We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not impressed.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Bellingham
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“not impressed.”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed one night at Baymont Inn. Staff was friendly and price was right but hotel bathrooms need a bit of a facelift (old peach-colored toilet and tub). Bed was squeaky and not very comfortable. Free breakfast was a letdown in comparison with other chains where we have stayed. No hot options other than waffle maker - and baked goods holder was grimy. Breakfast area was crowded and no staff on duty other than front desk person who had to unstick the waffler for another guest. On the plus side, the room was clean. Of four places we have stayed in Bellingham over the years, we liked this one least.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Heidi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymont2166, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Thank you for sharing the stay you experienced with us while here at the Baymont Inn & Suites this Summer. We appreciate the input you have shared with us and will continue to strive forward in ensuring all our guests have the kind of stay they would expect from the Baymont Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

878 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    362
    192
    63
    21
See reviews for
336
264
83
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
345 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 559 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spend a night in Bellingham once or twice a year, and we've stayed at most of the other mid-range motels: Best Western, Hampton Inn, Holiday Inn Express, Quality Inn, etc.

None of those places are special in a way that we look forward to returning to any of them, so when I discovered that I could get a room at Baymont Inn for $30 less than the other places, I booked a room there.

What I liked most about the place was the friendly reception we received and the atmosphere which speaks of hands-on owners.

We stayed in room #318 which is of average size and has all the amenities (fridge, microwave, coffee maker, etc). Our room was nice and clean, the a/c was effective and quiet, the towels were white and fluffy, and the pillows were the kind we like.

I also liked my breakfast of cereal, yogurt, English muffin, and hard boiled eggs. I didn't try the waffles. The breakfast may not satisfy those who are hoping for biscuits and gravy topped with a few slices of bacon or sausage patties.

The room was not perfect: the bed was a little too firm, there is a crack in the floor of the fiberglass bathtub, the desk has a wobbly leg that needs repair, and the faucet needs a new washer.

However, we saved $30 by not staying at one of our other options and I used the money to pay for a very good dinner at Basara Thai.

Room Tip: Our room was two queens was bigger than some of the rooms, and we liked that our room faced west and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymont2166, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
The Baymont Inn & Suites Staff and I appreciate your business and valued input about our property here in Bellingham. We hope to be able to serve you again when you come back to the area for another visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orting, WA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed 2 nights (Aug. 2 &3) while my niece attended Western's orientation. The 2 queen size beds were super comfortable and the bedding was quality white cotton linens with a down alternative quilt that was to die for. I'm already shopping for one just like it so I can replace my feather/down quilt. We arrived on Thursday and the pool area was all ours. They have a nice well-ventelated room to the side of the pool where the hot tub is located along with a large restroom. The setup was nice and all we needed for just 2. The pool and hot tub were on the small side, but it didn't matter to us - it was refreshing and theraputic after shopping.

The fellow who checked us in was very helpful with all the important info about the hotel as well as info about the University where we had to be the next morning. Nice guy, can't remember his name, but we saw him a few times and he greeted us and made us feel welcome. Also ran into staff working the grounds/pool area and housekeeping - everyone was really pleasant. We didn't want or need housekeeping on our second day, but I was able to go to the housekeeping lady in the hall and ask to exchange my towels; she gave me the full set up of coffee, toiletries, cups when I told her we didn't need our room attended to.

It was a comfortable place to stay and I felt at home. The TV was a large flatscreen, the building backs up to a senior living place that is really quiet, and the room was clean. The only thing that wasn't perfect was the commode that seemed to be a little wobbley. As you can see from the rating I gave, it really wasn't that big of a deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiFromWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymont2166, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
The Baymont Staff and I are glad to hear that you had a great stay at the hotel with your niece for WWU's Orientation. Here at the Baymont, we are always excited to offer great accommodations for potential and currently enrolled WWU, WCC and BTC students as well as for family members looking to come visit. We hope to see you again and best of luck to your niece at Western.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Good price for a clean & comfortable stay. The pool and hot tub could use some attention. Seemed a bit murky.
Other than that, I would recommend staying there.
Went down to shop but found that prices are just as good in Canada.
Just saying...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alpinegardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymont2166, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Thank you very much for your recommendation of the Baymont Inn & Suites. The staff and I are happy to have been able to accommodate you during your visit here to Bellingham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here for almost a week and it was okay. The first night we stayed in a room that smelled a bit of smoke and my allergies really went wild. In the morning we asked if we could switch and they were more than apologetic and gave us a new room immediately. The new room also smelled a bit and I seemed to be allergic to their cleaning supplies, but the room was very clean. There was a small fridge and microwave which was nice, and the room was quiet big. The internet was very slow and the breakfast was very very carb heavy. The front desk staff were very nice, informative and accommodating, but the day we were checking out the maid service tried to come in and clean three times (all well before checkout time). All in all it was nice, but nothing special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexa_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymont2166, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Here at the Baymont Inn & Suites, we appreciate the input our valued guests give us and share with others about their stay here at the hotel. Our 24/7 staff here at the Baymont will continue to strive to provide our guests with the kind of experience they would come to expect from the Baymont Brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed 4 days for a soccer tournament and found the service to be be responsive and attentive. They quickly replenished breakfast items, provided extra towels, and extended our late check out for a quick shower after our last game. Rooms were clean and larger than average with comfortable beds and furnishings. Conveniently located amongst many choices of restaurants and shopping, yet quiet at night.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baymont2166, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Here at the Baymont Inn & Suites, we are always excited to house Soccer Teams for the summer. We take great pride in delivering a quality stay at centralized location for all your needs while staying in Bellingham. We hope to see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have stayed in other La Quinta's, so when I saw that the Baymont had previously been one I was interested. We wanted a king bedroom for two people and I saw where you could pay $5.00 more for a room with a recliner, so I booked it. What a delightful surprise- we stayed in the Presidential Suite right above the office! There was a curved wall of windows and the room was just beautiful. There was even a gigantic jetted bathtub that would fit more than one person. We enjoyed the large desk and the recliner, too. This room was an excellent value and we enjoyed ourselves very much. Two air conditioning units in the room kept it quite comfortable on a warm summer day. Everything was nice and clean. The breakfast room was well stocked and pleasant in the morning.
The location is central to lots of restaurants and shopping but there is a fair amount of traffic in the area. We also had a bit of trouble with the wi-fi, but then we didn't report it so we can't really complain. A second waffle iron in the breakfast room is needed as many people seem to love waffles when traveling.

Room Tip: Go for the Presidential Suite right over the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LindaCH07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience that you had while staying with us here at the Baymont Inn & Suites. We appreciate your valued input and will continue to provide our valued guests with a clean and comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Bellingham
Comfort Inn Bellingham
#10 of 26 in Bellingham
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#17 of 26 in Bellingham
48 reviews
3.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
0.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#1 of 26 in Bellingham
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham

Property: Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
Address: 125 E Kellogg Rd, Bellingham, WA 98226-8109 (Formerly La Quinta Inn Bellingham)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bellingham
#8 Family Hotel in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience warm hospitality in the heart of the Pacific Northwest at our Baymont Inn and Suites Bellingham hotel. Conveniently located off Interstate 5, our hotel offers easy access to the Alaskan Ferry Terminal, Western Washington University, Bellingham International Airport and a wealth of recreational activities. Enjoy amenities that will make you feel at home. All of our pet-friendly rooms feature a microwave and refrigerator, HBO, free Wi-Fi Internet access and more. Wake up to free continental breakfast and after a busy day, unwind with a soak in our indoor hot tub or a dip in our refreshing outdoor pool. We also offer free large-vehicle parking, suites, pool view rooms and handicapped-accessible rooms at our Bellingham hotel, where kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, stay at Baymont Inn & Suites in Bellingham, WA. Providing you with an enjoyable stay is our first concern. Stay with us and start your day with a big smile! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham Hotel Bellingham
Baymont Inn And Suites Bellingham
La Quinta Bellingham
Bellingham La Quinta
La Quinta Hotel Bellingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing