We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayou on Bay

Bayou on Bay
Ranked #54 of 423 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.bayouonbay.com/
Moses Lake, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Had a great Sunday brunch for ten people on Fathers Day. Food, service and the Bloody Mary bar were all top notch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    46
    22
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Central Point, Oregon
Level Contributor
206 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

What a fun and flavorful night of food and drink. Let me tell you about it.
Dungeness and Rock Crab Cakes - Great way to start the night.

Shrimp Etouffee - Perfectly cooked

Seafood Pasta fresh fish of the day, crawfish, prawns, shallots and garlic, cajun spiced
cream sauce, linguine. - My daughter said it was amazing

Jambalaya house smoked tasso, chicken, crawfish, prawns, tomato, cajun spices cooked into
rice. A perfect 10 this dish is always good but tonight it was Just perfect.

Great job Bayou on the Bay!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington state
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Blackened Catfish - yum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I went here for the first time with a friend who had been numerous times. She said it was "hit or miss" with both good and not so good meals. She was up for going back and giving it another shot. I'm pleased to say that our meal was quite good. We both had the blackened catfish sandwich with sweet potato fries. They also had a good local (Kulshan) beer on tap which was nice.

I gave this a four instead of five for two reasons. One is that the fish portion could have been a little more generous. The other reason is that our waiter never checked back with us to see how/if we liked the meal until after we were almost finished. I used to be a waitress and one thing I learned is vital is to check with your customers right away. If something isn't right it's too late to find out after the meal is done.

That being said, I would definitely go back. Would like to try more of the menu items.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank morejourneystocome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

This restaurant is in the older part of Bellingham and has great character with the quirky decor and floors. The food was outstanding! We had oyster shooters, crab cakes, the special which was shrimp and steak and a classic - shrimp and grits. Each dish tasted so good and also different from the other one. We had a bit of a wait to get in but they took our number and called us when our table was ready which was great because we could wander down the street and look at some great murals on the walls. Once we were seated, the service was quick and efficient. We will definitely go back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank preevine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really love the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

They are closed on Mondays!!! If you love Cajun style meal, this is a place to go. Reasonably priced for generous portions.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank AmyRich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayou on Bay also viewed

 

Been to Bayou on Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing