We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“What a Surprise!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nooksack Falls

Nooksack Falls
Ranked #9 of 77 things to do in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What a Surprise!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were driving towards North Cascades National Park and saw a sign for this waterfall, which I've never heard of. I love waterfalls and said to my husband that we should turn off and if it wasn't too far to the falls, take a look. What an amazing surprise! The falls were very close to the turnoff, and just beautiful! They are in a gorgeous setting, and even though it was late August (which often reduces falls to a trickle), the river and the falls were gushing! The river rapids suddenly plunge over a cliff into a two part falls that is quite spectacular. And the area is absolutely free, so definitely worth the brief side trip. Had we had more time, it would have been a great place for a hike.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LetsgoOakland_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Everett, WA
Level Contributor
260 reviews
115 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Beautiful Falls”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

These falls are just a few minutes off the highway and are quite beautiful. It is an ideal stop on your way to somewhere else, but not really worth the drive if you're coming from a distance. We drove 2 hours from south of Everett just to see the falls and perhaps hike. The trails aren't really good and the falls, however picturesque, are mostly hard to see. There is a fenced area that gives you a partial view, but this is at best, a 10 min stop. The drive in from the highway is a hard dirt road with plenty of potholes, I would not recommend a low riding car. It is a single lane road, so be prepared to stop and dance with oncoming traffic. Parking is limited.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, US
Level Contributor
475 reviews
140 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Amazing falls and walking trails near Mt. Baker”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We almost missed these but were so glad that we listened to the Chair 9 person who told us to stop. The Falls are very close to the parking lot and easily reachable by a simple trail. Even at the end of the summer, there was lots of water flowing and we got great pictures. There are also some trails leading through the woods if you want to do a little additional hiking before heading towards the Mt. Baker summit.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank nylady21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lummi Island, Washington
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Breathtaking !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

The 5 minute drive, on a gravel road, off the main highway is well worth it. The parking area is located just before the bridge that crosses over the Nooksack River. From there it is short walk downstream to the viewing area for the falls. Be careful though as the rocks can be slippery because of mist from the falls. Once at the viewing area you are treated to a spectacular view of the falls and far below the confluence of Wells Creek and the N. Fork of the Nooksack River. If you have small kids the area is fenced for safety. Don't go outside the fenced area !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“a nice little 15 minute diversion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

The view is pretty decent but, as safety is a huge concern here, there are chain-link fences near the edge. It is a VERY short walk from the parking area, which is less than a half mile off the main road. The falls are massive and quite breathtaking. It takes only about 5 minutes to get down to the parking area from the main road, about 5 minutes to see the falls, and another 5 to get back up to the main road, which is why I think you shouldn't miss it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KeepUpWithJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nooksack Falls also viewed

 

Been to Nooksack Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing