We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love breakfast at Magdalenas!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magdalena’s Creperie

Magdalena’s Creperie
Ranked #3 of 13 Dessert in Bellingham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: French, Polish, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We were visiting Bellingham. Our daughter told us about a creperie she'd liked but couldn't remember the name. We couldn't find it on the web, but did happen upon Magdalena's which is in Fairhaven, a quaint suburb where we planned to stop anyway. We decided to give it a try and it was wonderful. Inventive crepes, savory and dessert, fresh and delicious. We shared a veggie crepe, made properly with buckwheat; potato and cheese perogi, and a smoked salmon, avocado, sun dried tomato, and horse radish creme baguette. We were too full for a dessert crepe, alas. Very reasonable prices, especially considering the quality. And Magdalena proved lively, personable, and charming. The cuisine is basically Polish, but lightened and re-invented. I took some photos for TripAdvisor readers. Almost worth a trip from Seattle.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We love breakfast at Magdalenas!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

My husband and I love having breakfast here once a month. Everything is fresh and made to order. Their lattes are perfectly flavorful, one of the best coffees in town.
Very good prices.
One negative: sometimes there's only one waitress and she's busy and overworked.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QueenKysar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    15
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Random visit; permanent fixture.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The creativity is superb, so that even if you order something that you'll never try again, it won't be because it's poor quality or ill-prepared, rather, the variety is such that it's paramount to return again and again to experience each menu item. Staff is engaging, warm, and kind, but not overbearing; a welcome and refreshing balance, indeed. Truly, a multi-cultural experience -- my first visit saw me chatting with a native-born Frenchman visiting from CANADA. This tells me that the Fairhaven Creperie could probably hold its own with the big boy bakeries in Vancouver, B.C., or even Seattle, and is, almost, certainly, the BEST creperie within and without the I-5 corridor between the two larger cities. Not only that, the staff is also multi-cultural as well as friendly and polite. Also, they serve Stumptown coffee which I would rank as being within the top 3 coffee companies in the NW for quality coffee. Worth your time for a first try. :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielintime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
242 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Gem of a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Visiting Bellingham with friends, we stopped for lunch at Magdalena's. It is a small restaurant that specializes in crepes, but with enough variety to satisfy everyone. They are Polish, and the pierogies are to die for! I had a sweet crepe with home made caramel and fresh fruit. Another member of the group had a savory paper-thin crepe filled wth spinach, avocado, smoked salmon and grilled zucchini. The coffee was outstanding.

We'll be back!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Torquay102010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, WA
Level Contributor
110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The very best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Magdalena's is the absolutely best restaurant in Fairhaven for delicious, freshly made, flavorful dishes. Her crepes are to die for and her soups are unequaled in quality. Everything is made with love and an eye to quality. She is a treasure in Bellingham. We have to keep her business alive so that we have a great place to eat. Service is always pleasant and quick.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank RJ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level Contributor
261 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Wonderful Crepes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

The crepes at Magdalena's Creperie are absolutely terrific. Every time we've walked into the small Fairhaven restaurant we've been totally pleased. From the moment we tuck into chairs at a table for two and look over the menu of sweet and savory crepes we know we are in for a treat. Service with smiles and fair prices make it perfect. A few tables on the sidewalk outside are fun in warm weather.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mona2446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magdalena’s Creperie also viewed

 

Been to Magdalena’s Creperie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing