We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Loved the view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bayou on Bay

Bayou on Bay
Ranked #42 of 426 Restaurants in Bellingham
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: http://www.bayouonbay.com/
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved the view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

Tried to explore downtown Bellingham and stumbled into this place. Sat outside and enjoyed sunset. Service was nice and food was good. Not bad. Will either try something different next time or I need to have more spice in my gumbo.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyRich1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    46
    23
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Vernon, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We ate at this restaurant last week. We thought by the number of people there that we would be in for a great meal. We weren't. We sat for awhile before our server turned up. Both of us had ordered pasta dishes and when they arrived both were barely warm. We called the server over and asked her about it. She took the plates away and said she'd take care of it. To our surprise, when she came back with our food, she said she had them heat it up. As in zapped it in the microwave, I think. We ate some of it and weren't overly impressed. The mead my husband ordered was the best thing that came to our table. It's locally made. Maybe we hit an off day for the place, though when we mentioned it to someone else later that evening, they agreed with our assessment but said they have a great brunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank WindhorseManor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One word: sweet potato fries.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The food here is pretty good, my boyfriend loves it more than I do, so we come here on his birthdays and whatnot. I would say the entrees are not much to shout about, but the appetizers are pretty amazing! I really like the frogs legs, but oh my gosh, the sweet potato fries are the best in Bellingham, by far. I only wish they would combine them with Fiamma Burger's curry mayo dip. That would probably make the universe explode, it would be so fantastic.

The service is always friendly, it's a nice atmosphere for a special occasion with dark lighting and private booths.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emiko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Falls, Washington
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“they tryed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

was very disappointed when trying this restaurant. the crawfish i had tasted very stall or old, not fresh at all. haven't been back since

Helpful?
Thank bsleeper65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Stevens, Washington
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Definitely isn't NOLA but not a complete letdown either”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I had frog legs and beans n rice hubby had gumbo. Overall it was pretty basic. Was looking for the taste of New Orleans and this did not quite fit the bill. Hubby said it was ok, but would not make the hour drive North for it again. We popped around the corner to a friendly bar afterwards and enjoyed the Bellingham scene before making the drive South.

    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mishel777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bayou on Bay also viewed

 

Been to Bayou on Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing