We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Amazing Dining Experience”

Ciao Thyme In The Kitchen
Ranked #11 of 446 Restaurants in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Flora
Transit: We are just 2 blocks from the downtown transit station
Description: We plan to greet you with a warm smile and the aromas of delicious soups, sandwiches, and freshly baked treats. You place your order in the cafe and then find a seat in the dining room or outside under the umbrellas. You strike up a friendly conversation with the person next to you. When you leave, you feel nourished--body and soul recharged for the continuation of your day.The menu will change with the farm produce of the seasons, approximately every two weeks, and we always have some gluten-free and vegetarian options too. There is no pretense in this space, just high quality ingredients prepared with care and delivered with love. Folks come knowing they can trust that the food that is prepared here will be sourced responsibly. They know that by choosing Ciao Thyme Cafe, their dining dollars will go farther in this community to support local families, local farmers, and other small businesses in Bellingham--keeping our community thriving.
Ojai, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique Amazing Dining Experience”
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We moved away from Bham for a few years and somehow missed the opening of this amazing lunch venue in the arts district. Luckily a friend told us about it and we had our first gourmet meal there last week. This place must be experienced to be understood. I question anyone who would rate it less than an excellent overall dining experience. We plan to bring anyone new to town here to show off some of the best food this town has to offer.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    22
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lacked something”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The food was good , but I felt the people in there were almost trying too hard to make you like it. Myself and 2 friends met for lunch. We kind of felt uncomfortable as someone was always asking us how we liked everything............enough already.We came to catch up with each other.

Quit trying so hard.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cute and delicious little cafe”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Awesome food that is all locally sourced and seasonal You can tell there are some serious cooks in the kitchen at this place! Not cheap but so worth the quality of the meal. A must try for a special luncheon!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Billy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Excellent Knife Skills Class”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I had a great evening in my knife skills class taught by Mateo. He was clear in his direction and really entertaining. We finished up with the most amazing spread from our hard work. The ingredients that he used were really top notch and his personality made it more of a show than a chore.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Creative cooking with delicious results”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

This restaurant has finally decided to serve lunch Tuesday - Friday from 11am - 3pm.

http://ciaothyme.com/cafe

Meals are served cafeteria style. That is, you walk in, stand in line, place and pay for an order which will be brought to you at your seat. The room you place your order in has a few counters with seats, but there is a much larger room with communal tables in an adjacent room. They offer three fixed menus at $18 each which includes tip and tax. You can order the entire menu or a la carte off each of the three menus. You can also order a bowl of soup with a side salad and a fresh roll for $15. This is truly gourmet food served very quickly. You don't have to wait around for a waitress to take your order, and you don't have to wait for your bill at the end. Great for working people on a lunch hour.

Now for the food. My husband had a porchetta sandwich - rolled pork belly and shoulder stuffed with fresh sausage on a rye roll with harissa mayo and kale slaw. I chose a quinoa and black bean salad with fresh lime tortilla chips and guacamole picosa and for desert I had an apple galette. It was all delicious. However, I think we made a mistake not ordering the entire meal. My husband's sandwich would have included brussel sprout gratin with brie and parmeggiano bechamel and bacon as well as a spiced butternut squash soup, pepitas, and creme fraiche Mine would have added a braised beef torta and a white bean and green tomato soup. Next time, we'll go whole hog. Just hope I will still have room for a desert. The deserts are ideally sized (which, to me, means small) and delicious. My apple galette was $4.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BellinghamLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ciao Thyme In The Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing