We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Excellent Service, Excellent Value, Rooms Need Updating” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn Grand Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Victoria, BC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Excellent Value, Rooms Need Updating”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights over an extended weekend. The location is excellent if you are in town for shopping, which we were. Walmart is just up the road, Fred Meyer is a short drive away, and Bellis Fair also very close. There was plenty of restaurants to choose from within walking distance, including an Olive Garden virtually in the same parking lot.

We were very pleased with all the staff we spoke with, they were all very friendly and accommodating. We needed extra pillows (more on that in a moment) and they provided them very quickly. Our microwave wasn't working, and maintenance was up in the room checking it out within a few minutes. It was replaced within a couple of hours. The cleaning staff was very good and extremely efficient!

Breakfast was also very good, my husband was happy he could have biscuits and gravy and a waffle every morning! But, there was lots to choose from for the health-conscious as well, such as oatmeal, hard-cooked eggs, fruit, yogurt, and fat-free milk.

The room we had was a king suite, which had a living area (table, couch, TV) with a kitchenette and the bathroom in the centre leading to the bedroom area. This is a great set-up. The bed, unfortunately, was extremely hard and somewhat lumpy. The fixtures and furniture have seen much better days, there was not a single thing that wasn't covered in scuffs, scratches, or stains. The pillows were small and too squishy, but that was remedied by asking for more of them. The bathroom was adequate, with good water pressure and plenty of linens.

Aside from any cosmetic issues, the room was good. Overall, our stay was great and we will certainly stay here on our next trip to Bellingham.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanAmCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    114
    39
    16
    15
See reviews for
94
82
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed here a few days ago and chose the hotel because of the reviews. I guess you don't know who actually is writing these reviews because we found the hotel old, smelly and too many things wrong. The positive was the girl at the desk Monday night, who was very friendly. It all went down hill from there. We had trouble getting our keys to work, both phones in the room were broken and the lines dead. The heater was very loud. The fan was broken in the bathroom. The shower barely trickled and you had to keep plug in tub or it wouldn't come on at all. We could here people talking in their rooms plus the room next door had a snorer and it was so loud you would have thought it was in the same room. The pillows were very small and totally lumpy and the small fridge froze our cheese and drinks. We did however enjoy the crisp white sheets.
The maintenance guy never showed up and the gal on the desk the next morning was very unfriendly and knew nothing about Bellingham, her words "I don't venture very far", not sure why she is in the hotel or tourism industry? The breakfast in the morning had nothing healthy at all and the coffee was really watered down.
We paid $114 a night through an Expedia discount but this hotel was not worth the money.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scotsrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah R, Front Office Manager at Quality Inn Grand Suites, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Scotrish,

We apologize that you did not have a pleasant experience with us. Please rest assured that this is not indicative of our hotel and how we operate. We would like an opportunity to earn your business back and show you how great an experience we can provide. Please contact me directly so I may make special accommodations for your future stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Leah Rhoads
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castro Valley, California
Level Contributor
111 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The hotel was clean and well run, with helpful employees. Good location - close to Bellingham International Airport (3.5 miles), and within walking distance to mall, movie theater, Barnes & Noble and good restaurants. Easy freeway access yet far enough that it was quiet at night - no freeway noise. Complementary breakfast had good variety of meal choices. Outdoor pool & hot tub were closed - perhaps winter months? We stayed in October.

Would definitely recommend for couples, family, or business travelers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pr7169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah R, Manager at Quality Inn Grand Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us at our hotel, and for a great review! Yes, we have a swimming pool opened from spring to the end of the summer and our hot tub is opened year round. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to Bellingham, and we look forward to serving you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okanogan, WA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here one night while visiting Bellingham. The hotel's location is good, and the room we had was very large, but it was a bit dark and rundown. it definitely could use some updating of the room, the bathroom, and some new mattresses. The mattresses were hard and pretty uncomfortable. When checking into a hotel, we routinely check the beds and mattress for any sign of bed bugs. There wasn't any sign of them, but the mattress had some pretty bad stains on it.
We probably won't stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KS-OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was easy on and off interstate.
Restaurants were close by, shopping close.
The hotel was clean. The rooms large and clean.
I used the guest laundry, it was convenient and fairly priced.
The breakfast was hot and there was a good selection of items



  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrhd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah R, Manager at Quality Inn Grand Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you giving us a great review, and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed at this conveniently located hotel for one night since our plane arrived late and I wanted to do some shopping before coming back to Canada. I'd choose this place again, no doubt. It was perfect for the type of stay we needed- centrally located, reasonably priced, basic and clean. This is not a vacation property by any stretch of imagination but it does have a nice outdoor pool and the rooms are very generous in size, though a bit dated. The bed was very comfortable though so we had a really good night's sleep which was a great bonus. You really do not have very many choices in Bellingham but this is certainly a good option if you are looking for a quick shopping getaway close to the Canadian border (it is only a couple of blocks away from Bellis Fair mall and on the same strip with other popular retailers), or a good rest just before or after your flight out of Bellingham. We did not take advantage of the breakfast but i thought that the bottled water and cookies were a nice touch that i would not expect from a hotel of this category. Overall, it is not a luxe locale but if you go in with right expectations- you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: use your CAA/AAA rate to get a really good deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyLuxe14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leah R, Manager at Quality Inn Grand Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thanks very much for you recent visit to our hotel. We are glad to hear that you had a comfortable night sleep in our new beds! We are currently in the process of updating our look, and we can’t wait to show you the improvements on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SWAINSBORO
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I arrived at the front desk before check-in time hoping that we would be able to check in. There were very few rooms ready but the front desk attendant was very helpful. She was super friendly and took the trouble to find a room that had been cleaned and ready.

The hotel exterior is a bit tired, but the room's interior is well-appointed, large, and, very, very clean. The nonsmoking room was truly nonsmoking - not a trace of smoking odor! There's a microwave, fridge, and good WiFi. The beds and pillows are very comfortable, and the hotel is quiet. The breakfast and cleaning personnel were very friendly and most polite. The continental breakfast was better than average, with really good eggs, hot meats, and waffles with strawberries and whipped cream. There is plenty of room to park.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGbob07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Bellingham
Comfort Inn Bellingham
#9 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 334 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oxford Suites Bellingham
Oxford Suites Bellingham
#2 of 28 in Bellingham
5.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Heritage Inn
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Bellingham
1.2 mi away
Home2 Suites by Hilton Bellingham Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Grand Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Grand Suites

Property: Quality Inn Grand Suites
Address: 100 E Kellogg Rd, Bellingham, WA 98226 (Formerly Quality Inn Baron Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Grand Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Choice Hotels so you can book your Quality Inn Grand Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Baron Hotel Bellingham
Quality Inn Bellingham
Bellingham Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing