We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ways to see Whales”
Review of San Juan Cruises

San Juan Cruises
Ranked #2 of 17 Tours in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: San Juan Cruises offers a variety of tours from Bellingham, WA. Our Deluxe Whale Watching Adventure cruise in the scenic San Juan Islands includes a free Northwest salmon lunch, and a shore visit in Friday Harbor. Express Whale Watching tours which include a lasagna lunch are availabe on Saturdays and Sundays. New for 2017 is a new Evening Whale Watching Tour, which is available Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday each week in July and August. On Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays we have our Chuckanut Bay Cracked Crab dinner cruises. Beer and wine tasting cruises take place on Wednesdays and Thursdays throughout the summer. Sucia Island Picnic Cruises are available on Saturdays and Sundays, and La Conner / Deception Pass Tours go out on Saturdays. Private charters are also available.
Bellingham
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best ways to see Whales”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is one of the best on the water experiences in Bellingham. You get to see the whales up close and the boat has a lot of great viewing places. The boat is very well maintained and very clean.The trip to Friday Harbor was a lot of fun, it's a great island to visit. The food on the boat back was very good and there was plenty to choose from. This is a great day trip for couples, friends and families alike.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shesrgaltravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    210
    62
    13
    7
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blaine
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bellingham sunset cruise”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I celebrated an anniversary with this late summer sunset cruise and, although the weather leading up to it was poor, the evening cleared, the sun came out and it was warm enough to spend most of the trip outside. The crew were friendly and helpful, the food quite good, and the boat was well-appointed. It was fun to see waterfront homes from their best side, and to
discover all the little hidden coves that you miss from the road. Even though we are local residents, unless you have a boat yourselves, you don't have the opportunity to explore the shoreline the way this cruise does. We would definitely recommend this experience to others.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Bellakraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Saw the Orcas”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

My son and I went for his birthday, Sept 15th.. The whole area was fogged in but we went anyway. Things looked grim as we only saw fog for the first 3 hours. When we reached the Friday Harbor area it broke and we saw many Orcas feeding. You could see them quite well with the naked eye but with binoculars you felt they were right next to the boat. Along the way we say many other mammals and sea life.The boat carries 100 people but because of the weather we had about 40.The staff was friendly and informative. The captain frequently came on the speaker system with information on what we were passing and the history of the area. The salmon buffet was excellent, much more than I expected. Don't waste your time in Friday Harbor at the gift stores go directly to the Whale Museum.The most extensive museum on Orcas I have ever seen. It is quite big with lots of information and videos of Orcas. They even had a complete skeleton of an Orca. You will not be disappointed. You will learn so much.

Coming back we got to see the San Juan Islands without fog. There were smaller open zodiac boats out of Friday Harbor at the whale watching site with us and they could only get as close to the whales as we got, even though we were on a bigger boat. Our boat was at least warm and dry.

Overall experience. Would take them again in a heartbeat. If you don't see Orcas, you can come again for half the price. You really get your monies worth.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
1 Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“The WOW factor doesn't get any better than this!”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A San Juan Cruise is must for out-of-town friends, especially those from the Midwest or 'Back East'. Being on the water, seeing the islands, orcas, birds, boats and sun dancing on the water gets them every time! It's relaxing, creates great conversations, wonderful memories and is time well spent.

Visited August 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank PNWAnnMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
1 review
“Crb Cruise”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

A great time was had by all on board. Good Food and well prepared and presented. Crew was great and despite all of the fog at the last, kept us safe and docked without mishap.

Visited September 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Ardis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Juan Cruises also viewed

 

Been to San Juan Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing