We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Rip off artists. DO NOT reserve with credit card.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Tacoma, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rip off artists. DO NOT reserve with credit card.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Over the past 10 years, my wife and I have volunteered to arrange hotel reservations for the various teams our four children have played on. We are very familiar with how to “block reserve” hotel rooms and also how to cancel the rooms not reserved by members of our team(s). We were very hesitant to book with the Rodeway Inn in Bellingham, WA because while booking the rooms, the clerk seemed to struggle with how to do this and we almost moved on to another option but we gave them the benefit of the doubt. One very odd thing the clerk told us when we asked her to mail us the confirmation was that they didn’t have envelopes and stamps! We gave the families from our team the information so they could call and reserve the one of the rooms in their own name with their own credit card. We have submitted a copy of an email to the team showing this communication.
On Saturday August 4th at 8:42pm we called the Rodeway Inn as proven on our Verizon cell phone detail listing. The phone call is listed as 3 minutes but these numbers are usually rounded up so it was probably somewhere around 2 ½ minutes. When the call was made the clerk (young girl) found our reservations and we asked who had reservations thus far. We then asked the clerk to cancel ALL of the remaining rooms that were not yet reserved by anyone and we made it clear we would not be staying there either. The clerk assured us that ALL remaining rooms would be canceled and that was the end of the conversation as it appeared the clerk was in a hurry to get off the phone. Later we received the $697.32 charge on our Visa card and immediately called the hotel to find out why we were charged. They were very unorganized and could not give us the information we requested and finally the manager called back and knew who the clerk was and told us he would talk to her to find out her side of the story. He then called back and told us we had to pay as we didn’t cancel all the rooms. I immediately disputed the charges with Bank of America and eventually "lost" the dispute claim so now I am personally on the hook for almost $700. Minsoo [-] is the thief from the Rodeway Inn that was involved in this dispute and should be ashamed of him/herself for perpetrating this fraud on a volunteer such as myself.

If the person at the desk couldn't even properly handle cancellations or reservations, you NEED to steer clear of this place at all costs or you will pay. Read the other "rip off" reviews. It is a recurring theme. These people are unorganized and inept at the very least.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soccernutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val P, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
At the Rodeway Group Reservations are handled by Group Reservation Contract. According to the contract that was signed by the guest, cancellation policy was clearly stated as the following; 30 days prior to check-in 100% refund, 30~15 days 50% refund and no cancellation allowed less than 15 days prior to check-in. Guest had called in on August 4th, 20 days prior to arrival date, and requested cancellation on his rooms. Therefore, by contract our hotel was rightfully entitled to charge 50% of the guaranteed amount of the reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    22
    29
    18
    25
See reviews for
28
27
17
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This is a dirty, smelly hotel. We had a posted non-smoking room, but it and the hall outside smelled of stale cigarette smoke.

In order to sleep free from the smell we had to leave the window open to maximum for the whole night.

Elevators not clean. Hall carpets were filthy.

The breakfast was terrible.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Val P, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are sorry that you've not had a good experience with the hall way smell,
our housekeepers usually do a very good job of keeping a nice scent on the hallway
but we apologize for not being able to keep our hallways as nice as we normally keep them.
We would like to have you back at our hotel to see the imporvements and hope to offer you
a more comfortable stay at the Rodeway. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bellingham hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

When we arrived in Bellingham on a last minute trip, we were surprised to find out that all other hotels were 'Sold Out'. We ended up having to get two rooms here at the last minute and they were 'decent'. Yes, this is an older 'motel' type hotel but the staff was courtesy, the rooms had mini fridge and decent beds...it was better than I was expecting I think.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
It is with great appreciation that we extend our gratitude for taking time in giving us your feedback. The positive comments regarding the room facilities, as well as the accommodating staff, surely made our day. It is our pleasure and honor to have given you such quality service. It is our aim to challenge ourselves more in pursuing and maintaining excellent service for our valued guests. We thank you for your recommendation and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stayed here last night. Good enough for a few nights' stay.

The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Room had an old microwave and a small fridge. Had a non-smoking room but hallway smelled of smoke. Pets are allowed so beware if you have allergies.

Free breakfast is continental - muffins (chocolate, poppy seed), white bagels, toast, choice of two sugary cereals, milk, juices (apple, orange), and coffee. Good enough.

Highly recommend eating at nearby Olive Garden (make reservations), and not Applebee's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverValleyGrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We wish to extend our sincerest appreciation for the time you took in writing us your valuable feedback. We couldn’t be more pleased to have served you well and made your experience a memorable one. It pleases us to know that you noticed the cleanliness and the quiet ambience of our hotel; for we aim to offer our guests a comfortable environment should they wish to stay with us. We hope to be of service to you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

I often stay in Bellingham & as a Canadian citizen I was disgusted at the condition of the flag the Rodeway flew. It was tatered & torn- almost beyond recognition. The American flag looked almost as bad as it was hanging by one corner upside down. The owners display total disrespect for their guests. I would never stay there again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Katt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for giving us a chance to improve and excel in the delivery of our services by bringing your concerns to our attention. We sincerely appreciate the time you took to write us a feedback, and we thank you for sharing to us your experience while staying with us. We wish to let you know that your voice has been heard and we will definitely correct the issue that you raised. We continually seek to give our guests the best service there is to offer. We sincerely hope that we may be able to provide you a far better experience should you wish to stay with us again next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Good value for money. Bed was very uncomfortable. The room is really basic and is quite a few years old & looks it. The so called breakfast was very dismall, although the money saved could cover the price of a breakfast at a restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank JAY Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
We appreciate the candid comments you’ve shared to us, as hearing your inputs regarding our services is very important to us. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences incurred during your stay. We will closely assess and evaluate our hotel room condition and facilities, and the served breakfast, so that we may provide prompt and necessary actions to it. Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention and we hope that you will reconsider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

we stayed here as we had an early flight the next morning, this is definitely on my recommend list. quiet and clean. The restaurant that is next door was good, we had dinner and an early morning breakfast. Good food and fast service.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ColleenMaitland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMBellingham, Guest Relations Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write down your review. We couldn’t be happier to hear that we’ve made your experience a pleasant one. Your comment about our friendly and reliable staff members as well as the entire hotel experience brings us much delight and has motivated us to outdo the service we’ve given you should you visit us again soon. It would be of great pleasure to be of service to you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bellingham hotels
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Bellingham
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Bellingham
Comfort Inn Bellingham
#9 of 28 in Bellingham
4.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn Grand Suites
Quality Inn Grand Suites
#18 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Orca Inn
Orca Inn
#20 of 28 in Bellingham
4.0 of 5 stars 14 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Bellingham
2.7 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bellingham Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Property: Rodeway Inn
Address: 3710 Meridian St, Bellingham, WA 98225-1734
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Bellingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 28 Hotels in Bellingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rodeway Inn hotel is conveniently located just two miles from the Bellingham International Airport. This Bellingham, WA hotel is minutes from Western Washington University, Squalicum Harbor marina, the Nooksack River Casino, Whatcom Falls Park and Bellingham Bay. The hotel is also close to many world-class ski areas. Several shops and a variety of restaurants are within walking distance. With magnificent natural scenery, unique cultural attractions, charming villages and waterfront adventures, Bellingham is a unique area of Washington. The mighty Nooksack River, a challenging river for rafting and fishing, flows from Mount Baker to Bellingham Bay. Amenities offered at this hotel include free wireless high-speed Internet access, free continental breakfast, free local calls and a hot tub. This Bellingham, WA hotel provides business travelers with access to copy and fax services. All guest rooms have irons, ironing boards and cable television. Some rooms feature whirlpool bathtubs. There is a concierge desk located on the property for your added convenience. This is a pet-friendly hotel; extra fees apply. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Bellingham
Rodeway Inn Bellingham
Bellingham Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing