decent breakfast, and kind breakfast staff
* Jake (?) at the front desk (dark curly hair, 5'7", 28-30). Bent over backward to make guests happy. The rude girl should take some training from him.
* Free wi-fi
* Free parking, but the spots are very narrow

CONS:
* Rude girl (the one with glasses) upon check-in. In this economy, your demeanor should reflect how glad you are to have a job. Apparently, you're not very happy.
* No upgrade
* No acknowledgement of Platinum membership except handing us two warm bottles of the cheapest water available.
* Old tv. Sure it worked and was large, but for the money, there should've been a flatscreen. Stick the old stuff in the discount rooms.
* Mostly quiet, but every time someone closed a door in any of the rooms nearby, it sounded like a slam and shook the walls.
* Common areas smelled like old cigarettes.
* One bed with a nice mattress, but the other was very lumpy.

The experience was more of what I would expect at a motel rather than a hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WAMarathoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
3.5 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Bellingham
Comfort Inn Bellingham
#10 of 26 in Bellingham
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
0.3 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
482 reviews
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Bellingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bellingham

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bellingham
Address: 4160 Meridian St, Bellingham, WA 98226-5515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#7 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bellingham 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you want convenience, affordability, and a name you can always depend on for quality service, come to our Holiday Inn Express Bellingham hotel. We are conveniently located and easy to find for all your shopping, entertainment and business needs. Located within walking distance of Bellis Fair Mall, we are a great location at which to stay when coming to Mount Baker Ski Area or San Juan Islands. We are also centrally located to three casinos: Silver Reef Casino, Nooksack Casino and Skagit Valley Casino Resort. We offer a heated, indoor pool and Jacuzzi, a complimentary deluxe breakfast bar (now including hot items), free access to a full service health club adjacent to the hotel, complimentary taxi service to and from the local transportation depots, and local calls made at no charge to you. We also offer free high-speed Internet both wired and wireless in all rooms. New business center available in lobby area.Visit Bellingham, WA and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Bellingham Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing